you're looking for me?Originally posted by starblue:how is working life like? how did your transition from campus life to working go? what are the challanges? what do i need to look out for?
the other day i went for the public service networking thing.... and when i asked what the job scopes included in some of the careers... i get answers like... you'll need to review the company's policies, see what is lacking and devise new solutions. you'll be incharged of divisions under you, do customer services, maintain contact with the other collaborating companies, etc etc...
all these... just totally scares me lah. i... don't feel up to that kinda stuff yet. it's like..... like....
stepping outside the garden of eden.
/shivers
all like very the vague answers. but thanks for the imput anyhow.
except for cool. you're not helping at all. /arbish
haizz... i've submitted an application form to an organisation i wanna work at. but dun have any reply yet. i'm still keeping masters as an option, cos they're going to raise the stipends again. wee....
Originally posted by corebooster:me is frm secondary school to working life.
if at first u dun noe.
try to ask whether there is like standard procedures aka regulations n rules for your job. also ask for a written job scope.
as students, sometimes will want to read written thingy mah.
at least got written scope u easier to understand. den slowly slowly left how to do things thru the right way and the left way lor.
yah, i find it easier to have written job scope to look through. but not all of the jobs can afford to tell you exactly it is that they do without you applying for them first. i... dunno if i wanna apply, get a position then later tell them i rather do something else instead.
for the first week i totally can't get used to it as u see i had been slacking all the while and studying.. but after some time i get used to it and now totally not a prob at all.
personalyl i think it requires alot of skill? As in when u are tired or bored u need to think of smart way to eat snake and such.
i am doing transition.. from work back to campus.
Degraded... demoted... i am actually having mixed feelings n regrets n last minute thoughts of jumping ship.
But anyways , transition from campus to work.. is like a slap to the face basically. U know things ,do things u never thought about... or even think u are capable of doing and what others are as capable as doing at work and/or to you. lol
Basically what line u are in may also subject u to different kinds of shocking experiences. he he..
I dont even know where to begin...
Hmm working life is..... downright sianz.... lolx
Prefer schooling days~~ haiz
Challenges....
1) Getting accustomed to the environment and colleagues
2) Know what exactly your job scope is.... most of the time the work tend to be alot more than it's stated in the job scope
3) Getting accustomed to routine....
just another phase of life though
Originally posted by NekoRin:Hmm working life is..... downright sianz.... lolx
Challenges....
2) Know what exactly your job scope is.... most of the time the work tend to be alot more than it's stated in the job scope
it is the same thing just that you can't chabo half way....
Challenges....
Altho i am now doing my internship
i also miss studying...school is safe
if u make mistakes..u still can turn back and amend..whereas working is like u make a mistake..sometimes sorry is not enuff
school is study and play thats all..sigh..when u working..got office politics..have to watch ur back of peers and bear brunt of bosses when in bad mood
mei ar i think u really need to do some research first before you plunge into anything.
good that u have an organization in mind, but doing extactly what in that organization?
u need to be v sure about wat e job scope it, understand it and if u have friends in tat industry, ask! can look thru agencies, and pple who are exp in those agencies will be able to help u better in understanding e job scope.
u cant go for an interview w.o knowin what to expect from the job scope..u wont appear confident at all....
Originally posted by alfagal:mei ar i think u really need to do some research first before you plunge into anything.
good that u have an organization in mind, but doing extactly what in that organization?
u need to be v sure about wat e job scope it, understand it and if u have friends in tat industry, ask! can look thru agencies, and pple who are exp in those agencies will be able to help u better in understanding e job scope.
u cant go for an interview w.o knowin what to expect from the job scope..u wont appear confident at all....
Challenges....
environement and colleagues i still ok.. jus that some perm staff damn fuk one..
oh ya starblue is jus grad from JC right if i rmb correctly?
Originally posted by alfagal:mei ar i think u really need to do some research first before you plunge into anything.
i know the job scope quite well leh, they posted a PDF on it... and it seems like the kinda job that i can do well. challenging, but kinda.... fulfilling somehow. that was why i submitted the application in the first place.
Originally posted by FBI:
oh ya starblue is jus grad from JC right if i rmb correctly?
blink blink. i'm graduating from NUS.
I know that I spent the day before my interview researching about all there is about the position I'm applying for.
And I got the job....so far quite happy with it. Though it doesn't relate to my studies.