Peng san liao.Originally posted by starblue:really??
how about:
if you wan to prepare 500ml of agarose with EtBr 0.5microgram/ml. you have a stock solution of EtBr at 1mg/ml. how much EtBr u use?
a) 250microlitre
b) 500
c) 1000
d) 25
e) 100
tricky wor... normally i wud go for C..but let oxford answer thatOriginally posted by starblue:really??
how about:
if you wan to prepare 500ml of agarose with EtBr 0.5microgram/ml. you have a stock solution of EtBr at 1mg/ml. how much EtBr u use?
a) 250microlitre
b) 500
c) 1000
d) 25
e) 100
now that's what i call foresight.Originally posted by CoolMyth:I just hope I can get free medical care in future nia.![]()
Originally posted by starblue:now that's what i call foresight.![]()
wad u mean normally you will go for C? u dun calculate one meh??Originally posted by alexkusu:tricky wor... normally i wud go for C..but let oxford answer that
Originally posted by CoolMyth:![]()
And hor, the free in me did some searches and how nice!
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=128829
It's coming to a year since you found your kor.Any comments?
comments ah??Originally posted by CoolMyth:![]()
And hor, the free in me did some searches and how nice!
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=128829
It's coming to a year since you found your kor.Any comments?
Wa...I come in only you test me huh?Originally posted by starblue:T_T must you bring it up???
ok, let me ask you.... if you wanna resolve a 12kb and a 15kb dna fragment, which percent agarose gel you use?
a) 0.25%
b) 0.5%
c) 0.75%
d) 1%
e) 1.25%
Yo, dude. That's a damn fast reply.Originally posted by LazerLordz:![]()
damn..... i changed my answer last min. -_-""Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Wa...I come in only you test me huh?
Usually up to from half a kb to 15kb we use 0.8-1% gel but you can stretch it at both ends, depending on how long you want to wait and the fragment size you are targeting.
So below 500bp the usual thing is to use a polyacrylamide gel but if you want to stretch your agarose gel, you can use a higher concentration say, 2.5% to target smaller fragments up to 100bp. My colleague who was trained in the National Cancer Institute uses a whooping 10% gel to run overnight and she gets good results with small fragments.
On the other extreme, if you lower the concentration of your agarose gel, you can resolve larger fragments.
So although there are lots of caveats, I think the simple answer to your mcq would be 1%. However, one can argue that c and e are not completely wrong either...(c) might not be good enough for resolution whilst (e) will do if you let it run longer..
Originally posted by starblue:comments ah??
1) i need a new kor
2) i need to open my eyes when i look for a new kor![]()
OM!! got another question, dun mind enlighten me a bit... actually got more questions one. but i cannot remember the details... today's test suck to the core. T_TOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:you people post too quickly leow...old folks like me cannot catch up![]()
why?? u wanna be my kor??Originally posted by CoolMyth:![]()
Nope.Originally posted by CoolMyth:Yo, dude. That's a damn fast reply.
You're operating on the NUS network?![]()
last time cool also say the same thing for my reply... think is his system lao pok lah.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Nope.![]()
got openings?Originally posted by starblue:why?? u wanna be my kor??![]()
If I say interested leh.....?Originally posted by starblue:why?? u wanna be my kor??![]()
maybe i will soon loh...Originally posted by LazerLordz:got openings?![]()
don't say until like that, he may be half asleep.. human lag.Originally posted by starblue:last time cool also say the same thing for my reply... think is his system lao pok lah.![]()
I hate mcq because I find it difficult to second guess what the examiner considers as 'correct'. I mean many might consider it crazy to talk about using agrose gels for small fragments but if you are pepared to use a 10% gel and wait overnight, that is not wrong either.Originally posted by starblue:damn..... i changed my answer last min. -_-""
Originally posted by starblue:last time cool also say the same thing for my reply... think is his system lao pok lah.![]()
Originally posted by starblue:maybe i will soon loh...why? u also interested?
sure bo??? my kor needs certain qualities de leh.... and he must do all kinda sht, like listen to me whine about my cramps, listen to me btch about the workload and the profs, listen to me fantasize about my crush, etc etc etc de leh... u can not??Originally posted by CoolMyth:If I say interested leh.....?![]()
Maybe I'm putting too many applications working in my desktop as of now.Originally posted by LazerLordz:don't say until like that, he may be half asleep.. human lag.![]()