one might say, that is hardly surprisingOriginally posted by M©+square:lazy
agreedOriginally posted by M©+square:When has it been a surprise?
Let the oneliner issues stay oneline.
Deep thoughts are onelines.
omg... dun remind me of my philo module last sem.... i nearly had to do an essay on that, but i chose the other one instead. my friend did this though, and she showed me. and i was like o.O totally worshipped her afterwards. but ok lah, after she read my essay she also got worship me. lolz...Originally posted by alexkusu:the problem is to show how we can have any knowledge of the world at all. The conclusion that we cannot, that no one knows anything about the world around us, is what I call 'scepticism about the external world', so we could also say that the problem is to show how or why scepticism about the external world is not correct ... I believe the problem has no solution; or rather that the only answer to the question as it is meant to be understood is that we can know nothing about the world around us..
which one u choose? out of 3 rite? 2nd one is invisible hand crap, n 3rd one is berlin one. I heard many people score highly for the berlin oneOriginally posted by starblue:omg... dun remind me of my philo module last sem.... i nearly had to do an essay on that, but i chose the other one instead. my friend did this though, and she showed me. and i was like o.O totally worshipped her afterwards. but ok lah, after she read my essay she also got worship me. lolz...
curiousity kills the cat..Originally posted by alexkusu:It's curiosity, not evil, that leads one astray~
Are you sure?Originally posted by alexkusu:Ignorance is bliss
or
what you dont know cant hurt you
stupid people are the happiestOriginally posted by M©+square:Are you sure?
ignorance = stupid people = blissfulOriginally posted by alexkusu:stupid people are the happiest
Originally posted by M©+square:ignorance = stupid people = blissful
Don't like that leh.
as aboveOriginally posted by M©+square:ignorance = stupid people = blissful
Don't like that leh.
Well.Originally posted by alexkusu:as above
wait..ur calling me stupid ok ok, i dun wana know
*whistles happilY*
The temporal bliss?Originally posted by rainee:
actually being ignorant can save you the pain from knowing the truth for some time la, but after a while the situation might deteriorate cos you are too ignorant to take actions to remedy it...so sooner or later the truth will come out anyway
Pardon my ignorance, but whats your question? Who is classified as stupid? Well, with regards to my earlier remark made in jest, the person in question would be me. As a 'stupid me' from yesterday would have put it, knowledge is like a double edged sword: cuts both ways.Originally posted by M©+square:Well.
stu·pid
adj., -er, -est.
1. Slow to learn or understand; obtuse.
2. Tending to make poor decisions or careless mistakes.
3. Marked by a lack of intelligence or care; foolish or careless: a stupid mistake.
4. Dazed, stunned, or stupefied.
5. Pointless; worthless: a stupid job.
n.
A stupid or foolish person.
__
stupid
adjective
1. Lacking mental and physical alertness and activity: hebetudinous, lethargic, sluggish, stuporous, torpid. Slang dopey. See action/inaction.
2. Lacking in intelligence: blockheaded, dense, doltish, dumb, hebetudinous, obtuse, thickheaded, thick-witted. Informal thick. Slang dimwitted, dopey. See ability/inability.
__
Antonyms
stupid
adj
Definition: not intelligent; irresponsible
Antonyms: cognizant, intelligent, prudent, responsible, sensible, smart
__
The noun stupid has one meaning:
Meaning #1: a person who is not very bright
Synonyms: stupid person, dullard, dolt, pudding head, pudden-head, poor fish
The adjective stupid has 3 meanings:
Meaning #1: lacking or marked by lack of intellectual acuity
Antonym: smart (meaning #1)
Meaning #2: in a state of mental numbness especially as resulting from shock
Synonyms: dazed, stunned, stupefied
Meaning #3: without much intelligence
Synonym: unintelligent
__
So tell me.
Who will be classified as stupid? You? Me? The World?
By your earlier remark, it leads to another Question.
ARE you HAPPY and BLISSFUL then?
We can be at this for sometime if you're game.
1)Originally posted by alexkusu:1) Pardon my ignorance, but whats your question? Who is classified as stupid?
2) Well, with regards to my earlier remark made in jest, the person in question would be me. As a 'stupid me' from yesterday would have put it,
3) knowledge is like a double edged sword: cuts both ways.
Knowledge dosent necessarily leads to happiness in one's life. Ignorance may not be bliss, but it usually dosent keep anyone away from it. A good thing one might say, for those less gifted in the intellectual department.
4) Now, as you dissect and pour over what I said, I shall leave you with a poem by Thomas Gray, entitled Ode on a Distant Prospect of Eton College.
"Yet ah! why should they know their fate?
Since sorrow never comes too late,
And happiness too swiftly flies.
Thought would destroy their paradise.
No more; where ignorance is bliss,
'Tis folly to be wise."
My question was - are stupid people ignorant?Originally posted by M©+square:ignorance = stupid people = blissful
Don't like that leh.
2) Thank you for clarifying.Originally posted by alexkusu:stupid people are the happiest
to be informal - similar, to be formal - different tone and weight.Originally posted by alexkusu:ah...ignorant and stupid seems similar, but has different meanings..but if it makes you happier to say ignorant people are happy, then so be it
ah..i didnt use the word stupid as an insult..if that what you are getting at..no offense meant yeahOriginally posted by M©+square:to be informal - similar, to be formal - different tone and weight.
I'm sensitive to people calling others stupid.
No offence taken. After i know where you're coming from.Originally posted by alexkusu:ah..i didnt use the word stupid as an insult..if that what you are getting at..no offense meant yeah
Coco lump???Originally posted by Fatum:*drops french chocolate lump on the floor ........
French Chocolate TrufflesOriginally posted by M©+square:Coco lump???
Any picture for it?