The 1st number's the width of the tire in mm. So in the 185/70R14 example,Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:hi guys. can anyone tell me what the numbers found on tyres mean?
185/70 R14
165/65 R13
175/65 R14
185/65 R14
185/60 R14
195/50 R15
so many numbers and i dun understand what they mean.
and also, a change of tyres from 15 inch to 17 inch surely causes fc to increase? i mean if you change to bigger tyres, fc will definitely increase?
Yes, you can get a different spec for the sidewall, provided that your wheelwell can accomodate the changes.Originally posted by slacker001:So if we want to change tires can we get those with different specifications ie different height of side wall? Assuming we dont change wheel just tires.
How will different sizes affect performance and FC?
CorrectOriginally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:hmmm thanks. but hor wad is side wall? the radius of the tyre minus the radius of the lobang, ie the place where u put the rims?
the numbers are like that right?Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:hi guys. can anyone tell me what the numbers found on tyres mean?
185/70 R14
165/65 R13
175/65 R14
185/65 R14
185/60 R14
195/50 R15
so many numbers and i dun understand what they mean.
and also, a change of tyres from 15 inch to 17 inch surely causes fc to increase? i mean if you change to bigger tyres, fc will definitely increase?
assuming u can keep the overall wheelsize and overall weight the same, no it will not cause FC to increase. FC only increases when your overall wheelsize increases or when yr overall wheel weight increases or both. If u get larger rims with tyres with a narrower sidewall, and u keep it the overall wheel size n weight the same, then it won't increase FC.Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:and also, a change of tyres from 15 inch to 17 inch surely causes fc to increase? i mean if you change to bigger tyres, fc will definitely increase?
The pricing you described, if it's $250 a piece for a brand new 17 Inch, I don't think it is forged rims. I don't think you can get it for $500 a piece even, not brand new 17 inch for a good brand. but maybe your lobang very good.Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:new sports rims roughly 1-2K right for a set of 4? forged rims is wad? i mean wads the diff? and hw much are they?
Bro, methinks the lightness of your so-called forged rims depends solely on the type of metal used. Alloy is almost always lighter and tougher than your regular carbon steel.Originally posted by Joe_Legal:The pricing you described, if it's $250 a piece for a brand new 17 Inch, I don't think it is forged rims. I don't think you can get it for $500 a piece even, not brand new 17 inch for a good brand. but maybe your lobang very good.
if so let me know ok?I also can consider then getting
Forged rims are made differently from regulat cast rims. They are made by pressing a solid billet of aluminum under an extreme amount of pressure. This creates a finished product that is very dense, very strong, and yet very light.
But also sibeh expensive
eh... Don't mind I clarify. There may be different casting and alloy used to achieve results. But talking about forged rims, by definition, involves the process described, not simply just alloy usedOriginally posted by mushigen:Bro, methinks the lightness of your so-called forged rims depends solely on the type of metal used. Alloy is almost always lighter and tougher than your regular carbon steel.
I'd think some of the complicated rims could be made by casting too, not just by forging. The difference is just the steel used (alloy vs regular carbon steel).
Thanks, may upgrade my rims eventually, and get forged ones if can afford.Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:haha ok ok got lobang will contact u ahaha.
Bro, i think U may be mistaken. The BB section you mentioned is the sidewall width, correct, but not in mm. The numbers are the aspect ratio. Like for 205/45, the sidewall width of 45% of 205mm, not 45mm.Originally posted by HENG@:the numbers are like that right?
AAA/BB/ R CC
well AAA means the width of the tyre when u look at it at 90 degrees to the tyre threads, in mm
BB is the width of the tyre sidewalls, in mm
RCC is the rim size in inches