Originally posted by FireIce:one here one there. settled.
Where to find the money? :(
Seriously rainee I think this is a happy occassion for both of you
And there is no way you can make everyone happy
They can think what they like of you and no matter what you do people will still talk
Ultimately is it worthwhile putting yourself in debt to make everyone happy?
Originally posted by elindra:Seriously rainee I think this is a happy occassion for both of you
And there is no way you can make everyone happy
They can think what they like of you and no matter what you do people will still talk
Ultimately is it worthwhile putting yourself in debt to make everyone happy?
Yes, that's what I thought about as well.
My relatives never really invited my family to any of my cousins' weddings since we moved to the southern part. So now I am wondering why I need to invite them and get myself into debt while doing so.
And yes, this whole thing is making me feeling unhappy and make me think of myself as being selfish and inconsiderate. I don't know when I am really that or if I am just being realistic.
money can get back in ang paos
even canot earn oso wun lose a lot lah
getting married is like tt loh.... $$$$$$$
over in KL maybe 2 tables enough lah
invite those relli close ones or those tt still bother about u one
the rest, if u no like them, heck care.
Originally posted by rainee:Yes, that's what I thought about as well.
My relatives never really invited my family to any of my cousins' weddings since we moved to the southern part. So now I am wondering why I need to invite them and get myself into debt while doing so.
And yes, this whole thing is making me feeling unhappy and make me think of myself as being selfish and inconsiderate. I don't know when I am really that or if I am just being realistic.
I tell you when it comes to weddings, there will be a point in time where you have to put your foot down if not the demands get even more ridiculas
You're not being selfish and inconsiderate. In fact, they are the ones being selfish and inconsiderate shoving their expectations down your throat plus they need to understand that you guys just started work not long and it is stupid to get into debt just so that they can be happy.
No matter what you do, just be happy together, ignore stupid comments coz no matter what you do there will be unhappy people, and don't get into a debt for them.
Originally posted by FireIce:money can get back in ang paos
even canot earn oso wun lose a lot lah
getting married is like tt loh.... $$$$$$$
over in KL maybe 2 tables enough lah
invite those relli close ones or those tt still bother about u one
the rest, if u no like them, heck care.
So if it is just 2 tables, then I don't need to parade down in my gown right?
So it will just be like a casual gathering to announce that I am married?
Originally posted by rainee:So if it is just 2 tables, then I don't need to parade down in my gown right?
So it will just be like a casual gathering to announce that I am married?
u can still wear a nice dress (or use the same dress u wear in SG) for the dinner.
yah, it would be like a small informal wedding dinner.
can choose a decent restaurant private room.
depending on who u inviting, i think 2-3 tables should be good lah
cosy and nice
no point having 10 tables when half of them u don't know or will neber meet again in future.
this would be more cost-effective than transporting everyone down to SG
and at the same time, can still show your respect and have their blessings
I tell you when it comes to weddings, there will be a point in time where you have to put your foot down if not the demands get even more ridiculasYou're not being selfish and inconsiderate. In fact, they are the ones being selfish and inconsiderate shoving their expectations down your throat plus they need to understand that you guys just started work not long and it is stupid to get into debt just so that they can be happy.
No matter what you do, just be happy together, ignore stupid comments coz no matter what you do there will be unhappy people, and don't get into a debt for them.
Tonight have to call and ask my parents to see what they say about this.
Hopefully they won't pressure me into doing the whole grand thing. I think just have to be honest with them that we don't have much money right now.
yes, communication with parents is very impt
but u have to let them know what u want and what u can afford
the last wedding banquet i attended was my gf's best friend's banquet at new park hotel..Hai xiang restaurant banuqet..around $600 for 8 course
Originally posted by FireIce:u can still wear a nice dress (or use the same dress u wear in SG) for the dinner.
yah, it would be like a small informal wedding dinner.
can choose a decent restaurant private room.
depending on who u inviting, i think 2-3 tables should be good lah
cosy and nice
no point having 10 tables when half of them u don't know or will neber meet again in future.
this would be more cost-effective than transporting everyone down to SG
and at the same time, can still show your respect and have their blessings
Yea, I think maybe will just settle for around 5 tables. Should be more than enough. Doubt all will turn up anyway. Need to start looking for a good restaurant in KL to host this le.
plan out the guest list first then see how
the KL one will be after the SG one?
then hopefully the ang pao $ from the SG banquet have some surplus to cover the KL one
Originally posted by FireIce:plan out the guest list first then see how
the KL one will be after the SG one?
then hopefully the ang pao $ from the SG banquet have some surplus to cover the KL one
Yea most prolly will be after the SG one...
For your situation, better to hold a dinner in KL and one in Sg. Since your pax is in-between (not big not small), use restaurants for both venues.
I think this is the most cost effective method, rather than shipping your Malaysian relatives over for one night's dinner.
You do not want to hold a dinner for Malaysian relatives in Sg because the travel arrangements, logistics, accomodation, leisure program and hosting etc. work that you will be obliged to do will kill you! Even worse if you have a large party. So just hold it over there where things are still cheaper than in Sg.
Not to mention if your parents are the controlling sort (and i recall they are), they will make lots of funny requests. If I were you, I'd just compromise on a budget, let them arrange the KL dinner themselves, and just show up on that day.
Over in KL you only need a gown (or two) and MUA then turn up at the restaurant.
To save some money on outfits, at the studio, have a good idea what the overall plan will be before you negotiate a package. They can rent you the same gown(s) for Sg and KL use, engage MUA for both dinners, etc. Keep in mind these additions when bargaining.
To save even more, go the DIY route - friends who are good at makeup can help with it during one of the dinners. DIY your own corsages, ang pow box, floral arrangements for bridal car, even hand bouquets if you are crafty enough. Save on videographer if a friend has a camcorder.
As for ang pow being enough to cover dinner cost, it simply boils down to how wealthy your guests and relatives are, vs how extravagant your dinner is. If you have many rich friends and relatives, there is good chance of breaking even. That's reality for you!
Even though it is supposed to be YOUR day, let's face it, marriage is also about family, and you have to accomodate others not only your wishes. Give and take on some matters so that both your new beginnings in a new family is a happy one - this is small price to pay now for a smooth, long journey.
Originally posted by hisoka:maybe can try one formal one then one informal dinner at the other country?
that way the informal expenses shouldn’t be that high?
Yea, maybe just have around 5 tables and be done with it. Everything should cost less than $3k.
Originally posted by choco B:For your situation, better to hold a dinner in KL and one in Sg. Since your pax is in-between (not big not small), use restaurants for both venues.
I think this is the most cost effective method, rather than shipping your Malaysian relatives over for one night's dinner.
You do not want to hold a dinner for Malaysian relatives in Sg because the travel arrangements, logistics, accomodation, leisure program and hosting etc. work that you will be obliged to do will kill you! Even worse if you have a large party. So just hold it over there where things are still cheaper than in Sg.
Not to mention if your parents are the controlling sort (and i recall they are), they will make lots of funny requests. If I were you, I'd just compromise on a budget, let them arrange the KL dinner themselves, and just show up on that day.
Over in KL you only need a gown (or two) and MUA then turn up at the restaurant.
To save some money on outfits, at the studio, have a good idea what the overall plan will be before you negotiate a package. They can rent you the same gown(s) for Sg and KL use, engage MUA for both dinners, etc. Keep in mind these additions when bargaining.
To save even more, go the DIY route - friends who are good at makeup can help with it during one of the dinners. DIY your own corsages, ang pow box, floral arrangements for bridal car, even hand bouquets if you are crafty enough. Save on videographer if a friend has a camcorder.
As for ang pow being enough to cover dinner cost, it simply boils down to how wealthy your guests and relatives are, vs how extravagant your dinner is. If you have many rich friends and relatives, there is good chance of breaking even. That's reality for you!
Even though it is supposed to be YOUR day, let's face it, marriage is also about family, and you have to accomodate others not only your wishes. Give and take on some matters so that both your new beginnings in a new family is a happy one - this is small price to pay now for a smooth, long journey.
Thanks so much for the detailed advice.
Yes, my parents are the picky sort. You don't really know what they are thinking actually. It is like, they might say ok to something then kick up a fuss later when everything has been planned. I will talk to them tonight and see what I can come up with.
Dinner probably won't be extravagant...if can settle everything around 20k then I happy liaoz...I will see if the bridal boutique can lend me the gowns for a longer duration of time so that I can use it for both events. But dunno whether the MUA wants to travel all the way down to KL or not...
Ultimately, marriage is between 2 people only.
Why need to involve more?
Originally posted by rainee:But dunno whether the MUA wants to travel all the way down to KL or not...
U may have to pay for the transportation for the MUA to travel there
but then, i think hire one there shd be more economical.
Originally posted by charlize:Ultimately, marriage is between 2 people only.
Why need to involve more?
Because if don't then parents will nag like, forever?
Originally posted by rainee:Because if don't then parents will nag like, forever?
You need to learn to tune off the nagging.
Learn the skill.
Originally posted by charlize:
You need to learn to tune off the nagging.
Learn the skill.
I'm still learning lor...
Anyway still early la...maybe I will start the hunting starting from end of this year...at least now I have some idea of what I want le...
Thanks guys...:)
next year is a hot year, especially sep.
start NOW!
or else many places will be booked already
actually, many places oredi been booked.
Originally posted by FireIce:next year is a hot year, especially sep.
start NOW!
or else many places will be booked alreadyactually, many places oredi been booked.
Yes...I actually wanted the date 20 Sept, but all fully booked le. Dun even need to dream of getting married on that date now T_T
If can't get in Sept, then maybe have to push forward to October le...
Kinda hard to plan now cos finance a bit tight...cos once we plan definitely need to start to book the places...
tts why need to start right about now
go around to ask for the rates, compare, see which one suitable, which one u like.....
so tt u know where ur finances stand
enough or not, need to save more or not, or how the money can be better spent