Originally posted by 798:what's happening?!?
from nutz to mushroom?
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=270609
she is referring to a forumite with the word mushroom in his name laOriginally posted by 798:what's happening?!?
from nutz to mushroom?
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=270609
1) why do we get pins and needles when we sleep in an inappropriate posture? what causes it? how does that change to total numbness (eg. cant even feel my arm)? how does the numbness get reversed when u let the blood flow there again?It is known as temporal paresthesia which is caused by pressure on a nerve or lack of blood flow to afflicted area. Once circulation is restored, sensation and control returns.
Looking for penile fracture? Old wives tale as yes, the fracture may lenghten it a bit but function will have serious health problems.Originally posted by NeverSayGoodBye:this one is about THE embarrassing part of the male anatomy.... i've heard that one can gradually increase ITS length by pulling on it a bit every day, much like trying to stretch a muscle. except that we all know that THAT isnt a muscle at all.... my question is: does pulling really help?
..... I am waiting for the answers for this question
i know this much. but.... i want more details as to the intricate underlying mechanisms at work here. why pins and needles. why is the pain in "pulses"? what is stimulating it? why doesnt the skin change colour if the blood circulation is blocked?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:It is known as temporal paresthesia which is caused by pressure on a nerve or lack of blood flow to afflicted area. Once circulation is restored, sensation and control returns.
i havent been pulling anyone's thing. i heard that juicy piece of "sex advice" from some website much like youtube thing.Originally posted by Pion:what's with question eight? whose muscle had you been pulling? perhaps you are taken in for a handjob.
Originally posted by starblue:8 ) this one is about THE embarrassing part of the male anatomy.... i've heard that one can gradually increase ITS length by pulling on it a bit every day, much like trying to stretch a muscle. except that we all know that THAT isnt a muscle at all.... my question is: does pulling really help?
gracias!!
Note that most biological neural functions are activated in "pulses" due to the way the central nervous system works. "Pins and needles" happens to be the most accurate description of the effect. And if you had bothered to read my posting carefully, pressure on a nerve point may also cause similar effects. If you don't believe, try knocking your funny bone on your elbow and note its effect.Originally posted by starblue:i know this much. but.... i want more details as to the intricate underlying mechanisms at work here. why pins and needles. why is the pain in "pulses"? what is stimulating it? why doesnt the skin change colour if the blood circulation is blocked?
A recent paper by Kimberly Jameson, Susan Highnote and Linda Wasserman of the University of California, San Diego, concerning females who may have tetrachromacy shows amazing results. Up to 50 per cent of women are tetrachromatic and can use their extra pigments in "contextually rich viewing circumstances". For example, when looking at a rainbow, tetrachromat females can segment it into, on average, 10 different colours, whereas their trichromat brothers and sisters can see only seven, much as Isaac Newton's red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet. Consequently, for those special tetrachromat women, this island that they inhabit may be seen in emerald, jade, verdant, olive, lime, bottle and 34 other shades of green. Apparently, men and women do see the world differently.http://www.abc.net.au/rn/science/ss/stories/s1202859.htm
1) Paraesthesia is "pain shooting up the leg"?? sometimes when i wake up in the morning, then go stand at the sink to brush up, i will experience this throbbing pain in the leg. i always reckon it's cos the muscles havent "wake up" yet, and the stiffness in my stance overexerts the mucles and nerves causing the pain. cos when i move my weight to the other leg, then the pain lessens and eventually disappears. when i move my weight back to the throbbing leg (before the pain stops completely), the throbbing increase back.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:1) why do we get pins and needles when we sleep in an inappropriate posture? what causes it? how does that change to total numbness (eg. cant even feel my arm)? how does the numbness get reversed when u let the blood flow there again?
Paraesthesia is the abnormal sensation you feel because the nerves have been stimulated. In clinical medicine, pins and needles or 'pain shooting up' the arm or legs may indicate a disease condition affecting the nerves. E.g. if you get a slipped disc that pinches on a nerve root taht supplies the leg, you get shooting pain down the leg. Some diabetic patients with peripheral neuropathy complain of pins and needles, possibly because it is the small sensory nerves that are primarily damaged in diabetes.
3) there is a recent new health product in the market, transdermal glucosamine. does that really work? can u actually get the glucosamine to be absorbed right down to your bones, much less for bone strengthening?
Really? Transdermal glucosmine? I do not know of the product and so I cannot really comment. But I would be very skeptical that an ionic compound can penetrate the lipid membranes of the keratinocytes, unless they have somehow conjugated the glucosamine to a lipid molecule. Even so, I have never been particularly convinced of the usefulness of such nutrient supplements. Ask the supplier for scientific publications and then we'll see.
thanks for the info... gives me some platform to do some research of my own. especially the one on the 5 visual channels in pigeons.Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Q4) Why does salt cause our food to taste much better, when if taken alone causes anyone to frown? is there a science as to how the "taste" of salt in registered in our tastebuds?
The major components of our common salt is Sodium Chloride. It has flavour enchancing property.
Not too sure about the latter questions.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodium_chloride
this doesnt tell much about how our taste buds interact with salt to produce the phenomenon i stated in my question.
Q5. Some people now use sweeteners instead of sugar for their coffees and tea. once, i added a few of those Equal "pills" into my tea. the first sip of the tea and i thought, oh sht, i might have added too much. but subsequent sips didnt taste all that sweet afterall. it was as if i hadnt even added any sweetener at all. wad is going on?
SA5)Ya. Equal is vvvvvvvery sweet.
My best guess.
First sip is too sweet and cause a neurosignal overflow. That's explain why subsequent sips doesn't taste as sweet as the first one.
this is wad i supposed also. but i am interested in how sweeteners interact differently with our sense of taste from sugar. if u put lots and lots of sugar in your tea, it will taste sweet ALL THE WAY. but with the sweetener, it seems to work in a different manner (involving desensitization somewhere? causing the sweetness to fade after prolonged or intense exposure).
Q6) when different people sneeze, they sound different. there's the very loud ones. there's the "hold nose and a small nasal snort comes out" kind. there are people who "abort" a sneeze only to utter "achoo" a sec later. how do we all sneeze differently?
Q7) what exactly are moles? (i dunno if i've asked this already, but i still dun quite understand). how do they begin? how do they disappear? why are some persistent.
SA7) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mole_(skin_marking)
the mole in the website seems to be the more "abnormal" looking ones... i am talking about those normal black dots on the skin. how do they form (from scratch). why do they remain that position and even that size and colour throughout your years (even though your layers of skin cells are constantly being slothed off by friction and replaced).
Throbbing pain in sync with heart beat...obviously vascular in origin. Quite different from nerve pain, often described as shooting pain or pins and needles. Nothing to worry about and probably related to posture. Incidentally, migraine is also vascular...the blood vessels constrict for soem reason and then dilate, causing the throbbing pain.Originally posted by starblue:1) Paraesthesia is "pain shooting up the leg"?? sometimes when i wake up in the morning, then go stand at the sink to brush up, i will experience this throbbing pain in the leg. i always reckon it's cos the muscles havent "wake up" yet, and the stiffness in my stance overexerts the mucles and nerves causing the pain. cos when i move my weight to the other leg, then the pain lessens and eventually disappears. when i move my weight back to the throbbing leg (before the pain stops completely), the throbbing increase back.
what is going on here? maybe some major blood vessels are being blocked (hence the pain throbbing in sync with my heart beat)??
2) the transdermal glucosamine product is i see the advertisement on one of the SBS buses. i was quite skeptical about it so i took a note of it to ask u mah...
you go and experiment lor. rember to use the venier calipers properlyOriginally posted by shinta:someone once told me hor... if a guy received many many bjs hor... his dick will become bigger
true anot ar?