i can only imagine working for the entire day only to retreat into the privacy of my room to do lesson plans and leisure reading. only need kitchen for food (i dun mind cooking for whoever is in the house if they dun mind) and bathroom. (any idea how much will the rental be like, with or without bathroom?) i dun really watch tv, so not an issue there. i suppose utilities will be included in the rental unless excessive usage is there. (but can someone confirm that for me?)Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Much depends on the room...does it come with ensuite bathroom? Fighting for the toilet/bathroom, sharing a kitchen with the landlord....can you get along with them...how much privacy you get? Will you have a TV in your room or will you share their TV...fighting over channels?
Telephone not an issue if you use mobile...will utilities be included?
What else to buy depends on how big the room is and what things are important for you. For me, I need a room big enough for my books.
350 is monthly or weekly??? i prefer non-aircon rooms anyway. just need a ceiling fan. ok, curfew, noted. thanks.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:average about $350 you can rent a room with utilities included, but some really posh ones with ensuite bathroom (master bedroom) are asking for $600 and more...
Must check got aircon or not...I cannot stand the heat and humidity in Singapore. Other than that, not a problem. Some landlords have curfew...you should check.
location.....is it close to places of eat........schoolls...........workplace........convenience.............Originally posted by starblue:can you guys help me brainstorm what are the things to consider and to take note of when one is considering moving out of the house? i am thinking in terms of renting a room in a 3 room apartment kinda living arrangement.
what are the preparations i need? what i need to buy? what kind of lifestyle do i have to adapt to? how much money is involved?
appreciate any help.
monthly of course...$350 a week? You can rent an entire flat for thatOriginally posted by starblue:350 is monthly or weekly??? i prefer non-aircon rooms anyway. just need a ceiling fan. ok, curfew, noted. thanks.
usually if u rent a room need to clean the house one not ah???
..... Sory wrong postOriginally posted by starblue:can you guys help me brainstorm what are the things to consider and to take note of when one is considering moving out of the house? i am thinking in terms of renting a room in a 3 room apartment kinda living arrangement.
what are the preparations i need? what i need to buy? what kind of lifestyle do i have to adapt to? how much money is involved?
appreciate any help.
i heard that if u stay with the landlady, you may not be allowed to use the stove and/or the living room (with TV and sofa)?? there are also landladies who rent (say, a 3 room flat) the two bedrooms to separate tenants then she herself stay another place. so the whole apartment is between u and the room mate correct?? is this also 350 per month?Originally posted by oxford mushroom:monthly of course...$350 a week? You can rent an entire flat for that
ceiling fan...your expectations lower than mine...easy to upkeep then
yah. i tot of that also. best is close to my workplace (prob a school) and a market. transport wise i'm not particular as long as got direct bus to any mrt station/bus interchange can liao. neighbours wun be a prob, since now itself i seldom see neighbours anyway. and i expect i'll just coop up in my room in the evenings, with some contact with roommate, that's it.Originally posted by gohkatkat:location.....is it close to places of eat........schoolls...........workplace........convenience.............
what transport is present there......buses.............train.........close proximity to the transport system.........
what sort of neighbours you might have closeby............are they nice........unfriendly.....stupid.........smart........helpful.......
i dun see any of my friends even considering moving out. so that is not a viable option as of now.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Best thing is to get a friend and rent an apartment if all else fails.
depends on location, size of room etc lor...that's why I said must check things like use of kitchen and living room. Generally, the rule is that you have a right to use any facilities in the common area such as living room, kitchen, toilet etc...unless it is stated otherwise in the tenancy agreement.Originally posted by starblue:i heard that if u stay with the landlady, you may not be allowed to use the stove and/or the living room (with TV and sofa)?? there are also landladies who rent (say, a 3 room flat) the two bedrooms to separate tenants then she herself stay another place. so the whole apartment is between u and the room mate correct?? is this also 350 per month?
I have no prior experience to relate to you on the costs and lifestyle of being living alone. You are a girl, my advice would be that you take extra care and precaution especially when you are seeking accommodation outside. In short, personal safety should rank priority over price. Below are my thoughts in question form which are non-exhaustive on living alone:Originally posted by starblue:can you guys help me brainstorm what are the things to consider and to take note of when one is considering moving out of the house? i am thinking in terms of renting a room in a 3 room apartment kinda living arrangement.
appreciate any help.
Are you allowed to rent out the entire HDB flat?Originally posted by CoolMyth:My grandma is renting her 3-room flat to someone for 800 monthly. The occupants are responsible for the utilities payment. She does that since she's staying with my uncle.
If your flat is fully paid up.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:Are you allowed to rent out the entire HDB flat?
Yep. All fully paid up. After all, it was bought when the flat was just constructed. Now shall be about 20+ years ago.Originally posted by LazerLordz:If your flat is fully paid up.
the rules have changed.Originally posted by LazerLordz:If your flat is fully paid up.
I think for the 5 years one, it's a room. Only for fully paid up flats can you rent out the entire flat.Originally posted by dragg:the rules have changed.
after 5 years can rent out i think.
the 5 or 10 years limit is not across the board I think.. although it helps if you are staying abroad.Originally posted by CoolMyth:I think for the 5 years one, it's a room. Only for fully paid up flats can you rent out the entire flat.
I could be wrong.
to answer the questions first:Originally posted by TooFree:I have no prior experience to relate to you on the costs and lifestyle of being living alone. You are a girl, my advice would be that you take extra care and precaution especially when you are seeking accommodation outside. In short, personal safety should rank priority over price. Below are my thoughts in question form which are non-exhaustive on living alone:
1. Are you an independent person?
2. Can you cook?
3. Do you know how to wash laundry?
4. Are you streetsmart?
5. Are you afraid of the dark?
6. Will you feel comfortable living with stranger?
7. Are you scard of ghost?
8. Are you scard of thunder storm and lightning?
9. Have you got prior camping experience?
10. Are you able to manage your finance?
11. Have you been to the market before?
12. What happen if you fall sick outside?
In my humble opinion, I strongly do not recommend you to move out since you are still a student with no financial means to cope and support yourself with the hefty amount of rental and utility fees. Most importantly, if your decision on moving out is to make an 'escape' for unknown reason, you should know better than me that it will not solve any cause nor erdicate the root of the problem eventually. However, if it is for a short term breather for peace and tranquility, then I would advise you to seek lodging with your trustworthy gal friends instead.
jsut note that if you living alone you need to see yuor flatmates how lor wait got some tiko as flatmate........Originally posted by starblue:to answer the questions first:
1) pretty much.
2) will not starve myself
3) yes
4) i'm working on it
5) nope
6) never did before so dunno. but i guess can get used to it.
7) nope
erm... does this matter, really?
9) same as above
10) yes (i can certainly save)
11) yes
12) take care of myself as always loh.
alright, so based on that is it alright for me to move out?
and oh, just to clarify. i am not thinking of moving out immediately. in fact, i plan to do so only after i graduate (both from uni and moe training). so that will be in 3 years' time. i told my mum already, so she got 3 years to get used to that idea.
and i plan to start living very independently (as in doing all the chores, cooking regularly etc) when i am in moe training, to prepare myself for a life without my mum to do those things for me.
also, i gave myself this 3 years to see if anything could change in the family, and i will only move out if things remain the same, or gets worse. in that way, i know i didnt rush into this, and i cannot be accused of being rash and infilial or wadever stuff.
i appreciate all the opinions you guys have given so far. at least nw i have an idea of what to expect. (the idea still feels daunting. it's almost like getting married. o.O) please feel free to contribute more.