I think French is one language where translation cannot be made sense of in the traditional word for word sense.It's a contextual thing..if "porte" is carry..perhaps it means she has not been carried away by death..ah the French.Originally posted by rainee:i see...at my level I will usually say
elle n'est pas morte pourtant.
cos I dunno why there is a "porte" there. if u know, can explain to me?
hmm...let me try...Originally posted by alfagal:I tot it was tat too..but i went to this webbie, it means: I am bored you
Think m'ennuie is not e direct translation for miss in this case..
yea lor, I almost want to translate it as dat just nowOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I think French is one language where translation cannot be made sense of in the traditional word for word sense.It's a contextual thing..if "porte" is carry..perhaps it means she has not been carried away by death..ah the French.
yeah..tatz tatOriginally posted by rainee:hmm...let me try...
tu me manques?
from my dictionary one
but it is like dun make sense lor...cos tu=you, me=me, manques=missOriginally posted by alfagal:yeah..tatz tat
haha but can translate lehz..Originally posted by rainee:but it is like dun make sense lor...cos tu=you, me=me, manques=miss
so it is like being switched backwards
cos i was abt to say sth likeOriginally posted by alfagal:haha but can translate lehz..
how are you in french:Originally posted by alfagal:waha no biz ar..
how to say: How are you or How's your day then?
: how to make an intro of myself, saying my name? e.g Hi, I'm alfagal
in french tat is..
croissant is a french word i tink...Originally posted by The man who was death:Croissant is english word or french?? cos got english pronounciation kweh-soh
correctOriginally posted by The man who was death:I know c'est la vie means this is life
benoit? eh I cant find it in my dictionary leh...wat does it mean?Originally posted by The man who was death:why the O sound in french dominates pronounciation of words like benoit or roy
not really word lah name, the football commentators prounoun french players names with iot, oy, noi like woah liddatOriginally posted by rainee:benoit? eh I cant find it in my dictionary leh...wat does it mean?
anyway, French got accent in their words one, so those accent markings will guide you towards pronounciating the word...
i guess it is the accent markings ba...notice how are their names are spelt? see if got any accent markings?Originally posted by The man who was death:not really word lah name, the football commentators prounoun french players names with iot, oy, noi like woah liddat
then au revoire got pronounced like au re-vwoah ??Originally posted by rainee:i guess it is the accent markings ba...notice how are their names are spelt? see if got any accent markings?
au revoirOriginally posted by The man who was death:then au revoire got pronounced like au re-vwoah ??
aiya it sounds sth like dat la, it is very hard for me to demonstrate...here i can only help translate phrases ba...Originally posted by The man who was death:Woah!!!
stella artois = stella artoahOriginally posted by alfagal:LOL..
Stella Artois = stella ar? woah!!
hahaha ya...was following the manOriginally posted by rainee:stella artois = stella artoah