you in NUS until so late meh?Originally posted by hisoka:so sad.
want to have dinner some day when ou stay back?
yea...hopefully i will get home safelyOriginally posted by starblue:muakzz rainee jie!! so long never come in to see you le.
drive carefully hor... now so dark already very dangerous leh...
i dun even know ur number horOriginally posted by alexkusu:rainee, miscall me when u get back home safe
either ur lab underequipped or many hardworkin geeks like..*ahem ahem*Originally posted by hisoka:from my experience the labs in nus run til pretty late and have alot of pple
maybe it's just the primer just dun like that fragment for that species' dna.Originally posted by alexkusu:given that everythin is right...or maybe the samples u received has degraded sufficiently to give poor results?
or maybe its human error
do you have anything to benchmark ur results on?
eh???Originally posted by the Bear:i'd have destroyed everything or shot lexy out of frustration
huh?Originally posted by the Bear:i'd have destroyed everything or shot lexy out of frustration
they finally left you alone?Originally posted by rainee:hello starblue mei!
i cant stay long here cos i m abt to head out already, and tonite is the first time i m driving home alone w/o my parents beside me.
pray for my safety peeps
but the lab really a lot of people leh. got post grad, got honours students and got urops students.Originally posted by alexkusu:either ur lab underequipped or many hardworkin geeks like..*ahem ahem*
last time i did mine, i used up to 6 machines at a time..the one that gives lousy results i just ignore
yeah, lidatOriginally posted by starblue:maybe it's just the primer just dun like that fragment for that species' dna.
what u mean by benchmark? like got previous literature sequencing results?? i think for the species i'm given, nobody tried or published any sequences before. that's why i'm doing this work, to ultimately align with those species that have been sequenced before and look at phylogeny.
i working near nus mah, go down very fast de.Originally posted by starblue:you in NUS until so late meh?
can u just imagine how frustrated you will be? cos after every 3 hours, you still have to run the gel for it for 30 min.Originally posted by the Bear:if things don't work out after many times of 3 hour waiting time..
you chose itOriginally posted by starblue:but the lab really a lot of people leh. got post grad, got honours students and got urops students.
wait a min... the other urops girl i like seldom see her in the lab leh... this is so unfair!! how come i have to work so hard, but her project like nothing to do one?
ask help from the post grad students?Originally posted by starblue:but the lab really a lot of people leh. got post grad, got honours students and got urops students.
wait a min... the other urops girl i like seldom see her in the lab leh... this is so unfair!! how come i have to work so hard, but her project like nothing to do one?
my project is carved out of my mentor's honours project. i'm doing part of the collecting of data for his project. but he and i will be using that set of data for diff analysis later on lah... and yes, all honours projects, urops and post grad projects must be something that is yet unknown. some peeps can even get a paper published in some renouned journal cos their findings are significant.Originally posted by alexkusu:yeah, lidat
so ur tryin to make a scientific breakthrough huh? good luck...maybe u need 6000 attempts.
I remember once there was this experiment..took 4 years to conduct. And all they came up with is a straight line graph
That's the way it is.Originally posted by starblue:but the lab really a lot of people leh. got post grad, got honours students and got urops students.
hor...hisk askin sb on a date ahOriginally posted by hisoka:i working near nus mah, go down very fast de.
or you want can meet for lunch on some tuesday i gate crashing some lessons in nus
see how. tuesdays i usually eat with friends... now we not taking the same modules, so very hard to have lunch together. tuesday is like the best date.Originally posted by hisoka:i working near nus mah, go down very fast de.
or you want can meet for lunch on some tuesday i gate crashing some lessons in nus
wad is "get a first author"?Originally posted by hisoka:you chose it
on the bright ide, you might be able to get a first author by the end of the year
orh, its liddatOriginally posted by starblue:my project is carved out of my mentor's honours project. i'm doing part of the collecting of data for his project. but he and i will be using that set of data for diff analysis later on lah... and yes, all honours projects, urops and post grad projects must be something that is yet unknown. some peeps can even get a paper published in some renouned journal cos their findings are significant.
there is no such hierachical lab system lah... for those research labs i mean. the labs are divided according to their disciplines and area of expertise. like my lab is the evolutionary biology lab. next to it is the ecology and conservation lab. liddat loh. so depending on what you project is about, you go to the respective labs.Originally posted by alexkusu:ask help from the post grad students?
NUS dont have different labs for different students ah? eg..urops student not so pro, so get to used the cheaper machines..while phd/post grad students get to use different ones in diff labs