yea, but younger kids very hard to control leh, they have lack of attention spanOriginally posted by starblue:yeah... the kids nowadays really got no jia1 jiao4 sometimes.... pri school kids more ok lah. especially the lower pri... i mean, how "fast" can they grow up? even by modern standards...
the younger the kids, the more they will "fear" adult supervision... so easier to handle.
PastOriginally posted by rainee:I think another thing is also cos parents have been shielding the kids too much. Everytime the kid complains about the teacher, the parents will go and scold the teacher. Never bother to find out who is really the one in wrong
haha yea, I got use some broken english when I am talking to them outside of class also...but inside class I try to minimize them..Originally posted by starblue:last time, i used some singlish when talking to my students, to you know, bring myself to their level to communicate better. then they even started to call me Ms Oei (cos i will Oei them sometimes lah)... this kinda thing is harmless at first lah, but when u seriously wanna teach them ah, these kinda things can be a big hindrance....
aiya, i'm just pointing out the more bleak things that i've heard and seen so that rainee jie can be more prepared mah... not that she needed it lah, since she prob got more experience than me by now...Originally posted by seow:while still bonded.
SB, you make my school sound like a oasis in the most treacherous desert.![]()
Although every school will have its fair share of black sheep....
hushie, but i think its 30k if i remember correctly.Originally posted by rainee:wa how much money did he pay for compensation?
Originally posted by starblue:aiya, i'm just pointing out the more bleak things that i've heard and seen so that rainee jie can be more prepared mah... not that she needed it lah, since she prob got more experience than me by now...
there still are perks for being a teacher lah... but it's those tough stuff that puts a huge neon "Beware" sign in front of my career path...
but ok wad.. the lessons also very short... shouldnt be too difficult... i got a pri 1 tuition kid i have to take for 1.5 hours... she's always very coorperative for the first 40 min or so de....Originally posted by rainee:yea, but younger kids very hard to control leh, they have lack of attention span![]()
yeah... to be a friend u must be able to joke with them also... but cos u have to joke then it makes u lose a bit of credibility sometimes lah... haiz... sibeh difficult sia...Originally posted by rainee:haha yea, I got use some broken english when I am talking to them outside of class also...but inside class I try to minimize them..
yup. absolutely.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's the secondary ones who are going to be the proverbial pain in the ass, neck, throat and everywhere in your head.
not me not me.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's the secondary ones who are going to be the proverbial pain in the ass, neck, throat and everywhere in your head.
as long as she does well, it doesn't matterOriginally posted by seow:And i know someone taking psle but still skipping school if she desires. xD
haha I think almost every job has its tough stuff la...just need to get accostumed to themOriginally posted by starblue:aiya, i'm just pointing out the more bleak things that i've heard and seen so that rainee jie can be more prepared mah... not that she needed it lah, since she prob got more experience than me by now...
there still are perks for being a teacher lah... but it's those tough stuff that puts a huge neon "Beware" sign in front of my career path...
Originally posted by fudgester:
[b]Past
Boy: Mummy.... my teacher spanked me!
Mom: What?!?! You were naughty in school, right!?! *takes out cane*
Now
Boy: Mummy... my teacher spanked me!
Mom: What?!?! Come... tomorrow I go complain to MOE!!!![/b]
Thats what i think also, but not many agree.Originally posted by hisoka:as long as she does well, it doesn't matter
thats why i say jcOriginally posted by starblue:yup. absolutely.
they are going to be such a pain in the head you would wanna chop it off just to stop the ache.![]()
works both ways, while most teachers i know are ok, some can be really anal. Only one actually.Originally posted by rainee:![]()
it is like parents questioning the authority and decision of teachers![]()
well its jsut opinion, no right or wrong. but if she failed then something should be doneOriginally posted by seow:Thats what i think also, but not many agree.
Then again, was told she failed the most important stuff. xD
yea...30 minutes lesson shud be alrite...here usually my lesson is for 3 hours...but for adults la, but still really a challenge to talk and talk for 3 hoursOriginally posted by starblue:but ok wad.. the lessons also very short... shouldnt be too difficult... i got a pri 1 tuition kid i have to take for 1.5 hours... she's always very coorperative for the first 40 min or so de....
also, for pri school, if u a bit stern nia they will quieten down de...
i know all jobs have their difficulties... but the main thing is whether or not the pay justifies the kinda sht you have to endure.... the previous pay scheme certainly did not appeal to my more pragmatic side. but with that increase, that neon light kinda fades a bit to the background.Originally posted by rainee:haha I think almost every job has its tough stuff la...just need to get accostumed to them
From the list I glanced through while I was at my interview yesterday, it seems like I was the only Malaysian that got called up for an interview
i said already also mah.. JC is not good for blood circulation.Originally posted by hisoka:thats why i say jc![]()
Yup.Originally posted by hisoka:thats why i say jc![]()
and i can say the same for the students...Originally posted by seow:works both ways, while most teachers i know are ok, some can be really anal. Only one actually.![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:well its jsut opinion, no right or wrong. but if she failed then something should be done![]()
haha sumtimes I dun even realize I am telling a joke...I can just say something out of the blue, with a straight face then the whole class burst laughingOriginally posted by starblue:yeah... to be a friend u must be able to joke with them also... but cos u have to joke then it makes u lose a bit of credibility sometimes lah... haiz... sibeh difficult sia...
more recent relief teaching, i dun speak in singlish anymore. instead, i be "excessively" proper to them, addressing them as "Mr Tan" and "that gentleman over there", as opposed to "hey, that shuai ge over there..."
the hilarity is still there, but it makes me appear a bit more strict and "no nonsense" lah... you can try that sometime...