I've not touched science..since Sec 4.. 8 years liao.Originally posted by starblue:they are only jargon to name their groups nia. very easy to remember de lah.![]()
i guess there is only one thing to say to that:Originally posted by fudgester:I took General Biology LSM 1301 last semester.
Open-book exam.
Guess what... I forgot to bring my lecture notes on that day.![]()
orh... haha... is it really more difficult for arts students to do science breadths than for science students to do arts breadths??Originally posted by LazerLordz:I've not touched science..since Sec 4.. 8 years liao.![]()
I initially panicked...Originally posted by starblue:i guess there is only one thing to say to that:
Originally posted by rainee:i m in a lazy mode now, totally no mood to grade my students' essays![]()
yes and no. depends on what arts breadth you want to do..Originally posted by starblue:orh... haha... is it really more difficult for arts students to do science breadths than for science students to do arts breadths??
Originally posted by fudgester:I initially panicked...
So I went to the computer lab to print out some of the notes.
But as it turns out, they weren't needed at all.... I used the textbook and my own super-detailed mindmaps to tackle the exam.![]()
yea i tried to give comments as well...but the students need to write argumentative essays for this particular exam, so it gets a bit boring to read after a whileOriginally posted by starblue:i love grading essays... i always try to make my students write. then i take my time to read through them and give comments... really quite entertaining, some of those works....
yup.... that's not bad also... employee management is a piece of cake... it's an SS but can also use as breadth for you all right?Originally posted by LazerLordz:yes and no. depends on what arts breadth you want to do..
or maybe I'll skip FOS and do my breadth in Business or SDE.![]()
soka.... wad is the topic??Originally posted by rainee:yea i tried to give comments as well...but the students need to write argumentative essays for this particular exam, so it gets a bit boring to read after a while![]()
I think so too.Originally posted by starblue:yup.... that's not bad also... employee management is a piece of cake... it's an SS but can also use as breadth for you all right?
I create my own mindmaps for virtually every module that I take. I find that it helps me process and absorb the information much better than through pure reading.Originally posted by starblue:![]()
yeah.... that's the way to go.
but for my open book exams... it's my handwritten notes that proved to be useless.in the end i always go flip the notes to find the definitions and stuff...
huh??? u took that module already???Originally posted by LazerLordz:I think so too.![]()
mindmaps is like how one???Originally posted by fudgester:I create my own mindmaps for virtually every module that I take. I find that it helps me process and absorb the information much better than through pure reading.
For open-book exams, I bring those mind-maps along. For closed-book exams with helpsheets, those mindmaps double up as my helpsheets.![]()
Lots of highlighting.Originally posted by starblue:mindmaps is like how one???
i will write my notes before every exam... then those will be for last-min-outside-the-exam-venue cramming de. to just remind myself very briefly wad are the impt points... very useful, those...
well it sounds alright what..Originally posted by starblue:huh??? u took that module already???
a variety of topics...like why it is good for students to work part time before continuing their studies in universities and whether you agree or disagree, the nature vs nurture debate, etc..Originally posted by starblue:soka.... wad is the topic??
Originally posted by fudgester:Lots of highlighting.
Lots of arrows from one topic to the many subtopics.
It's a bit of an art, really.![]()
huh??? means u took that employee management modules already or u considering taking it??Originally posted by LazerLordz:well it sounds alright what..
oic... i dun like such debative topics.... they can be boring.Originally posted by rainee:a variety of topics...like why it is good for students to work part time before continuing their studies in universities and whether you agree or disagree, the nature vs nurture debate, etc..
biodiversity module is all about memory space you have in your brain and how well you transcride itOriginally posted by starblue:biodiversity, LSM1103. it's a core module we LS people have to take. but even if u dun have much bio background also won make that much of diff de. cos i remember when i took it that time, everything was so new and interesting to me... previous biology background didnt say give much of a foundation for this module. although i'm not so sure now lah, since u will have newer batches of students coming in next sem...
it's about animals in different groups lah. u begin with the more "primitive' organisms like sponges and progress to vertebrates. u learn the basic body plans, the main features of organisms in their various classifications. (for instance, arthropods, molluscs, cephalopods, cordates, and so on). for labs, u get to see these specimens, look at those features that define their groups. liddat loh. it's open book exam.
for medicine one i not so sure.. i didnt take it... but it's a breadth i think, so shouldnt be too difficult.
Nope, I meant Employee Management sounds okay.Originally posted by starblue:huh??? means u took that employee management modules already or u considering taking it??
are the timetables and stuff for modules next sem out yet? i wanna check wad arts modules i can crash in the coming sem... since only got 2 modules to take next sem.![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:biodiversity module is all about memory space you have in your brain and how well you transcride it