i know out of point...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:So many octets? All IP addresses only have a maximum of 4 octets as of now.
Bits you mean?
Class C default subnet is 255.255.255.0
Convert this to binary and you get 11111111.11111111.11111111.00000000
Add all the ones together, which is 24.
ahh..close to that..but thanksOriginally posted by the Bear:it's from 255 x 255 x 255 x 255 = 4,228,250,625
Yes, that is as of now. When IPv6 gets the nod, the new IP address may look like this: 0.0.0.0.0.0Originally posted by StarPuppy:i know out of point...
but the highest IP which is 255.255.255.255
which is ever 4 billion users online at the same time?
i remember my book saying that if got 4 billion people online at the same time..the highest it can go is 255.255.255.255
The wonders of science. How I love it.Originally posted by StarPuppy:such simple things can be used to find footprints and thumbprint..didn't know..thought always dusting only
There may be more than 4 billion people on Earth, but I believe there are less than 4 billion computers around the world that has Net access.Originally posted by StarPuppy:ahh..close to that..but thanks
well...4.228 billion people can be online at the same time
no such thing as peaceful riotingOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:The wonders of science. How I love it.
But the best part of the show would be the mock riots. Small-scaled, but don't know got use or not.
lets see if LHL does implement the full IT wireless he says to be plannedOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:There may be more than 4 billion people on Earth, but I believe there are less than 4 billion computers around the world that has Net access.
Singapore has 4 million, not 4 billion people, mind you.Originally posted by StarPuppy:lets see if LHL does implement the full IT wireless he says to be planned
No, that one violent enough. Throw tyres, shake police van, bang this and that.Originally posted by StarPuppy:no such thing as peaceful rioting
not say i dun want..i dun have access to the tuotorialsOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Singapore has 4 million, not 4 billion people, mind you.
Anyway, even if there are more than 4 billion that has Net access, and all of them are trying to use the Net at the same time, subnets will solve the problem of IP addresses running out.
Go read the tutorials, then you will understand.
but need a lot of money to change to IPv6 right?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yes, that is as of now. When IPv6 gets the nod, the new IP address may look like this: 0.0.0.0.0.0
And there won't be 4 billion users at any one time, due to the limitations of IP addressing.
Class D and Class E IP addresses are not used, any IP address that ends with 0 and 255 won't be used, IP addresses belonging to hardware won't be used, any IP address that start with 0 won't be used.
Let's take 193.10.1.5 as your IP address assigned to you. Convert this to binary.Originally posted by The man who was death:ok....so i need 25 nodes each on three networks so i add 3 bits to class c default subnet which give me 11111111.11111111.11111111.11100000 in binary.
so got 3 octets in there, then i use formula (2^3)-2 to get 6 networks.
then use formula 2^(8-3)-2 to get 30 hosts per network.
then....then...i dunno how to do le to get the network no.
I already give links, cannot access meh?Originally posted by StarPuppy:not say i dun want..i dun have access to the tuotorials
Don't know. Must ask the people planning it. Might have to relearn everything again from start if IPv6 is not build on existing theories.Originally posted by The man who was death:but need a lot of money to change to IPv6 right?
so now still stick to IPv4.
i need to give one IP address each to the 3 buildings which have one network each lah, and have to make sure data would not be broadcast to every host in the 3 buildings.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Let's take 193.10.1.5 as your IP address assigned to you. Convert this to binary.
11000001.00001010.00000001.00000101 --> 193.10.1.5 in binary
11111111.11111111.11111111.11100000 --> subnet mask
The subnet mask, as you have found, by adding 3 bits.
Have you learnt Logical AND function? If yes, apply it.
If no, here's how it works.
1 AND 1 is 1
1 AND 0 is 0
0 AND 0 is 0
0 AND 1 is 0
Now, apply this to the example I give. This will give the network address.
That one example only.Originally posted by The man who was death:i need to give one IP address each to the 3 buildings which have one network each lah, and have to make sure data would not be broadcast to every host in the 3 buildings.
so after i find the network addresses, i can just choose any three from there and assign it to the 3 buildings and it will fulfil the requirements above?
what does node address and broadcast address mean ar?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:That one example only.
Yup, just assign any one of the 3 to the 3 buildings. Slowly do the permutations, got enough to make people mad.
See this example
A node is a network junction or connection point. So node address means the IP address of that machine connecting to the router.Originally posted by The man who was death:what does node address and broadcast address mean ar?
that will be my last qn. thanks so much mayi!!!!!!! dunno how to thank you!!!!
nights!Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Tomorrow rainee comes in, she will peng.
Ok, time for me to go bathe and orh orh liao. Bye and good night!
PS: death, I was kidding for the Mickey Mouse. I don't need it.