first name author on the paper?Originally posted by starblue:wad is "get a first author"?
haiz... why liddat? i really hope this one can get A. if not i will dui myself loh. spend so much time on it.Originally posted by fudgester:That's the way it is.
It's just like how some people will get laughably easy FYPs while others get hardass ones.
The same goes for my industrial design project - my group is poised to spend countless hours in the engineering workshops and labs doing machining and welding to build a full-scale prototype.
Meanwhile. some other luckier groups just need to send their drawings and technical diagrams to their parents companies, and the whole thing will be fabricated for them.
first author for the paper thats publishedOriginally posted by starblue:wad is "get a first author"?
i have a lecturer as a supervisor, and another lecturer is in charged of the evo lab. anyway, if my mentor publishes a paper, maybe my name will be somewhere in the long list of names lah. maybe lah.Originally posted by alexkusu:orh, its liddat
then most likely ur 'mentor' gets almost all the credit while u do the hard work hor
ddnt knw nus got such system..my uni requires project with lecturers
'maybe' ah..dosent sound so promising leh. maybe ur name wont be mentioned at all despite all the hardwork u went throughOriginally posted by starblue:i have a lecturer as a supervisor, and another lecturer is in charged of the evo lab. anyway, if my mentor publishes a paper, maybe my name will be somewhere in the long list of names lah. maybe lah.
my friend got her name on her prof's paper also when she did her urops two sems back.
Well, that's the way it is.Originally posted by starblue:haiz... why liddat? i really hope this one can get A. if not i will dui myself loh. spend so much time on it.
now i dunno if i should SU my psych module. i usually get As for arts modules. but then this sem got this urops taking all my time, dunno if it better if i SU that and then concentrate on the rest.
$10,000 is alot....for how many people?Originally posted by fudgester:Well, that's the way it is.
Heck, one of the other groups got a $10000 budget for their project and don't have to do any fabrication at all. Meanwhile, my group gets just $1500 - and we have to fabricate the thing ourselves in the engin labs. The techs help us with welding, but otherwise we're on our own.
Gosh man... if my group had that kind of dosh we would have used titanium and commissioned an external machine shop to do all the fabrication and assembly for us.
urops where got so easy to publish paper one? unless i really find some thing really new.Originally posted by hisoka:first author for the paper thats published
doing some dumb research basically sleep whole day in office.Originally posted by alexkusu:hisk, wat ru workin as?
a petrochemicals company issit?
Seven people.Originally posted by alexkusu:$10,000 is alot....for how many people?
can go eat lobster and kobe beef edi
1st author ard lah but might be able to get a 2nd or something.Originally posted by starblue:urops where got so easy to publish paper one? unless i really find some thing really new.
but at least u got a job maOriginally posted by hisoka:doing some dumb research basically sleep whole day in office.
no lah not petrol chem. i wish man good money
so pitiful lehOriginally posted by fudgester:Seven people.
Obviously they are not given $10000 on the spot... just that they will be given the money as and when it is needed, up to a maximum of $10000.
My prof has allowed my group to overshoot our budget by up to $500 so long as we can justify the extra expenditure... but it's really not gonna be of much help.
pay is ok but not very good.Originally posted by alexkusu:but at least u got a job ma
thats like my kind off job...sit in office, once in a while go down the lab to do work
hows the pay like?
stagnant u mean?Originally posted by hisoka:pay is ok but not very good.
and the worse thign is it'll be tagnant
hello. how's life?Originally posted by CoolMyth:Hello.
Very busy.Originally posted by starblue:hello. how's life?
not in the near futureOriginally posted by alexkusu:stagnant u mean?
so no chance of rising up?
so how? stay 2 years to build up the workin experience n jump ship?Originally posted by hisoka:not in the near future
get my phd then say lorOriginally posted by alexkusu:so how? stay 2 years to build up the workin experience n jump ship?
phd...liddat most likely workin for uniOriginally posted by hisoka:get my phd then say lor
ahuh. not very good for conversation, that one..Originally posted by CoolMyth:Very busy.
Originally posted by starblue:ahuh. not very good for conversation, that one..
anyway, i'm very tired now... going to sleep le. this huge cockroach flew into my bedroom last night and i stayed up to check if it remained alive after i sprayed baygon. end up i didnt see any corpse, so i went to sleep in my bro's room. now i think i also still dun dare sleep in my room... haiz... worst night ever.