Well, on the bright side, if you can stand your ground , you can still enjoy some of hall life, and also have time to study in the silence of the night.Originally posted by fudgester:Anyway, I just got myself a room at Sheares Hall.
My sis has offered to help pay the fees.
I figure that with my declining CAP, I might as well just try to make the most out of university life and not just let lecture notes and exam results dominate everything. Staying in hall would be a start.
Still, a small part of me kinda fears having my CAP drop. I guess some things never change.![]()
Originally posted by mystiv:hmm...what difference will it make ah?
Those grades go up and down like a roller coaster.Originally posted by fudgester:Anyway, I just got myself a room at Sheares Hall.
My sis has offered to help pay the fees.
I figure that with my declining CAP, I might as well just try to make the most out of university life and not just let lecture notes and exam results dominate everything. Staying in hall would be a start.
Still, a small part of me kinda fears having my CAP drop. I guess some things never change.![]()
Roger that, boss.Originally posted by the Bear:sometimes uni life is an education in itself.. which is not to be confused with actually getting an education
enjoy your hostel days..
i enjoyed 3 years of it in melbourne...
Yeah... the competition for rooms was a killer.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, on the bright side, if you can stand your ground , you can still enjoy some of hall life, and also have time to study in the silence of the night.
Is it hard to get a room during year 3?
Think I'll give it a shot next year, but I am still only keen on PGP or KR. Eusoff is too hectic for my comfort. I do want the serenity of being able to study without distractions.Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah... the competition for rooms was a killer.
The results for the application for accomodation was supposed to be out on 9th Dec. However, due to the avalanche of applications, I received a call from the admin people earlier this morning while I was attending a lecture.
The guy who called me was pretty direct: 'You need to give me an answer now, or I'll give your room to someone else.'![]()
You get three choices.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Think I'll give it a shot next year, but I am still only keen on PGP or KR. Eusoff is too hectic for my comfort. I do want the serenity of being able to study without distractions.![]()
nothing to be stressed about, really..Originally posted by seow:HO!
life as usual.
This friend of mine taking o levels this year is pretty stressed out, being the sickly guy and target of a wolf in sheep clothing paikia and having to juggle family and o levels. xD
pgp arh? sub-rent half the room from papercutOriginally posted by fudgester:You get three choices.
I chose KR as my first choice - didn't get it.
Sheares was my second choice.
Ridge View Residences (next to YIH) was my third choice.
The competition for PGP and RVR is pretty hot. That's why I put KR and Sheares as my first two choices.
sick arh?Originally posted by seow:koff, koff!!
Chill...Originally posted by rainee:i hate my parents...
for the thousandth times![]()
can't even let me go to work in peace...everyday must find something to quarrel wif me![]()

Wah kaoz... that's a surefire way of getting kicked out the very next day...Originally posted by hisoka:pgp arh? sub-rent half the room from papercut![]()
won't get kicked out lah. you dun go and publicise it around lor. in the mean time enjoy your stay thereOriginally posted by fudgester:Wah kaoz... that's a surefire way of getting kicked out the very next day...
Anyway, I've turned down the offer to stay at Sheares Hall. In all honesty, I was really looking forward to experiencing Hall life, but the truth is that my finances don't permit it. If I were to spend $1400 on one semester of Hall life now, my finances would be at a very precarious state.
My sis has offered to lend me $1000, but it doesn't change the fact that I would still have to repay her over the holidays. And the opportunity cost of spending $1400 is just too much for me.
Oh well... I'm trying to shoot for an internship for the May-August holidays. I'll try to save up as much as I can and go for Hall again in my final year.![]()
I've shot my resume to CAAS, ST Aerospace, SIA Engineering, and Eurocopter. I'm trying to go for some aerospace firm, since that's what I'm specialising in. I won't rule out non-aerospace firms, either... I should be sending out more resumes to DSTA, ExxonMobil and, yes, Caltex this weekend.Originally posted by hisoka:won't get kicked out lah. you dun go and publicise it around lor. in the mean time enjoy your stay there
hmmz go caltex for internship good pay.![]()
you got try using the resume writing services at nus?Originally posted by fudgester:I've shot my resume to CAAS, ST Aerospace, SIA Engineering, and Eurocopter. I'm trying to go for some aerospace firm, since that's what I'm specialising in. I won't rule out non-aerospace firms, either... I should be sending out more resumes to DSTA, ExxonMobil and, yes, Caltex this weekend.
I'm betting that the HR directors of all those firms are laughing their heads off at my dumbass resume as we speak.![]()