wad do the last two lines mean?? they are quite metaphorical... i never quite learned it...Originally posted by TooFree:This is one of my favourite tang poems. I can recite it anytime. Thanks to my mum.![]()
ni que zai siau li nuoOriginally posted by starblue:![]()
Ok OK... Anyway, Reno chinese and my english is on equal terms. I need help too.Originally posted by starblue:![]()
*scratches head*Originally posted by starblue:ci mu shou zhong xian
you zi shen shang yi
ling xing mi mi feng
yi kong chi chi gui
shui yan cun cao xin
bao de san chun hui
loving mother with needle and thread in hand
travelling child's clothes on his body
before he goes travelling, mum sews carefully
cos he may not return in a long time (for her to make him new clothes)
the last two lines i not sure liao.. haha..
you understand malay?Originally posted by TooFree:Ok OK... Anyway, Reno chinese and my english is on equal terms. I need help too.![]()
Originally posted by renorenal:gan
ni [b]que zai siau li nuo
wo jiu ba guang ni de ya
errr... i know what you going to say but the second word i not too sure... [/b]
your english cmi??Originally posted by TooFree:Ok OK... Anyway, Reno chinese and my english is on equal terms. I need help too.![]()
ah yeah yeah... that's the word... hahaha... forgotten liau... thanks...Originally posted by starblue:gan
means "dare", as in "you dare blah blah..."
ok, direct translation of chinese poems is a big mistake...Originally posted by renorenal:*scratches head*
np.Originally posted by renorenal:ah yeah yeah... that's the word... hahaha... forgotten liau... thanks...![]()
Every thread in the mother's hand, was transformed into clothes of the travelling son. Almost upon her son's departure, the mother made sure every piece of sewing was fine enough to withstand any harsh weather, for fear her son would not return home that soon. Who would say an inch-long grass, could ever thank the sunlight for its warmth and brightness?Originally posted by starblue:
i only know that one... chi chang zhi you ma ma hao... hahahahhaha... other than that... i dunno...Originally posted by starblue:ok, direct translation of chinese poems is a big mistake...
essentially is saying, a mum has a child who's going to travel far and for a long time. so before he left, he makes him a sweater or something to keep him warm. and she dews with care, cos she dunno when her son will come back..
bascially this poem just espounds how wei da mothers are.![]()
oh...Originally posted by TooFree:Every thread in the mother's hand, was transformed into clothes of the travelling son. Almost upon her son's departure, the mother made sure every piece of sewing was fine enough to withstand any harsh weather, for fear her son would not return home that soon. Who would say an inch-long grass, could ever thank the sunlight for its warmth and brightness?
Moral:
We should be filial to our parents .
Originally posted by starblue:np.![]()
Sad to say .. Yes. I need to excel in it not only make it. How ahh?Originally posted by starblue:your english cmi??
then why "san chun hui" as in "three springs warmth"???Originally posted by TooFree:Every thread in the mother's hand, was transformed into clothes of the travelling son. Almost upon her son's departure, the mother made sure every piece of sewing was fine enough to withstand any harsh weather, for fear her son would not return home that soon. Who would say an inch-long grass, could ever thank the sunlight for its warmth and brightness?
Moral:
We should be filial to our parents .
it's "shi shang zhi you ma ma hao."Originally posted by renorenal:i only know that one... chi chang zhi you ma ma hao... hahahahhaha... other than that... i dunno...![]()
why u need to excel? then now your standards how? go and read more books loh... thats the only way. and speak english from now one...Originally posted by TooFree:Sad to say .. Yes. I need to excel in it not only make it. How ahh?![]()
you ni ma ma de hai zheOriginally posted by starblue:it's "shi shang zhi you ma ma hao."
the rest of the song goes:
you ma de hai zi xiang ge bao
er.. i cant remember exact words already also.. haha...
wth is that??Originally posted by renorenal:you ni ma ma de hai zhe
zhi ku xiang ku liang...![]()
crap lar... i dunno d...
hahahaha... i learnt it when i watch fei mao...Originally posted by starblue:wth is that??
i think its something like
duo jing ma ma e huai bao
xing fu xiang bu liao
but i think i must have gotten the words wrong, cos the last line dun make sense to me.. but this was how i sang it when i was young.. haha...
wad is fei mao?? lolz..Originally posted by renorenal:hahahaha... i learnt it when i watch fei mao...![]()
i finished work liau... still in hospital lar (the hostel)... later then only go back... here got air cond...Originally posted by starblue:wad is fei mao?? lolz..
how come like only left two of us nia... u no work today meh?
my bro's going for his prom tonight.![]()
The hui in this instance refers to sunlight ie (the gratitude for our parents) san chun is three springs warmth indeed.Originally posted by starblue:then why "san chun hui" as in "three springs warmth"???![]()