yup, most of my students always get confused by those words, then very hard to explain to them that they can be both verb and noun as wellOriginally posted by LazerLordz:some words are both verbs and nouns.
one example is "bomb".
I'll skip for Physics and Maths.Originally posted by hisoka:see rainee agrees with me
hmmz teaching english. thats something i won't do. i'll teach maths physics and every biology but no english
what did i do?Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I get it.
Thankfully, fudgester not here. He's going to blast hisoka.
Originally posted by hisoka:you messed up some one else's kitchen??
I found it tough to teach a primary school kid who has zero english speaking background, the meaning of pronouns, adjectives, verbs and nouns.Originally posted by rainee:yup, most of my students always get confused by those words, then very hard to explain to them that they can be both verb and noun as well
lol English is sth i wun mind teachingOriginally posted by hisoka:see rainee agrees with me
hmmz teaching english. thats something i won't do. i'll teach maths physics and every biology but no english
That's the hard part. Some students just don't understand why. You would need a lot of practice to see why.Originally posted by LazerLordz:some words are both verbs and nouns.
one example is "bomb".
yea, dats y i m oso worried abt my class which is going to start soon...dunno whether the students are proficient in English or not, cos once they see me, they are going to expect me to speak Mandarin to them...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I found it tough to teach a primary school kid who has zero english speaking background, the meaning of pronouns, adjectives, verbs and nouns.
*faint.
Originally posted by udontknowme:very simple...stir fried vege and also some pork
and rice
That I don't know.Originally posted by hisoka:what did i do?
hes very uptight about malay language puns??
faster fly overOriginally posted by LazerLordz:
you have to be firm to them. Set the ground rules that during lesson time, everyone should speak in English, or else it will pointless learningOriginally posted by rainee:yea, dats y i m oso worried abt my class which is going to start soon...dunno whether the students are proficient in English or not, cos once they see me, they are going to expect me to speak Mandarin to them...
haha a uni grad like me doesn't know what those words mean too, but my english is considered pretty good or at least not below avg. go figureOriginally posted by LazerLordz:I found it tough to teach a primary school kid who has zero english speaking background, the meaning of pronouns, adjectives, verbs and nouns.
*faint.
This I agree. Assessment books helps a lot in guiding one on what to teach next.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I found it tough to teach a primary school kid who has zero english speaking background, the meaning of pronouns, adjectives, verbs and nouns.
*faint.
actually most people won't remember exactly what those are, until they have to teach it, or major in English Language.Originally posted by udontknowme:until now, i still dont know what is an adjective, noun, pronoun, and all that
and dont bother telling me...ive asked enough times to have my sister and dad call me useless already
tell leh, then i can avoid offending him. (or i can learn what ticks him off so i can use it )Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:That I don't know.
Originally posted by udontknowme:very simple...stir fried vege and also some pork
and rice
Originally posted by udontknowme:faster fly over
then i also will cook for you
Sounds a lot like myself. I don't know what the heck is a verb, adverb, noun, adjective, or what have you.Originally posted by LazerLordz:actually most people won't remember exactly what those are, until they have to teach it, or major in English Language.
yea, but thing is i m worried they wun understand when i speak English to them...then they will go complain to the management saying that they dun understand my teaching...Originally posted by LazerLordz:you have to be firm to them. Set the ground rules that during lesson time, everyone should speak in English, or else it will pointless learning
yupz you can jsut use the excuse that it would be good for them to be forced to use english so that their english can improve. tell them the fastest way to learna language is to use itOriginally posted by LazerLordz:you have to be firm to them. Set the ground rules that during lesson time, everyone should speak in English, or else it will pointless learning
Test lor...Originally posted by rainee:yea, dats y i m oso worried abt my class which is going to start soon...dunno whether the students are proficient in English or not, cos once they see me, they are going to expect me to speak Mandarin to them...