oh well..someone tell her tat she thot wrong..tink by tonight can reach 80 liaoOriginally posted by rainee:she hasnt decided yet I think...cos dun tink can get to page 80 so fast la![]()
actually my mom oso like that...everytime she will complain of pain...but then dun wan see doctor...Originally posted by renorenal:Today I saw a patient with end stage kidney failure, and I recommended her for hemodialysis... she da.mn stubborn, no matter how I explained and elaborated, she still said dun wan... just wanna take medications... she just can't get it into her mind that there are no more medications that will work for her, since her kidneys are gone...
Some patients...
So izzit like advertisments radios and stuffs?Originally posted by stellazio:more of media related stuff..![]()
Huh?Originally posted by BadzMaro:damn man.... its like Business ppl vs Specialist Technical ppls... clash clash clash.. stubborn...
yeap abit..most radio DJs have a degree in mass comm..Originally posted by renorenal:So izzit like advertisments radios and stuffs?
Must be bone problem lar... osteoporosis or osteoarthritis... if not, then she needs attention from u lor... most ppl like that one, if it is the latter... coz of the sick role... to know more, refer to alfagal about the sick roleOriginally posted by rainee:actually my mom oso like that...everytime she will complain of pain...but then dun wan see doctor...
btw, she always say she got pain around her kidney and liver area, but go check then the doctor said nothing's wrong, dunno wats wrong with her oso...![]()
Ahhh... I see I see... now I know what my frenz will be up to in the future...Originally posted by stellazio:yeap abit..most radio DJs have a degree in mass comm..![]()
hmm? dun understand...alfagal got talk abt it before?Originally posted by renorenal:Must be bone problem lar... osteoporosis or osteoarthritis... if not, then she needs attention from u lor... most ppl like that one, if it is the latter... coz of the sick role... to know more, refer to alfagal about the sick role
No mar... psychology is her specialty... the sick role is purely psychological... it's about human's behavior in seeking attention...Originally posted by rainee:hmm? dun understand...alfagal got talk abt it before?![]()
orh...actually got once we finally forced her to go to the doctor to check...then I noticed that the doctor wrote "mild hypochrondiac"...wich after I took Psychology I understand it to be a type of phobia towards diseases...Originally posted by renorenal:No mar... psychology is her specialty... the sick role is purely psychological... it's about human's behavior in seeking attention...
I got explain this to alexkusu or some one before in the previous crap thread... some ppl when reach a certain age (middle age) will start to fear about their health... usually their friends around them would have a similar condition like heart attack, osteoporosis, gout, kidney failure, lung cancer or b.reast cancer, and they would themselves start to worry about when they will get it... constant thinking over this matter will encroach into their consciousness and subconscious level, they will always be deluded that they have a certain disease...Originally posted by rainee:orh...actually got once we finally forced her to go to the doctor to check...then I noticed that the doctor wrote "mild hypochrondiac"...wich after I took Psychology I understand it to be a type of phobia towards diseases...![]()
then how to get her to get rid of it...cos it has been bothering her for years...Originally posted by renorenal:I got explain this to alexkusu or some one before in the previous crap thread... some ppl when reach a certain age (middle age) will start to fear about their health... usually their friends around them would have a similar condition like heart attack, osteoporosis, gout, kidney failure, lung cancer or breast cancer, and they would themselves start to worry about when they will get it... constant thinking over this matter will encroach into their consciousness and subconscious level, they will always be deluded that they have a certain disease...
The correct definition: morbid fear or belief that one has a serious disease even though none exists...
On psychiatric basis, she would usually be prescribed an:-Originally posted by rainee:then how to get her to get rid of it...cos it has been bothering her for years...![]()
Things is we have tried to ask her to not think so much about it anymore...but still she will worry about it, and some more she will use that "condition" of hers to get out of things one...like when she and my Dad get into quarrel, she will pretend to be hurting then my Dad had to apologize even tho he did nothing wrong...Originally posted by renorenal:On psychiatric basis, she would usually be prescribed an:-
Anti-anxiety (Anxiolytic) - Xanax
Antidepressant - Prozac or Luvox
These medications will increase her serotonin chemicals in her brain reducing her sadness and anxiety altogether...
On a more psychological basis, an insight oriented dynamic psychotherapy and a hypnosis or behavioral therapy may be needed...
The insight oriented dynamic psychotherapy is aimed at helping her to understand why she believes that she has an illness and tries to make some sense into it by explaining to her how it happens... Since it is dynamic, the doctor will play an active role by participating in the treatment more...
Behavior therapy is to induce relaxation, as her recurrent thoughts about the illness will bring up anxiety symptoms...
It has to be known that this is a chronic condition, and relapses will be caused mostly by stress from work or family or life...
Its like u are a doctor, u explain the medical terminlogy and hence the best way to help or save ur life... but they jsut think by taking medicine will help. Like my work.. we are technical specialist..we design, we map ur mine , we do seismic refreactions, we do S.I n geophysical works... n the business man just gave us 1 answer. ' O .. like that.. then what if i dun want u to do all those.. just use ur machine do seismic n WALA.. i get answers already n volume.N cheap cheap some more . Simple ' ...i was like.. "fuking asss...' of course i did not say that.. i just said ' I am sorry.. if you dont like the way we do it... then looking for other consultants.'Originally posted by renorenal:Huh?![]()
Arents those pills also called Happy 5 ? I tried Xanax.. my friend is from GSK..always gives me lots of wierd pills to eat... man..some damn kick..makes me like i am on weed or something. I think doctors should prescribe anti-depressant drugs like Marijuana goverment issue like the G-13 .Originally posted by renorenal:On psychiatric basis, she would usually be prescribed an:-
Anti-anxiety (Anxiolytic) - Xanax
Antidepressant - Prozac or Luvox
These medications will increase her serotonin chemicals in her brain reducing her sadness and anxiety altogether...
On a more psychological basis, an insight oriented dynamic psychotherapy and a hypnosis or behavioral therapy may be needed...
The insight oriented dynamic psychotherapy is aimed at helping her to understand why she believes that she has an illness and tries to make some sense into it by explaining to her how it happens... Since it is dynamic, the doctor will play an active role by participating in the treatment more...
Behavior therapy is to induce relaxation, as her recurrent thoughts about the illness will bring up anxiety symptoms...
It has to be known that this is a chronic condition, and relapses will be caused mostly by stress from work or family or life...
Originally posted by rainee:That's called the sick role...
Things is we have tried to ask her to not think so much about it anymore...but still she will worry about it, and some more she will use that "condition" of hers to get out of things one...like when she and my Dad get into quarrel, she will pretend to be hurting then my Dad had to apologize even tho he did nothing wrong...![]()
Problem is rainee's mom has a strong delusion... Not even the world's best doctor can go against delusion... they can tell you that they can remove their brain before going to sleep, and no matter how you prove that it is impossible, you will still lose to their fictitious stories... towards the end, we are the ones who go crazy...Originally posted by BadzMaro:Its like u are a doctor, u explain the medical terminlogy and hence the best way to help or save ur life... but they jsut think by taking medicine will help. Like my work.. we are technical specialist..we design, we map ur mine , we do seismic refreactions, we do S.I n geophysical works... n the business man just gave us 1 answer. ' O .. like that.. then what if i dun want u to do all those.. just use ur machine do seismic n WALA.. i get answers already n volume.N cheap cheap some more . Simple ' ...i was like.. "fuking asss...' of course i did not say that.. i just said ' I am sorry.. if you dont like the way we do it... then looking for other consultants.'
I HATE PPL LIKE THAT ! @#(%*@# so dumb..so shallow...so! CHINA MAN STYLE! he he he
Originally posted by rainee:Of course she won't, it's delusional, see previous post...
Things is we have tried to ask her to not think so much about it anymore...but still she will worry about it, and some more she will use that "condition" of hers to get out of things one...like when she and my Dad get into quarrel, she will pretend to be hurting then my Dad had to apologize even tho he did nothing wrong...![]()
People with delusion's ..only way is to give them the harsh reality and some serious counselling ah...Originally posted by renorenal:Problem is rainee's mom has a strong delusion... Not even the world's best doctor can go against delusion... they can tell you that they can remove their brain before going to sleep, and no matter how you prove that it is impossible, you will still lose to their fictitious stories... towards the end, we are the ones who go crazy...
sigh...Originally posted by renorenal:Of course she won't, it's delusional, see previous post...
It's a fixed, false or incorrect inference or belief about external reality, that is firmly held despite objective and obvious contradictory proof or evidence and despite the fact that other members of the culture do not share the belief (like seeing ghost)...
my Dad keeps shielding her...always try not to argue with her, even when she is being nonsesical...in the end she becomes worse and worse...until now I oso think I cannot tolerate le...Originally posted by BadzMaro:People with delusion's ..only way is to give them the harsh reality and some serious counselling ah...![]()
that syndrome which i deemed as the fool's syndrome is un-cureable and it gets worse with age..Originally posted by rainee:sigh...
yea and she not only worries about this "false" condition of hers, she worries about a lot of other things that dun exist as well, esp about me...like I tell her I am alright here she wud think that I am going clubbing with my frens la, doing drugs la,![]()