Looks like her beliefs are deeply seated in her subconscious and overriding her conscious level to make her feel, act and behave like that... Health would be her main concern, family usually comes next (the prior thoughts of who will be taking care of her when she gets old, and whether can she trusts her kids when they grow up to care for her, or to just leave her in the old folk's home)... I mean these are common thoughts for parents, but excessive thoughts will endanger their minds...Originally posted by rainee:sigh...
yea and she not only worries about this "false" condition of hers, she worries about a lot of other things that dun exist as well, esp about me...like I tell her I am alright here she wud think that I am going clubbing with my frens la, doing drugs la,![]()
That's the first wrong step... you do that, they won't trust you anymore, and the patient-doctor relationship will go loose, and so will be your reputation... a good relationship is needed to build trust so that she will confide in you during the therapy and tells all of her problems to you without hiding any...Originally posted by BadzMaro:People with delusion's ..only way is to give them the harsh reality and some serious counselling ah...![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:that syndrome which i deemed as the fool's syndrome is un-cureable and it gets worse with age..![]()
yea...i really scared that it will get excessive...then I wun know what to do le...cannot send her to therapy cos she will say I think she is crazy...Originally posted by renorenal:Looks like her beliefs are deeply seated in her subconscious and overriding her conscious level to make her feel, act and behave like that... Health would be her main concern, family usually comes next (the prior thoughts of who will be taking care of her when she gets old, and whether can she trusts her kids when they grow up to care for her, or to just leave her in the old folk's home)... I mean these are common thoughts for parents, but excessive thoughts will endanger their minds...
why will emperor lose his temper?unless he's the very serious sort..Originally posted by rainee:![]()
damn scared she will be dead against me and my ai ai...and scared dat my ai ai will lose his temper towards her...then I will be like the deer in the middle when two elephants are fighting (a Malay proverb)
Originally posted by rainee:That's very typical of all psychiatric patients... they lack insight to their problems...
yea...i really scared that it will get excessive...then I wun know what to do le...cannot send her to therapy cos she will say I think she is crazy...![]()
Originally posted by renorenal:problem is they won't go for the treatment,and when you tell them that they're a fool,they think you're the fool..and even if you managed to force them to go,being as wilful and stubborn as they are,they won't allow themseves to be treated properly..
[quote]Originally posted by stellazio:
that syndrome which i deemed as the [b]fool's syndrome is un-cureable and it gets worse with age..[quote]
Walau... can cure lar... but must be very strict in the therapy session and requires a long time and a lot of patience... building a rapport is vital before you go deep into the treatment sessions... [/b]
Rule No1, never go against a deluded patient, or you will suffer physical abuse and they will not be charged under the criminal offense...Originally posted by rainee:![]()
damn scared she will be dead against me and my ai ai...and scared dat my ai ai will lose his temper towards her...then I will be like the deer in the middle when two elephants are fighting (a Malay proverb)
cos my parents will say all sort of things to taunt him until he lose his temper lor...i m trying to teach him to be more tolerant towards my parents...cos they are old oledi and have all these sort of weird moods, which frankly I oso dunno how to handle myself...and I am supposed to be their daughterOriginally posted by stellazio:why will emperor lose his temper?unless he's the very serious sort..![]()
Yeah... that's the drawback in pscyhiatry treatment protocol... if only all patients will be subjected to an ECT under emergency condition, all would be ok... but if she is really unmanageable in the house, she would usually be warded against her consent (in this case the family's decision comes in next).Originally posted by stellazio:problem is they won't go for the treatment,and when you tell them that they're a fool,they think you're the fool..and even if you managed to force them to go,being as wilful and stubborn as they are,they won't allow themseves to be treated properly..![]()
wa no cure...in the end the person who will suffer most is me le...cos I will be in a dilemma of being tolerant towards her, yet she will definitely affect my life...in fact now I dread going home next year is because of my parents...Originally posted by stellazio:problem is they won't go for the treatment,and when you tell them that they're a fool,they think you're the fool..and even if you managed to force them to go,being as wilful and stubborn as they are,they won't allow themseves to be treated properly..![]()
Indeed... not easy... but it's always worth a try...Originally posted by rainee:cos my parents will say all sort of things to taunt him until he lose his temper lor...i m trying to teach him to be more tolerant towards my parents...cos they are old oledi and have all these sort of weird moods, which frankly I oso dunno how to handle myself...and I am supposed to be their daughter![]()
sigh...actually I was kinda abused when I was small...dats y I always said I had a terrible childhood...Originally posted by renorenal:Rule No1, never go against a deluded patient, or you will suffer physical abuse and they will not be charged under the criminal offense...
So I guess your ai ai have to tolerate... you can see that her delusion can be so bad up till a point of paranoia when she believes that a member of the family is trying to poison her food, and stop eating...
You would be amazed with how psychiatric drugs work on psychiatric patients... They are so strong and potent that it will change an aggressive person into a weak person in seconds...Originally posted by rainee:wa no cure...in the end the person who will suffer most is me le...cos I will be in a dilemma of being tolerant towards her, yet she will definitely affect my life...in fact now I dread going home next year is because of my parents...
however much u dislike ur mother,you won't bear to send her to the mental institude for treatment problems for fear of seeing her suffer..Originally posted by renorenal:Yeah... that's the drawback in pscyhiatry treatment protocol... if only all patients will be subjected to an ECT under emergency condition, all would be ok... but if she is really unmanageable in the house, she would usually be warded against her consent (in this case the family's decision comes in next).
She will be sedated, and treatment will then be given, together with punishment in the isolation chamber if she misbehaves or go against treatment...
So far, we don't have problems in that in Malaysia... hahaha... not that we are cruel or wad lar...Originally posted by stellazio:however much u dislike ur mother,you won't bear to send her to the mental institude for treatment problems for fear of seeing her suffer..![]()
relax,this is a test of true love..for one's love can overcome any obstacle..i rarely get heated up or angry in an argument/debate..cause my emotions will only affect my thinking..and likewise he should do the same..Originally posted by rainee:wa no cure...in the end the person who will suffer most is me le...cos I will be in a dilemma of being tolerant towards her, yet she will definitely affect my life...in fact now I dread going home next year is because of my parents...
Man..thats when ur AI AI get the parang out la..Originally posted by rainee:![]()
actually I kinda agree with stellazio leh...I wun have heart to send her..and my Dad will definitely object...and then say I am being unfilial...so it wud be a tough decision to makeOriginally posted by renorenal:So far, we don't have problems in that in Malaysia... hahaha... not that we are cruel or wad lar...![]()
Originally posted by stellazio:Yeah... that is true... sadly not many ppl are like that... or have the ability to be like that...
relax,this is a test of true love..for one's love can overcome any obstacle..i rarely get heated up or angry in an argument/debate..cause my emotions will only affect my thinking..and likewise he should do the same..![]()
my ai ai different wor...u never see him get heated up before over things said in here? it will definitely be worse to hear worse things coming out from people whom will be or is already ur in-laws...Originally posted by stellazio:relax,this is a test of true love..for one's love can overcome any obstacle..i rarely get heated up or angry in an argument/debate..cause my emotions will only affect my thinking..and likewise he should do the same..![]()
Yeah... that's why a lot of psychiatric disorders are left untreated... which is quite sad coz it stirs a lot of trouble in the family and sometimes the neighbors... psychiatric disorders next to alcohol and drug abuse are the main causes of family and marriage discordant...Originally posted by rainee:actually I kinda agree with stellazio leh...I wun have heart to send her..and my Dad will definitely object...and then say I am being unfilial...so it wud be a tough decision to make![]()
Abused childhood ah.. let me tell u one thing. My parents are seprated for as long as i remember. about 23 yrs.. my older bro my older sis n me got it bad from our mum. My mum is a magistrate.. work stress working woman.. always vent her angers at us. We been caned to shiet.. chopped by knife , locked in fucking chicken coops.. locked outside..all over petty small things man.. my dad aint helping too..he is like from the fuking armys tyle.. but i kan kai already..my bro n sis kan kai also...none of them wanna come back.. FUK! WHAT AM I DOING BACK HERE! but i dun care la.. i try to understand thier situations... but still piss me off everyime i think about it..Originally posted by rainee:sigh...actually I was kinda abused when I was small...dats y I always said I had a terrible childhood...
dunno how much more I can tolerate...I tolerated them for my first 18 years back home, and I was really thankful I got sent here, but now as my date of going back draws nearer, they become happier and I become more and more scared...![]()