Originally posted by fudgester:i know how u feel..my relatives kids are all poly students, uni grads.. express student etc
Well, I got picked on too when I was in primary and secondary school.
And every time I got bullied, my dad would scold me and pin all the blame on me for being a 'weakling'. According to him, it was all my fault for being bullied as I was weak in the eyes of others.
I can still remember some of the things he shouted at me:
[b]'They bullied you because you are WEAK!!!'
'You are a weakling! That's why they picked on you!'
And the most hurtful remark of all (when I was 12):
'What's wrong with you? Why can't you be like everyone else?'
My young mind interpreted the last remark to mean that he wasn't proud of me for who I was and that he was disgusted at the fact that I was so weak that I got bullied easily.
As a result, I withdrew into my shell and didn't get along well with others. My reasoning was that since I get scolded every time I get bullied, then it's not worthwhile to befriend others for fear of getting bullied by them.
Perhaps it was his way of motivating me to stand and fight, but if that was his motivation, it backfired spectacularly on me. Reverse psychology doesn't always work on a kid - it only made me more and more withdrawn into my shell.
It was only in recent years that I've been able to come out of my shell. But even so, suffice to say, some old habits die hard.
Oh well. I think I had better end here before I slug my dad too much on an online forum. [/b]
tempting....Originally posted by laurence82:Come to the dark side
You will be weakling no more......
You already in liaoOriginally posted by StarPuppy:tempting....
but no
breakfast is with parents...depends on the rountine days...if 1,3,5, then i have breakfast with parents... 2,4..dun haveOriginally posted by MooKu:*puts an arm around puppy*
so nowadays you have to fix dinner yourself?
must eat well okay?
yupyupOriginally posted by the Bear:hey mookie.. less sleepy now?
ack, i cant fix a plug tooOriginally posted by StarPuppy:i know how u feel..my relatives kids are all poly students, uni grads.. express student etc
and i am the only one in ITE
and my father always picks on me when i can't do a simple technical stuff like fix a plug..he calls me a useless kid
no la I'm talking about now, while your parents are in GentingOriginally posted by StarPuppy:breakfast is with parents...depends on the rountine days...if 1,3,5, then i have breakfast with parents... 2,4..dun have
then lunch dun bother
dinner..depends lor...sometimes i dun eat..just go sleep to ease hunger
huh?Originally posted by StarPuppy:breakfast is with parents...depends on the rountine days...if 1,3,5, then i have breakfast with parents... 2,4..dun have
then lunch dun bother
dinner..depends lor...sometimes i dun eat..just go sleep to ease hunger
i protestOriginally posted by laurence82:You already in liao
my arse-is-indeed-glued-to-the-mrt-seatOriginally posted by mystiv:ack, i cant fix a plug too
and so what if you're in ITE? that doesnt make you any less better as a person. at the very least, you're a nice person. that makes you much better than many other out there..such as the my-arse-is-glued-to-the-mrt-seat-people
Neither can I.Originally posted by laurence82:i cant fix for nuts
i destroy things
I used to think engineers sat in trains and fed coal into the burners.Originally posted by fudgester:Neither can I.
And I'm studying to be an engineer, damnit.
I am staying away from u manOriginally posted by fudgester:Neither can I.
i messed up in cooking..i can't cook for worldsOriginally posted by MooKu:no la I'm talking about now, while your parents are in Genting
ooi, you must eat!
so skinny, must eat!
LEARN TO COOK
go fix your backOriginally posted by the Bear:well, i can fix things.. with a wok
i like cooking
I'm thinking of going for aeronautical specialisation.Originally posted by laurence82:I am staying away from u man
aren't u taught practical?Originally posted by fudgester:Neither can I.
I'm majoring in mechanical engineering.Originally posted by StarPuppy:aren't u taught practical?