Originally posted by imprezaWRXSTi22B:
maintenence is exactly the prohibitive reason for owning a COE car. kanna ram b4 and u will still dare to buy when u dunno the owner? are you serious? dun tell me do till so sui, he nv ram the car b4. summore civics are extremely ram-able, esp the older ones like the esi, eg6 and ek9. got vtec power.
the engine was built to be rammed to 8200 rpm.. and with forged internals, even higher. But ppl dun ram whole day on streets. Some ppl mod liao juz for mid range power, and dun even ram past 7-8k.
a lot of bad condition COE cars (not juz civics), and a lot of good condition ones too. My relative's old Sunny now running into 16th year, low maintenance, still using same engine, nvr overhaul b4. Air con system original oso and gbox too.
new car no guarantee good condition. Got 'friday' cars and lemons out there. Even wif warranty, they fix and fix but the thing dun completely go away yet they'll NEVER give u a totally new car to replace. Come out in news so many times.
Also, I've seen Mazda 6s and 3s being rammed like mad when juz collected from port. Those idiots are racing in it with the blue makeshift number plates still on the car!
So COE cars cannot be TOTALLY ruled out. Mebe generally yes, it is of coz old. But most wear happen to engine, aircon, shafts etc.. and these are sometimes totally overhauled. In fact a super modded car mite have even stronger parts than in original conditions, rite down to the studs and rivets.