so i should go for the programme?Originally posted by the Bear:tell you what.. most people just study to get that paper.. you will learn later in life that most, if not all the stuff you study is totally useless or wrong in the real world...
go get your paper..
your work or career comes along when it comes along..
1.) go with your heart ... which seems to be in humanities ... don't follow the crowd or follow what the garbarment wants people to study ... if you like humanities, go ahead then ! .... there are plenty of well-paying jobs for humanities students too ... like bloodsuck... sorry .. I mean lawyers and such ... ...Originally posted by mystiv:alright, now im stuck in a dilemma. im wondering whether or not to apply for Hwa Chong Humanities Scholarship. a few factors that i gotta consider
1) It'll be a pure humanities combination for me if i choose to apply for it, or if i get into the hwa chong humanities programme. problem is, im pretty interested in sciences too
2) If i dont get the scholarship but get still get into HC, the school fee's is another factor. my family aint rich, and though there's the financial aid, i doubt i can get it. my bro and mum works, but basically my bro's salary only goes into supporting himself, while my mum pays all the bills, etc with a meagre salary of 1700
3) economics seems to be compulsory, and i aint exactly interested in that
all that said, im still pretty interested in it. our teacher gave us a briefing today, and the style of teaching seems pretty appealing. and i believe my future career will have more to do with humanities than sciences
basically, for my future career, i hope to be able to solve, or make better, the problem of hunger throughout the world. i dunnoe how to phrase it, but its like helping the situation of what you see in..africa. sorta
advice anyone? should i go for the humanities programme?
problem is, my heart is interested sciences and humanities..Originally posted by Fatum:1.) go with your heart ... which seems to be in humanities ... don't follow the crowd or follow what the garbarment wants people to study ... if you like humanities, go ahead then ! .... there are plenty of well-paying jobs for humanities students too ... like bloodsuck... sorry .. I mean lawyers and such ... ...
2.) I'm sure you can get some form of financial aid somewhere, be it at HC or maybe some orgs like CADC ...
3.) econs is nothing much but math at the higher lever (though I'm not sure about A'levels) ... so I wouldn't really sweat that ...
well ... actually, in that case, perhaps you should stick with science for the time being then ... you'll have wider options after your A's ... and you can certainly do lit in the uni after .... I'm not sure how NUS works, but other places allows you weird combis like com sci and philosophy ... or physics and English lit ....Originally posted by mystiv:problem is, my heart is interested sciences and humanities..
actually, perhaps more interested in sciences..pretty interested in phy and chem. for humanities, only more interested in elit
free? nah..the scholarship aint that much..Originally posted by hisoka:maybe look around for other such scholarships that have a more balanced take? otherwise it seems a pretty good plan esp to get your "toilet paper" "free" esp if your family condition isn't that good
i dun quite get your situation. so on one hand, u go for the scholarship, u get to study your fav elit, plus the money factor. but u dun get physics and chem. if you dun get scholarship then wad? u get to study phy and chem?Originally posted by mystiv:alright, now im stuck in a dilemma. im wondering whether or not to apply for Hwa Chong Humanities Scholarship. a few factors that i gotta consider
1) It'll be a pure humanities combination for me if i choose to apply for it, or if i get into the hwa chong humanities programme. problem is, im pretty interested in sciences too
2) If i dont get the scholarship but get still get into HC, the school fee's is another factor. my family aint rich, and though there's the financial aid, i doubt i can get it. my bro and mum works, but basically my bro's salary only goes into supporting himself, while my mum pays all the bills, etc with a meagre salary of 1700
3) economics seems to be compulsory, and i aint exactly interested in that
all that said, im still pretty interested in it. our teacher gave us a briefing today, and the style of teaching seems pretty appealing. and i believe my future career will have more to do with humanities than sciences
basically, for my future career, i hope to be able to solve, or make better, the problem of hunger throughout the world. i dunnoe how to phrase it, but its like helping the situation of what you see in..africa. sorta
advice anyone? should i go for the humanities programme?
At steady state, our Sec 1 and 2 students will continue to pay $200 per month, Sec 3 and 4 at $250 per month and College 1 and 2 students will pay $300 per month.Originally posted by starblue:i dun quite get your situation. so on one hand, u go for the scholarship, u get to study your fav elit, plus the money factor. but u dun get physics and chem. if you dun get scholarship then wad? u get to study phy and chem?
in that case, i will choose the latter. it's better to enjoy two subjects instead of just one (cos you'll do better for As). besides, JC school fees not very expensive, it is heavily subsidized by the government le.
do wad u wanna study. elit can study in uni one.
I'm more inclined to think that you should go the best way to get into your preferred choice in Uni in the future.Originally posted by mystiv:At steady state, our Sec 1 and 2 students will continue to pay $200 per month, Sec 3 and 4 at $250 per month and College 1 and 2 students will pay $300 per month.
i doubt ill ever do biology or somethingOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I'm more inclined to think that you should go the best way to get into your preferred choice in Uni in the future.
This one... I'm not too sure.. I personally trust established programmes and certificates..
What cert do you get at the end of it all? Because Lit is something you can do in the Uni, but it's good to have a foundation and do it for a few years..
You sound like an army mate, who's now doing microbiology and political science..
No as in IB diploma or A level cert at the end of this programme..Originally posted by mystiv:i doubt ill ever do biology or something
what cert..some cert that'll help me in my career, hopefully. any advice?
this programme offers no special certs, same as any other jc's or anything. its the teaching style and environment that's differentOriginally posted by LazerLordz:No as in IB diploma or A level cert at the end of this programme..
do u prefer teachers to be angmohs?Originally posted by mystiv:this programme offers no special certs, same as any other jc's or anything. its the teaching style and environment that's different
e.g. all the teachers are angmohs
and the students there are more outspoken, etc
the thing is, arcording to people who have been in the programme, the angmoh teachers teach in a more interesting style, and are much more open-mindedOriginally posted by starblue:do u prefer teachers to be angmohs?
anyway, just ask urself. which is more important to you, being able to study the subjects u like, or having "better" teachers?
ah... so u have to ask yourself, which one u want.Originally posted by mystiv:the thing is, arcording to people who have been in the programme, the angmoh teachers teach in a more interesting style, and are much more open-minded
JC got so ex meh?? maybe i was under financial aid, so i didnt know... hmmm...Originally posted by hisoka:i think need to consider finance also. are you sure your parents cannot afford your fees?
btw i think if you got a scholarship b4 next time easier to get another one also for the uni.
dunno, the way he say in his first postOriginally posted by starblue:JC got so ex meh?? maybe i was under financial aid, so i didnt know... hmmm...
haiz... if money is really the prob, then i'll def go for scholarship. i know what it's like to choose the lesser preferred option for the good of the family. no choice one lah.Originally posted by hisoka:dunno, the way he say in his first post
some time ends cannot meet means ends cannot meet lor.
heyz its not a bad choice either lah. only thing no physics and chem but if he wants can pick that up later in uni or as extra stuff outside one lahOriginally posted by starblue:haiz... if money is really the prob, then i'll def go for scholarship. i know what it's like to choose the lesser preferred option for the good of the family. no choice one lah.