tapes??Originally posted by rainee:hehe it is okie..
finished it le, now highlighting some important parts that i wan the students to notice most
after this i need to go listen to the tapes and see how much time i need to spend on each page of the tutorial...got 9 pages total![]()
9 pages... don't take long to read...Originally posted by rainee:hehe it is okie..
finished it le, now highlighting some important parts that i wan the students to notice most
after this i need to go listen to the tapes and see how much time i need to spend on each page of the tutorial...got 9 pages total![]()
hihi mayiOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Hello Rin.![]()
Listening part ma, got no tapes how am i going to play the dialogues for the students to hear?Originally posted by hisoka:tapes??
i m now scared i wun have enuff time to go thru all partsOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:9 pages... don't take long to read...
Maybe drag here and there a while should be able to make it to 3 hours. With breaks, even more so.![]()
what accent will the tapes be in??Originally posted by rainee:Listening part ma, got no tapes how am i going to play the dialogues for the students to hear?![]()
British accentOriginally posted by hisoka:what accent will the tapes be in??
maybe like 10-15mins per page then open the rest of the time for the students to ask questions?Originally posted by rainee:i m now scared i wun have enuff time to go thru all parts
tink i can only spend around 15 minutes on each page...![]()
Should have enough time. 3 hours = 180 mins. 9 pages of 15 mins each will spend 135 mins. 45 mins of break for them.Originally posted by rainee:i m now scared i wun have enuff time to go thru all parts
tink i can only spend around 15 minutes on each page...![]()
i assume you have a british accent?Originally posted by rainee:British accent
now i remember the listening part was the hardest part for me when i was taking TOEFL, wich was the entrance exam to US unis![]()
more like 15 mins break every 45 mins. that might be better cos after 45 mins every one should be ready to fall asleepOriginally posted by NekoRin:maybe like 10-15mins per page then open the rest of the time for the students to ask questions?
cannotOriginally posted by hisoka:hmmz xiang'er dnu like being called qan bei then xmm can??
British accent should be OK. My first year communication and arts modules all taught by teachers from Britain. No problem with listening and understanding.Originally posted by rainee:British accent
now i remember the listening part was the hardest part for me when i was taking TOEFL, wich was the entrance exam to US unis![]()
need to spend 1 hour on the practise test...so the tips and strategies can only spend 2 hours on themOriginally posted by NekoRin:maybe like 10-15mins per page then open the rest of the time for the students to ask questions?
no la where got 45 mins of break...still need to sit thru the practice test...tink by the time they go back they will be exhaustedOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Should have enough time. 3 hours = 180 mins. 9 pages of 15 mins each will spend 135 mins. 45 mins of break for them.![]()
i dun have a british accent...i have never been to britain in my whole lifeOriginally posted by hisoka:i assume you have a british accent?
the best way to get those buggers ready for the listening test assuming their english is already ok is tog et them to listen to a person with british accent talk for hours. they will acclimitize eventually
but i tink british accent harder to understand compared to american accent leh...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:British accent should be OK. My first year communication and arts modules all taught by teachers from Britain. No problem with listening and understanding.
If you tell me American accent, then maybe need to wish the students good luck. Got a lot of problems trying to catch what they are saying.![]()
Practice test need one hour, but tutorials already more than two hours. Maybe some need to cut short or very short breaks for them, like toilet break or water break.Originally posted by rainee:no la where got 45 mins of break...still need to sit thru the practice test...tink by the time they go back they will be exhausted![]()
dun tink practice test will take up the whole hour la, cos the test itself is 40 mins nia, then need to discuss the answers ma. but of cos i will let them have break after every hour during the tutorial, otherwise they will all fall asleep if i go on for 2 hours straitOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Practice test need one hour, but tutorials already more than two hours. Maybe some need to cut short or very short breaks for them, like toilet break or water break.![]()
Don't know leh... generally my classmates and I have no problems understanding British accent.Originally posted by rainee:but i tink british accent harder to understand compared to american accent leh...![]()
Even if they don't sleep, you probably will fall asleep.Originally posted by rainee:dun tink practice test will take up the whole hour la, cos the test itself is 40 mins nia, then need to discuss the answers ma. but of cos i will let them have break after every hour during the tutorial, otherwise they will all fall asleep if i go on for 2 hours strait![]()
yea lor, whenever i stop the lesson to ask them if they have any questions, they just keep quiet. tink it is the Asian mentality or sth, cos back in my college, my professors have no problem getting the students to ask questions.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Even if they don't sleep, you probably will fall asleep.
Students barely ask questions till the last minute. Then it's like you talking only, a bit sian. My teacher also fall asleep this way.![]()
Could be Asian mentality. Taught not to interrupt until the person finishes talking.Originally posted by rainee:yea lor, whenever i stop the lesson to ask them if they have any questions, they just keep quiet. tink it is the Asian mentality or sth, cos back in my college, my professors have no problem getting the students to ask questions.
but even after i finish talking liao then i ask them sum more if they wan to ask questions, they continue to keep quiet.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Could be Asian mentality. Taught not to interrupt until the person finishes talking.
Don't know leh... see if they bombard you with questions at the end of the lessons, then you will know if it's shyness. A common practice in Singapore would be to ask after lessons end, not even when the teacher asks them if they have questions during lessons.Originally posted by rainee:but even after i finish talking liao then i ask them sum more if they wan to ask questions, they continue to keep quiet.
think is cos of the shyness![]()