nowadays school education censor a lot. i just told my mum. it turns out that they were shown this when she was doing sec 2 science. o.OOriginally posted by BadzMaro:Hey.. how come i never get to see that during Bio!
practical???Originally posted by starblue:first half, we watched a couple of videos. one of which was positively pornographic, biologically speaking. i've seen plenty of "human reproduction" videos throughout my biology career. but none has come this far with details and imagery.
we were brought through the passage that the sperm takes on its perilous journey (those glands secreting their stuff into the passage), as well as the ovum's rite of passage.
then there was this infrared image of the flacid THIHNG becoming engorged with blood.
we also saw for about 3 seconds, the head of the baby come out of the STRETCHED mouth of the birth canal, in all its gory glory, it's face all srcunched up as if in disgust. and the nurses stuffed this pump thing into its mouth to make it breathe. then, the next 2 seconds we saw the entire piece of baby slip out,
urgh.
i don't EVER want to see that again.
then the sec half of the prac got a few stations we had to go to and listen to the TAs talk about the displays. we traced the development of the human fetus from fertilization right to birth. then also got frog embryo and chick development.
we had to make quick sketches of the displays. i regret to say that my human embryonic ball of cells look rather like a shrivelled bunch of grapes. i don't even want to talk about how my chick embryo looks like. and yes, that's a chick embryo you're looking at, not some extinct prehistoric prelife, if that's what you're thinking. geez.
how bout that for a practical?
pls lor ah gal.. i can even tell u wats the module title, developmental biology rite, come on lah, dun be a frog in the wellOriginally posted by starblue:you got watch the childbirth before?? you should mate. then you'll know what i'm talking about.
Originally posted by hopy:pls lor ah gal.. i can even tell u wats the module title, developmental biology rite, come on lah, dun be a frog in the well
i got watch b4.Originally posted by starblue:you got watch the childbirth before?? you should mate. then you'll know what i'm talking about.
dun small c bunnies k, if nt u die liao also dunno yOriginally posted by hisoka:i got watch b4.
btw she should mate?? thenw ill know?
oh eyah i killed a pretty and cute rabbit
o.O they show you the uncensored version in sec 2 liao?? why they never show me? nan dao they small see me?Originally posted by mystiv:i watched a video on giving birth before
in sec 2
Originally posted by hopy:dun small c bunnies k, if nt u die liao also dunno y
i sneaked a peek actuallyOriginally posted by starblue:o.O they show you the uncensored version in sec 2 liao?? why they never show me? nan dao they small see me?
o.O omg, what have i been missing in my education? for all i know, you guys might have watched videos showing corpulation in your sec sch bio classes.Originally posted by mystiv:i sneaked a peek actually
nah. they showed it to the whole class. and when the baby was coming out and the hole enlarged to some huge size, there was one unanimous response from everyone
EEEEEEEYYYYEEERRRRRRRRR
I have delivered some three dozen babies or so in my younger days...the part I hate was performing the episiotomy...did they show you that in the video? We make a cut in the perineum (between the vulva and the anus) to make it easier for the baby's head to emerge and reduce the risk of tears which can cause problems with continence in future. Some used a pair of scissors, others prefer a scalpel blade.Originally posted by starblue:o.O omg, what have i been missing in my education? for all i know, you guys might have watched videos showing corpulation in your sec sch bio classes.
ouchOriginally posted by oxford mushroom:I have delivered some three dozen babies or so in my younger days...the part I hate was performing the episiotomy...did they show you that in the video? We make a cut in the perineum (between the vulva and the anus) to make it easier for the baby's head to emerge and reduce the risk of tears which can cause problems with continence in future. Some used a pair of scissors, others prefer a scalpel blade.
I always gave anaesthesia but some doctors say that you don't need to because with the pain of contractions, the woman cannot feel the pain of the episiotomy at all. Of course, we have to stitch up the wound after the delivery, which is probably more painful.
for my practical next week I'm building shift registers, doing prep right now.Originally posted by starblue:first half, we watched a couple of videos. one of which was positively pornographic, biologically speaking. i've seen plenty of "human reproduction" videos throughout my biology career. but none has come this far with details and imagery.
we were brought through the passage that the sperm takes on its perilous journey (those glands secreting their stuff into the passage), as well as the ovum's rite of passage.
then there was this infrared image of the flacid THIHNG becoming engorged with blood.
we also saw for about 3 seconds, the head of the baby come out of the STRETCHED mouth of the birth canal, in all its gory glory, it's face all srcunched up as if in disgust. and the nurses stuffed this pump thing into its mouth to make it breathe. then, the next 2 seconds we saw the entire piece of baby slip out,
urgh.
i don't EVER want to see that again.
then the sec half of the prac got a few stations we had to go to and listen to the TAs talk about the displays. we traced the development of the human fetus from fertilization right to birth. then also got frog embryo and chick development.
we had to make quick sketches of the displays. i regret to say that my human embryonic ball of cells look rather like a shrivelled bunch of grapes. i don't even want to talk about how my chick embryo looks like. and yes, that's a chick embryo you're looking at, not some extinct prehistoric prelife, if that's what you're thinking. geez.
how bout that for a practical?
ouch!!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I have delivered some three dozen babies or so in my younger days...the part I hate was performing the episiotomy...did they show you that in the video? We make a cut in the perineum (between the vulva and the anus) to make it easier for the baby's head to emerge and reduce the risk of tears which can cause problems with continence in future. Some used a pair of scissors, others prefer a scalpel blade.
I always gave anaesthesia but some doctors say that you don't need to because with the pain of contractions, the woman cannot feel the pain of the episiotomy at all. Of course, we have to stitch up the wound after the delivery, which is probably more painful.
dats wat i tink oso...Originally posted by BadzMaro:this proves that women has higher pain threshhold. ouch~
why does this reminds me of the ever appearing NS vs GB topic?Originally posted by rainee:dats wat i tink oso...
so u guys better appreciate us and be glad u all dun have to go thru labor!
does that mean we get to hit girls harder than boys since they have higher threshold of pain??Originally posted by rainee:dats wat i tink oso...
so u guys better appreciate us and be glad u all dun have to go thru labor!