You can't avoid phlegm when it is being formed... the windpipe is equipped with a natural broomstick called the nasociliary tract which sweeps up the excrement of the infectious agents from the lungs into the trachea...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Dear Dr Reno,
What causes building up of phlegm? How can I reduce or remove the phlegm? Any kind of food that I shall avoid.
Your patient
CoolMyth.
Due to our subtropical and tropical weather that we are staying in, we are prone to sweat. In addition to it, impractical hygiene such as bathing a lot of times can be quite impossible... hence due to our busy nature, we often neglect our own personal responsibility in cleaning ourselves...Originally posted by borntolive:wad r causes of itchy n burning scalp at the back of my head?
is this link to the hair loss i m suffering now?
Originally posted by sohguanh:There is a condition where the cells lining the tract of the respiratory tract produces a lot of mucus which in turn becomes an irritant that stimulate your cough receptors... The severe form is Cystic Fibrosis (in this case, thick sputum is actually produced, and the Reproductive and Gastrointestinal systems are affected as well) which is rampant in the Western Countries, but not in the Asian Countries...
[b]What causes building up of phlegm? How can I reduce or remove the phlegm? Any kind of food that I shall avoid.
Yeah I once in a few months will kena above symptom. Then go outside very often need find drain cover so I can spit the phlegm out although I know spitting is illegal. Usually if the phlegm dun go away, the cough will come in. It is so terrible and your throat is constantly dry.
I think cannot eat too much fried stuff. And I think this phlegm maybe my worst enemy when I grow old. I predict I will die of choking on my own phlegm. Phlegm is my doom-maker [/b]
Have you guys heard of the shampoo sold over the counter in pharmacies called Selsun? It is a combination of two compounds called Selenium Sulphide... It is applied to the body and rinsed off after 30 minutes every day for a week...Originally posted by Ray2:people use white vinegar loh, put on cotton wool and apply
ang moh method is the doctor will give you some cream loh, dunno issit steroid cream or what, must ask renorenal.
Originally posted by alexkusu:consultation hours from 8pm to 1 am but the clinic open at 444pm???????
[b]Anyone with questions regarding their health, etc, may ask here with the relevant experts available to answer them.
General Rules and Guidelines:
First come, first serve basis.
Clinic closes at 25 pages.
Doctor and other specialists has the right to ignore your question for a variety of reasons.
Please look through previous threads/pages for answers to questions you may have or you may just be ignored
If you are terminally ill, go away.
If you have any comments, suggestions, complaints, etc, please direct it to Rainee our Administrative Officer.
In the event of disability and hopefully, death.. IT IS ENTIRELY YOUR OWN FAULT. If you intend to sue, please contact Stellazio our lawyer
A chart of the organisation structure can be found below. This is so YOU, our valuable patientss will know who is best suited to answer your questions or queries
PLEASE be HONEST with your symptoms. It enables effective consultation
Consultation Hours: 8pm to 1am
I hereby declare clinic open at 4.44pm on 11 November 2005 [/b]
You have to forgive my director... he's a little bit tired coming out with the planOriginally posted by hisoka:consultation hours from 8pm to 1 am but the clinic open at 444pm???????
why got yellow green colouron UV light shining? fluoresence arh? then why cannot just use a detector on the spot?Originally posted by renorenal:TOPIC: INVESTIGATIONS for PYTIRIASIS VERSICOLOR
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by alfagal:
many older peeps says its due to sweat mixture w water..tatz y mothers always tell e sweaty kid to wipe off e sweat n cool down first before bathe...
so my guess is u were tanning, then jump straight into e water lo..
anyway if the lotion at pharmacy doesnt help then maybe its other white looking fungus...go see doc liaoz..
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many other skin diseases that require a completely different treatment can cause the same symptoms as pityriasis versicolor, so what the doctor will do is to carry out a few tests...
A scrape from your skin will be taken for microscopy and cultivation in a laboratory (which might take a few days before your results come out) and once it does, the microorganism is placed on an ultraviolet light (Wood's light examination) and it will give out a yellow green color on exposure...
This will then confirm the diagnosis...
haha okz maybe its a opening promotion bahOriginally posted by renorenal:You have to forgive my director... he's a little bit tired coming out with the plan
Woah... asking me technical questionsOriginally posted by hisoka:why got yellow green colouron UV light shining? fluoresence arh? then why cannot just use a detector on the spot?
Quoting myself, I believe it's the contents in the fungi or dermatophyte which is used clinically to help in its identification... not all dermatophytes possess that ability, hence it helps in the diagnosis...Originally posted by renorenal:Woah... asking me technical questions
Certain types of fungi cause the skin to glow or fluoresce under the UV light actually... When positive, it can be helpful in determining the extent of infection, identifying areas for sampling (skin biopsy) and evaluating treatment response.
The examination is also useful for examining the contacts of an infected person (contact tracing within the family)
...about how it reflects the color, you have to query a mycologist...
give u time to queue up mahOriginally posted by hisoka:consultation hours from 8pm to 1 am but the clinic open at 444pm???????
paiseh cos i interested mah.Originally posted by renorenal:Woah... asking me technical questions
Certain types of fungi cause the skin to glow or fluoresce under the UV light actually... When positive, it can be helpful in determining the extent of infection, identifying areas for sampling (skin biopsy) and evaluating treatment response.
The examination is also useful for examining the contacts of an infected person (contact tracing within the family)
...about how it reflects the color, you have to query a mycologist...
I've completed all the PM queries... as for the other queries I have answered to, they can be found in CC and SH... but most in SH in da crapbox...Originally posted by mystiv:give u time to queue up mah
It's just for a while, same like X rays also mar... babies who are born prematurely will be put under phototherapy as well which contains the UV light for as long as 3-5 days... but these are short term...Originally posted by hisoka:paiseh cos i interested mah.
but UV light is very much absorbed by human tissue so they use that for widefield imaing and diagnosis wont be detrimental to health?
btw biopsies usually how big har? i saw some the other day about .3 cm squared isit all that size one? if so then random biopsy must be very painful le
kkz thx i thought you would have seen some b4 thats why i askedOriginally posted by renorenal:It's just for a while, same like X rays also mar... babies who are born prematurely will be put under phototherapy as well which contains the UV light for as long as 3-5 days... but these are short term...
Skin biopsies are done when there is a confusion in terms of clinical diagnosis... these are done mostly by skin specialists. I cannot really tell you about the size of the biopsy needed, but usually it's just a pin-point scrape...
Hahaha... I saw only once... they use a portable UV lamp, like that one you use to screen bank notes... but slightly larger... In a dark room, the light is placed and then the color noted...Originally posted by hisoka:kkz thx i thought you would have seen some b4 thats why i asked
i go and create a 4 photon detector one for you to use next time so no need to use UV le
Originally posted by renorenal:thx alot
For your interest, here are some of the information, and the typical 3 types of biopsies in relation to invasiveness...
There are several methods for performing skin biopsies. Choice of techniques is determined by several factors, including the location, size, and type of lesion to be biopsied. All methods should include local injection or topical application of an anesthetic.
The least invasive technique, the [b]shave biopsy, involves the removal of superficial levels of skin.
Punch biopsies are most often used for deeper skin lesions. A small cylinder of skin is removed with a sharp, hollow instrument.
In an excisional biopsy, the entire clinical lesion is removed. A local anesthetic is injected. Then the entire lump, spot, or sore is removed, going as deep as necessary to get the entire area. If a large area is biopsied, a skin graft or flap of normal skin may be used to replace it.
Shave is a term used more commonly in UK, here we call it a scrape biopsy... at least so in Malaysia...Originally posted by hisoka:thx alot
then prob the one i saw was by shave bah
you would by any chance know whats the seattle method for getting biopsies would you? no need to search if dunno or forgot i just asking for fun anyway and i'm too lazy to find out heheOriginally posted by renorenal:Shave is a term used more commonly in UK, here we call it a scrape biopsy... at least so in Malaysia...