lolz... i also dunno wad to say le lah.... i am not born optimistic. i get very affected by people i truly care about (which is probably why i try to limit that number nowadays.Originally posted by rainee:hmm, you have to tell yourself that you are different from them la, it is not fair to let those effects follow you for life, because you are living your own life, not theirsYou decide who you wanna be, not they or their actions decide for you...
How sure you are that it will definitely end? What if you have put in a little bit more effort, it would have turned another way? At least if you have tried your best, you do not need to ask yourself the what if question?
hmmz so starblue needs a guy with strong organsOriginally posted by starblue:lolz... i also dunno wad to say le lah.... i am not born optimistic. i get very affected by people i truly care about (which is probably why i try to limit that number nowadays.). i can say that i will choose how i wanna live my life. but ultimately, i know deep down in my very being, i'll never be as..... (for want of an appropriate word) whole as another person who hasnt been through the same things as me....
it's a negative outlook, i admit. but sometimes somethings just cant be helped de lah....
haiz... dun say le... let nature take its course. wadever kinda guy decides to come into my life, he better have a strong heart, and a strong mind, or it will never work out.![]()
it will definitely be an experience lah... i've always believed that a teacher gets to see a whole lot of things non-teachers never see... it will really open your eyes to a lot of things, all kinds of people lah...Originally posted by rainee:yea...i have heard about that as well...
maybe i just want to get into it because of the training la, and the experience I will get...if really cannot tahan after 3 years I will call it quits and go sumwhere else to teach![]()
No worries....Originally posted by rainee:hmm...now you guys making me get cold feet![]()
eh... no leh... as a tuition teacher, i still give homework left right and center without even worrying.... cos i know that if they got a lot of school work, then my homework will be left untouched.Originally posted by hisoka:maybe you will enjoy it more cos then you can legimately give homework without worrying they are overburdened?
Yea I think that guy would need to be a very patient person so that he can convince you that life is really not that bleak.Originally posted by starblue:lolz... i also dunno wad to say le lah.... i am not born optimistic. i get very affected by people i truly care about (which is probably why i try to limit that number nowadays.). i can say that i will choose how i wanna live my life. but ultimately, i know deep down in my very being, i'll never be as..... (for want of an appropriate word) whole as another person who hasnt been through the same things as me....
it's a negative outlook, i admit. but sometimes somethings just cant be helped de lah....
haiz... dun say le... let nature take its course. wadever kinda guy decides to come into my life, he better have a strong heart, and a strong mind, or it will never work out.![]()
ok then you can expect to have your homework doneOriginally posted by starblue:eh... no leh... as a tuition teacher, i still give homework left right and center without even worrying.... cos i know that if they got a lot of school work, then my homework will be left untouched.![]()
If you have the passion for teaching, then you have my full blessing to be a teacher.Originally posted by rainee:hmm...now you guys making me get cold feet![]()
It is hard to choose...whether you want to be a friend to them or just a teacher...because from my experience so far, if you treat them like a friend, they will not have respect for you. But if you are just being a teacher and don't try to understand their feelings, they will grow to hate you.Originally posted by seow:No worries....
I've seen some teachers sync with their students like a friend, i've also seen how some obstinate teachers fight for control akin to riding on a raging bull, it all depends on how you do stuff.
And i know someone taking psle but still skipping school if she desires. xDOriginally posted by fudgester:If you have the passion for teaching, then you have my full blessing to be a teacher.
What I say is very true though... you have to bear in mind that kids these days are indeed a lot more havoc than our time. Perhaps for you it's not so bad, considering that you'll be teaching primary school kids, but even they are a lot more havoc than in the past.
Heck, I'm sure you've heard of the 9 year-old girl who got pregnant by her boyfriend.
They didn't say how old the boy was, but since they were schoolmates, he couldn't have been older than 12.![]()
he quit after how many years? he is bonded to the MOE rite?Originally posted by seow:Ah yup, i have a biking kaki who was a primary school teacher, quit.
as a teacher, you can either be a friend, or you can be a mentor (a figure the students look up to and model after). you cannot be both at the same time.Originally posted by seow:No worries....
I've seen some teachers sync with their students like a friend, i've also seen how some obstinate teachers fight for control akin to riding on a raging bull, it all depends on how you do stuff.
9 year old girl can get pregnant?Originally posted by fudgester:If you have the passion for teaching, then you have my full blessing to be a teacher.
What I say is very true though... you have to bear in mind that kids these days are indeed a lot more havoc than our time. Perhaps for you it's not so bad, considering that you'll be teaching primary school kids, but even they are a lot more havoc than in the past.
Heck, I'm sure you've heard of the 9 year-old girl who got pregnant by her boyfriend.
They didn't say how old the boy was, but since they were schoolmates, he couldn't have been older than 12.![]()
Originally posted by rainee:Yea I think that guy would need to be a very patient person so that he can convince you that life is really not that bleak.
Hope you will find this person soon![]()
Can one lah, I don't know why, but most of the teachers in my school can sync very well but still commands respect from the students, only one no good physics teacher.Originally posted by rainee:It is hard to choose...whether you want to be a friend to them or just a teacher...because from my experience so far, if you treat them like a friend, they will not have respect for you. But if you are just being a teacher and don't try to understand their feelings, they will grow to hate you.
One of the hardest things in the teaching profession: To find a balance between being a teacher and yet a friend at the same time.
yea lor, some of my students are quite close to me...but really hard to get them to do things. I usually try to be stern with them inside the classroom la, but after class I will try to care for them as a friend cos most of them are around my age group anywayOriginally posted by starblue:as a teacher, you can either be a friend, or you can be a mentor (a figure the students look up to and model after). you cannot be both at the same time.
believe me, i've tried.
if you're a "friend" teacher, you have to be prepared for all sorts of atrocities. you can be "popular" with the students, but you will not rank high among teachers. you will not command respect. you may even not be able to get things done.
if you're a "mentor" teacher, you might have to deal with superficial rs with your students. you may hear some students criticise you for your attitude. you may be the object of ridicule without ever knowing it.
Yeah... back when I was 9 years old, if you sat with a girl, you would be teased. End of story.Originally posted by rainee:9 year old girl can get pregnant?
Kids grow up much faster nowadays
last time i also dun trust my luck, but if I can find one, so can youOriginally posted by starblue:hard lah... guys these days ah.... i dun even wanna begin to describe them.
but ok lah.... there are lots of decent and nice guys out there. but i dun trust my sht luck to find those.![]()
while still bonded.Originally posted by rainee:he quit after how many years? he is bonded to the MOE rite?
yeah... the kids nowadays really got no jia1 jiao4 sometimes.... pri school kids more ok lah. especially the lower pri... i mean, how "fast" can they grow up? even by modern standards...Originally posted by fudgester:If you have the passion for teaching, then you have my full blessing to be a teacher.
yea lor...i tot the earliest a girl can get pregnant is when she is around 12, 11 the latest.Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah... back when I was 9 years old, if you sat with a girl, you would be teased. End of story.
Now we have 9 year olds having sex and getting pregnant.
Nice 'progress', huh?![]()
Its still more or the less the same, the sex scandal i think is a very rare incident....Originally posted by fudgester:Yeah... back when I was 9 years old, if you sat with a girl, you would be teased. End of story.
Now we have 9 year olds having sex and getting pregnant.
Nice 'progress', huh?![]()
wa how much money did he pay for compensation?Originally posted by seow:while still bonded.
SB, you make my school sound like a oasis in the most treacherous desert.![]()
Although every school will have its fair share of black sheep....
last time, i used some singlish when talking to my students, to you know, bring myself to their level to communicate better. then they even started to call me Ms Oei (cos i will Oei them sometimes lah)... this kinda thing is harmless at first lah, but when u seriously wanna teach them ah, these kinda things can be a big hindrance....Originally posted by rainee:yea lor, some of my students are quite close to me...but really hard to get them to do things. I usually try to be stern with them inside the classroom la, but after class I will try to care for them as a friend cos most of them are around my age group anyway![]()