you're a prof at NUS??Originally posted by oxford mushroom:I can give you a project to work on if you need one...interphase cytogenetics.
Originally posted by starblue:you're a prof at NUS??
interphase cytogenetics is under MCB, so i'm afraid it might not be allowed.
others most probably not doing much anyways.. so relax... *gives u a nice shoulder massage* chill... here.. have a nice strawberry milkshake.Originally posted by starblue:morning all...
sigh... my prof is overseas, got to wait till next monday for him to come back then we can sit down and discuss a new project... so now i think also no need to go lab liao.... man, i am so not working on the project. i wonder how others are doing.
is the project so hard?Originally posted by starblue:morning all...
sigh... my prof is overseas, got to wait till next monday for him to come back then we can sit down and discuss a new project... so now i think also no need to go lab liao.... man, i am so not working on the project. i wonder how others are doing.
since when are projects easy ?Originally posted by hisoka:is the project so hard?
oh there were at least a few i know where the phd student/post-doc did everythign for them and all they needed was to complete part of the report.Originally posted by BadzMaro:since when are projects easy ?![]()
well..it depends. With the lecturer and also those around that whether they will help or not ah.Originally posted by hisoka:oh there were at least a few i know where the phd student/post-doc did everythign for them and all they needed was to complete part of the report.
actually i think its mainly because the student doing part of the phd student's project. and they don't want you to screw it up for themOriginally posted by BadzMaro:well..it depends. With the lecturer and also those around that whether they will help or not ah.
actually, i suspect that cytogenetics to be just tedious on the technical side. got to probably do expression, staining, microscopy, hybridization and stuff... but the aims would be apparent.Originally posted by hisoka:![]()
dun do it anyway, its hard![]()
it's..... just going nowhere... a lot of problems are encountered when the major part of ur project requires u to spot 3 particular base pairs among the thousands in a gene, when those submitted sequences are never vetted by a common agent before.Originally posted by hisoka:is the project so hard?
good part about open aimed projects is you can do it in any direction you like or deem appropriate. anyway reemmber this is your honest year project, not your phd/master thesis. even if you get unsatisfactory findings, its okOriginally posted by starblue:actually, i suspect that cytogenetics to be just tedious on the technical side. got to probably do expression, staining, microscopy, hybridization and stuff... but the aims would be apparent.
my current project is like dun even have a clear aim. all i am doing is to find out if that sweeping statement in one guy's paper is really the case by confirming his results using my lab's store of primate dna.
-___-""
no, it is not ok to get no results....... there are people who changed their topics in decemeber or even january when things dun work out.. it is that serious de loh...Originally posted by hisoka:good part about open aimed projects is you can do it in any direction you like or deem appropriate. anyway reemmber this is your honest year project, not your phd/master thesis. even if you get unsatisfactory findings, its ok
yeah they do change topics, but in the end it doesn't matter. and from what i know, pple change cos what they doing is impossible as in the methods.Originally posted by starblue:no, it is not ok to get no results....... there are people who changed their topics in decemeber or even january when things dun work out.. it is that serious de loh...
but still....... aiya, i dunno lah...Originally posted by hisoka:yeah they do change topics, but in the end it doesn't matter. and from what i know, pple change cos what they doing is impossible as in the methods.
but if i don't remember wrongly, your grade is not judged on how successful your project turns out to be.
Originally posted by starblue:but still....... aiya, i dunno lah...
now i am equals to starting from scratch again loh... correction, waiting to start from scratch loh...![]()
that is no longer in the realm of research. for i have elucidated (and mastered) the mysteries of this sacred art.Originally posted by hisoka:![]()
you should find a prof interested in "investigation of the most efficient way to kick nuts"
then you can do a review paperOriginally posted by starblue:that is no longer in the realm of research. for i have elucidated (and mastered) the mysteries of this sacred art.![]()
Originally posted by starblue:that is no longer in the realm of research. for i have elucidated (and mastered) the mysteries of this sacred art.![]()
i rather keep the tricks of the trade secret. it wun do to let just let it spread. i probably will pass it down to my daughter, and to my daughter's daughter and so on.Originally posted by hisoka:then you can do a review paper![]()
U know if u pass down the art... n if this kind of method is benig employed , soon i may become resistant to it.. n my offsprings will slowly adapt and evolve , and become... IMMUNE...Originally posted by starblue:i rather keep the tricks of the trade secret. it wun do to let just let it spread. i probably will pass it down to my daughter, and to my daughter's daughter and so on.![]()