That dialogue box only appears when you first add someone to your MSN account. The only way for you to change a person's ability to see you online AFTER you have added him is to block him.Originally posted by starblue:dude... don't your friends have to click "allow this guy to see you when online"? maybe they see a wierd address and clicked no. that's why u cant see them.
Yeah, I know...Originally posted by starblue:ah well.... i've blocked a couple of people (or erased them totally), and i know there are people who have blocked me.
so all is fair.
no block me hor?Originally posted by starblue:ah well.... i've blocked a couple of people (or erased them totally), and i know there are people who have blocked me.
so all is fair.
not yet. maybe next time if u piss me off.Originally posted by hisoka:no block me hor?
yeah, i know.... i got this friend whom i think is avoiding me. and i can only guess why... i might have a clue, but it didnt seem all that solid. ah well.... if he doesnt wanna talk to me, there is no way i can find out.Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah, I know...
But it's still kinda heartbreaking when someone whom you've known for years blocks you all of a sudden for no apparent reason.
i thought i always piss you off?Originally posted by starblue:not yet. maybe next time if u piss me off.
have u taken urops before?
omg, how many times must i tell u, i'm not last year. -_-"Originally posted by hisoka:i thought i always piss you off?
ope never do urops.
you last year le still wanna do?
okz lah last 1.5 yearsOriginally posted by starblue:omg, how many times must i tell u, i'm not last year. -_-"
you know anyone who did urops?
you sure oyu nus year 2 or 3 mah?Originally posted by fudgester:*me raises hand*
Uhh... simi si 'urops' ah?
Yes, I'm in Yr 3, and I've never really heard of UROPS. I've heard of IA, VIP (which I went for), NOC, SEP, and a whole lot of other acronyms, but UROPS is new to me.Originally posted by hisoka:you sure oyu nus year 2 or 3 mah?
urops is something like attachment de, but its during term time and its like attachment to a lab for research or something i think
i think blux blux should have the webby for you to see
o.O urops where got last 1.5 years? only one sem nia. which is 3 months. of cos some will continue going back to the lab to continue the work till someone else takes over. but it's not compulsory.Originally posted by hisoka:okz lah last 1.5 years
erm yeah some of my friends did urop whats up?
urop good thing is can earn exctra MC but hor need to do during term time so might not be that easy
sorry i never asked, but what do you major in?Originally posted by fudgester:Yes, I'm in Yr 3, and I've never really heard of UROPS. I've heard of IA, VIP (which I went for), NOC, SEP, and a whole lot of other acronyms, but UROPS is new to me.
Mechanical Engineering. Aeronautical specialisation.Originally posted by starblue:sorry i never asked, but what do you major in?
hmmz sorry. maybe its a science thingy........Originally posted by fudgester:Yes, I'm in Yr 3, and I've never really heard of UROPS. I've heard of IA, VIP (which I went for), NOC, SEP, and a whole lot of other acronyms, but UROPS is new to me.
o.O in nus? my cousin's taking that, in ntu.Originally posted by fudgester:Mechanical Engineering. Aeronautical specialisation.
urops cannot SU one wad....Originally posted by hisoka:hmmz sorry. maybe its a science thingy........
yeha starbleu its 1 sem. oh well if you so little modules then its fine but hor will it use up your s/u??
dna sequencing? isn't there like an automated system to do it now??Originally posted by starblue:o.O in nus? my cousin's taking that, in ntu.
hmmm... engineering people dun have urops de meh?
anyway, urops for life science peeps, is like a lab module, except that you have to approach a professor and ask him/her if he/she will like to take u as a urops student. if yes, then you will be doing part of his/her own field of research. a really small part. then have to write a thesis-like lab report on your findings, and give oral presentation or something liddat. then u will be graded.
currently, i've approached a prof, and if nothing goes wrong, i will be doing DNA sequencing of several selected primates, particularly the genes suspected to be responsible for determining brain size among and across the primates. and from there, hopefully can do some phylogenetic studies on the linkage between primates and humans and stuff liddat.
then if i like that kinda work, the prof say i might do a similar one for my honours, on nycticebus (a lower primate). i wont go into that, cos i think i'm boring you two.
sounds good, go for it!!Originally posted by starblue:urops cannot SU one wad....
i really hope can get this urops. and that i will enjoy this kinda work. i'll be going to the lab for a training cum exposure first, to see what i will be working on. then i will have to decide if i really wanna do it. i think i will, cos it will open up a rather stable opportunity for my honours. even my career. cos nycticebus is a very un-studied species. if i do go into it, i can be a pioneer in the field, expert, even.
but only if i really can fall in love with this kinda work. it's like conservation, zoology, phylogenetics, and a whole lot of other fields all lumped together.
/raises eyebrowsOriginally posted by hisoka:dna sequencing? isn't there like an automated system to do it now??
Yup I'm in NUS.... I didn't tell you that before meh?Originally posted by starblue:o.O in nus? my cousin's taking that, in ntu.
hmmm... engineering people dun have urops de meh?
yeah, i shall try... i've said that i dun really like lab research. but i'll give it another shot and see if my mentality and temperament has changed over the last 3 years.Originally posted by hisoka:sounds good, go for it!!
i meant i tot you just put the dna in a machine to read the dena then you got the sequence already.Originally posted by starblue:/raises eyebrows
you mean like you can do PCR without being there?
it's like the same thing. u use high tech machines and nano stuff to read DNA. but u still need the human to perform the tasks. not to mention ANALYSE what you get.