oh no!! fudgester's here, hes gonna blast meOriginally posted by fudgester:Sounds a lot like myself. I don't know what the heck is a verb, adverb, noun, adjective, or what have you.
I follow the rules of English, but I don't even know those rules in the first place.
huh?Originally posted by udontknowme:and and and....the guy left his bedroom door open and the BEEG BEEG poster on his wall TSK TSK TSK!!!!
goodness...
what poster?Originally posted by udontknowme:and and and....the guy left his bedroom door open and the BEEG BEEG poster on his wall TSK TSK TSK!!!!
goodness...
Seriously, no one will bother unless you are linguist. They are very particular about that.Originally posted by udontknowme:until now, i still dont know what is an adjective, noun, pronoun, and all that
and dont bother telling me...ive asked enough times to have my sister and dad call me useless already
the place where i cooked lorOriginally posted by rainee:huh?
worse is u ask and they just dun reply cos they dunno how to reply in EnglishOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Test lor...
When you ask and they reply back in Chinese, you know what to expect already.
It's back to basics for those without English background. Those with English background, it's their proficiency.
You go ask him yourself.Originally posted by hisoka:tell leh, then i can avoid offending him. (or i can learn what ticks him off so i can use it )
Originally posted by LazerLordz:what poster?
I don't believe all of them have zero knowledge in English. If that's the case, you have to start from ABC.Originally posted by rainee:yea, but thing is i m worried they wun understand when i speak English to them...then they will go complain to the management saying that they dun understand my teaching...
oh this poster looks very familiar...Originally posted by udontknowme:
goodness...it was HUGE lor
In my schooling days, anybody who speaks other languages other than English will have to write lines.Originally posted by udontknowme:hmm...in my school. even in the ESL classes. NO other language is allowed other than english.
how else can they learn
sigh, but i m not supposed to be teaching basic English leh...if i have to spend most of the lesson explaining word by word to them, then I wun be able to finish teaching all the syllabus leOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:I don't believe all of them have zero knowledge in English. If that's the case, you have to start from ABC.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:In my schooling days, anybody who speaks other languages other than English will have to write lines.
When the big Os are nearing, it's even worse. Read, write, eat, sleep, dream and think English. Torture.
Then you've got to prepare a new set of tutorials... starting from ABC.Originally posted by rainee:worse is u ask and they just dun reply cos they dunno how to reply in English
i think i will just send them to the basic English classes they are also conducting hereOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Then you've got to prepare a new set of tutorials... starting from ABC.
That's the time where most teachers hate.
Can't finish extend lesson time... provided that the classroom is not booked and it's not too late...Originally posted by rainee:sigh, but i m not supposed to be teaching basic English leh...if i have to spend most of the lesson explaining word by word to them, then I wun be able to finish teaching all the syllabus le
yea, this is what I am afraid of...Originally posted by fudgester:Well, my tuition student (who's in Sec 1) is extremely weak in English. It's becoming a liability in his Science and Maths as well - half the time he simply can't comprehend what's being taught.
For example, in a Maths question he was asked to find the amount of soil excavated when a tunneling device is bored through soil. He totally didn't know the meaning of 'excavated' and 'bored through soil' - and as such, he couldn't answer the question.
Haha, it's strict all right.Originally posted by udontknowme:
but even in real life, i read write dream and think in english already
wow...your school is STRICT
i think it's Tatu?Originally posted by udontknowme:
goodness...it was HUGE lor
And when I ask him what books he reads regularly, he said that he reads English-dubbed Japanese manga.Originally posted by rainee:yea, this is what I am afraid of...
for a sec one question, i think the problem here is more of the sophiscatry of the question asked rather than his englishOriginally posted by fudgester:Well, my tuition student (who's in Sec 1) is extremely weak in English. It's becoming a liability in his Science and Maths as well - half the time he simply can't comprehend what's being taught.
For example, in a Maths question he was asked to find the amount of soil excavated when a tunneling device is bored through soil. He totally didn't know the meaning of 'excavated' and 'bored through soil' - and as such, he couldn't answer the question.
Good idea. More earnings.Originally posted by rainee:i think i will just send them to the basic English classes they are also conducting here