which means only 2 more months to do the wet lab work. actually, 7 weeks lah...Originally posted by CoolMyth:Now less than 3 months to submission!![]()
yah lah... my sample size also includes consideration of representative value... i recently then realised that my samples belong to only a few families nia... liddat how to write a thesis about the entire topic sia...Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What do you know??? starblue is now badly tied down by time limits. You can't have the good sample size but you need to know a representive quantity lah.
while that may be true, i've never believed in a life of pure-acedemia...Originally posted by hisoka:you should have done more earlier![]()
why didn't you send his name in today?? thins kinda thing cannot wait one... it will lose the effect de...Originally posted by rainee:today was one of my worst days ever...the clerk made a mistake and sent me to the wrong classroom for relief...then sent me to one of the upper primary classes which has some really problematic kids. One of the students was pushing his classmates and I reprimanded him and he dared to shout at meSo I told him that he is so rude and would like him to behave better. And in return he scolded me with bad words
I am definitely going to send in his name to the discipline master on Monday![]()
kids these days are really degenerating into scum.Originally posted by rainee:today was one of my worst days ever...the clerk made a mistake and sent me to the wrong classroom for relief...then sent me to one of the upper primary classes which has some really problematic kids. One of the students was pushing his classmates and I reprimanded him and he dared to shout at meSo I told him that he is so rude and would like him to behave better. And in return he scolded me with bad words
I am definitely going to send in his name to the discipline master on Monday![]()
cos the class is almost over and it was almost time to go home when it happened...I have already notified the discipline teacher about it but he told me to remind him again on Monday so that he can personally go and bring him out for a talk...no time to do that today as they are already going back...Originally posted by starblue:why didn't you send his name in today?? thins kinda thing cannot wait one... it will lose the effect de...
also, he's only a primary school student. make him stand in one corner facing the wall for the entire lesson lah.
how come rainee jie is a relief teacher now? what exactly are u doing now?
I pulled him to one side to talk to him and made him say sorry.Originally posted by thehappybunny:kids these days are really degenerating into scum.
i must admit, if i were in your position and he shouted some vulgarity at me, i would be tempted to say "is that the best you can do?" or "try harder."
i would make a really bad teacher![]()
I wanted to personally drag him out to make him sit in a corner, but then I am not sure whether that is appropriate...Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Someone there may tell you it will not work.![]()
reminds me of what happened in sec2...Originally posted by rainee:I pulled him to one side to talk to him and made him say sorry.
I even told him I would call his parents.
And you know what he said?
"Do you dare to do that?"
It turns out that his father is one of the teachers in the school, just that I haven't found out which one yet![]()
Yea, actually better when the dad is a teacher, I can find him easily to talk to him abt his sonOriginally posted by thehappybunny:reminds me of what happened in sec2...
one of the guys was being noisy and the teacher couldnt take it, so he demanded that the student give him his house number as he wanted to speak to his parents.
the convo went like:
teacher: Is this (student's) house?
(student's) brother: WHAT THE F--K YOU WANT?
on a more serious note, it doesnt matter if his dad was fidel castro, if he was in the wrong there should be no hesitation to report the brat
Dunno la...seriously horrible lor...and they are like what? Eleven years old? I don't remember anyone in my class who was as horrible as this when I was that youngOriginally posted by starblue:this kid sounds even worse than the kids i had to deal with couple of years ago.... i didn't even think it was possible...
maybe something is inherently wrong with how our kids are being brought up.
ask the other classmates which teacher is that boy's dad when the boy is not in the vicinity (ask the "good" students).
the next time he misbehaves in the class, stare him down, make him know that you are no-nonsense and give him some form of punishment. if he refuses to comply, stride confidently out of the class and get the discipline master of the school into the classroom.
this kinda thing must collaborate with DM one... then next time others will not mess with you.
And that is why I stayed away from teaching.Originally posted by rainee:today was one of my worst days ever...the clerk made a mistake and sent me to the wrong classroom for relief...then sent me to one of the upper primary classes which has some really problematic kids. One of the students was pushing his classmates and I reprimanded him and he dared to shout at meSo I told him that he is so rude and would like him to behave better. And in return he scolded me with bad words
I think the kids are too spoilt liaoz...and they know teachers are limited in the punishments that they can dish out...Originally posted by CoolMyth:And that is why I stayed away from teaching.
And that is why they need to increase teachers' pay. Something must be seriously happening for them to do this.
these days, even when the student has gone too far and has to be caned publicly...Originally posted by rainee:I think the kids are too spoilt liaoz...and they know teachers are limited in the punishments that they can dish out...![]()
yea, that's why I said they are too protected liaoz...and as a result they are less scared of the teachers...they know we are reluctant to do something drastic to them...Originally posted by thehappybunny:these days, even when the student has gone too far and has to be caned publicly...
they stuff a book into his pants to protect his arse
then that defeats the purpose of the caning init?![]()
My time - just do it. Nobody cares if it's appropriate.Originally posted by rainee:I wanted to personally drag him out to make him sit in a corner, but then I am not sure whether that is appropriate...
Because it's so expensive to raise kids nowadays...parents treat their kids as little princes/princesses....cannot beat, cannot scold, cannot shout, cannot anything...Originally posted by rainee:I think the kids are too spoilt liaoz...and they know teachers are limited in the punishments that they can dish out...![]()
He dare you, you do it.Originally posted by rainee:I pulled him to one side to talk to him and made him say sorry.
I even told him I would call his parents.
And you know what he said?
"Do you dare to do that?"
It turns out that his father is one of the teachers in the school, just that I haven't found out which one yet![]()
Dun wan to try...I am not their form teacher anyway, don't want to risk my reputation over these kidsOriginally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:My time - just do it. Nobody cares if it's appropriate.
Your time - try the stunt, either the principal agrees or you are going there to lim kopi with the principal. I believe the latter has a higher possibility of happening.
Nowadays... it's not easy to teach... make worse with demanding parents and scared stiff educators.![]()
Nvm, I will just let the discipline master do the jobOriginally posted by CoolMyth:Because it's so expensive to raise kids nowadays...parents treat their kids as little princes/princesses....cannot beat, cannot scold, cannot shout, cannot anything...
And just something to take note of, if that kid's father is also a teacher there, better beware when you are telling him about what the son did. He may just go defensive and insist his son didn't do such a thing.
Remember, school's over. The kid may go home tonight and tell his father that he pwn you today. The father may already be prepared on how to reply back to you shall you go complain to him...
Just be careful, you just kanna by the son, you may just get the same treatment from the father.
Welcome to Singapore.![]()