i noe not much abt AE86...but i can recognise it on the road...Originally posted by jiayong:young? other than me, the youngest Trueno driver i know is like near 30 liao lorr..
haha...maybe Levins ba....most levin owners i know are younger.
Car has no definite price on it. Other than its COE value, its pretty much whatever the owner wishes to sell it for.
I know of one Trueno driver that is looking for buyer. Price is $48K(non neg) for slightly more than 9 yr COE.
All the ae86s u see on the road is all that is left in Sg as u are not able to import them according to LTA guidelines. I heard a rumour that says there are about only 7 Truenos left in Sg...out of these 7, 5 have 10yr COE contracts so these cars can be still be used. I am not sure about the others. If any of them is on a 5 yr COE contract...then the car MUST be scrapped upon expiry of COE.
Is this enuff info? I am happy to answer any questions that you might have.
Oh...one more thing...i am sure after the movie releases, there will be even more pple looking for the car. So price will definitely go up.
But then again...to some of us...it is not a matter of money...some of us die also wont sell car..haha..![]()
It is not a very powerful car. From the twincams comes a 130bhp rating. give and take for the number of yrs plus the amount of maintenance and mods.Originally posted by D16Z6:i noe not much abt AE86...but i can recognise it on the road...
but i would like to noe wats the engine specs for 86???
is it a very powerful car???
hmmm i guess its a 1.6l twincam car ???
jus curious cos the cartoon show til its a very good car to drift...
pls share...thanx...![]()
ok...noted...gained some knowledge....Originally posted by jiayong:It is not a very powerful car. From the twincams comes a 130bhp rating. give and take for the number of yrs plus the amount of maintenance and mods.
However, in its time it was a very good car. Twincams EFI engine that comes with LSD and its RWD. most cars in that era are still running on carb engines and LSD was something very rare.
The car is very balanced in a sense that when u view the car as a whole...the driver is actually positioned in the middle of the chasis...the engine is front mounted and the weight of the back seats and spare tire is used to balance out the whole car.
The balanced part with the moderate amount of power combined with it being a RWD car makes it easy to lose control thus if in the hands of skilled drivers...they can easily pull off a nice drift and control it well in this car.
Some articles said that as it is not overly powered, the drivers are able to full throttle when going around corners without fear that the car will spin out...of cos all these has to be combined with good steering work.
Believe me..the steering work part is a big headache. I am by NO means good with the car. I went for an advanced course recently....and they were teaching us how to recover should our car accidentally drift....but try as i might..i just cannot recover from a full slide out....i usually end up doing circles..haha..![]()
Hmm...no offence meant...but seriously mann...power wise, anyone can just pedal to the metal. I was hoping this car can refine my driving skills as i have read alot about it in overseas forums before deciding to get it. Pple are saying that if you can drive the AE86 well...then most prob u can handle any other type of car. I dunno how true it is but i would like to believe so as i personally find this car very very hard to drive.Originally posted by ceecookie:i dun think the AE86 is good leh, why dont u buy the Celica SS3? 240hp leh.......
in fact if u win TOTO 10 million, it makes it all the more possible not only to keep your 86, but to restore every last bit in it to a very beautiful condition as well.Originally posted by jiayong:Hmm...no offence meant...but seriously mann...power wise, anyone can just pedal to the metal. I was hoping this car can refine my driving skills as i have read alot about it in overseas forums before deciding to get it. Pple are saying that if you can drive the AE86 well...then most prob u can handle any other type of car. I dunno how true it is but i would like to believe so as i personally find this car very very hard to drive.
But i guess another reason is that i have no money. But then again..that will not be a valid excuse cos even if i win New Year TOTO 10 million, i wouldnt change car also...may just buy a saloon to fetch my parents around...but the Hachi Roku will remain tightly bonded to my soul...haha![]()
yah...do an upgrade on its pop-up headlight to the one like the Diablo...Originally posted by HENG@:in fact if u win TOTO 10 million, it makes it all the more possible not only to keep your 86, but to restore every last bit in it to a very beautiful condition as well.
Originally posted by sv3n:sorry ar..can post some pics of the cars u guy talking abt?i seeing stars..![]()

Yours are already very nice liao lah.... very suitable for your car.Originally posted by jiayong:nice..wish i had money for those rims....
till then...just gotto do with my SSR rims...
oooooo.... *droooool*Originally posted by cleong:The basic AE86 shape was at least marketed beyond Japan domestic markets - the US and Australia are two big markets that got that car. Do a search on the drifting scene in these two countries and you'll see the number of AE86-base cars popping up.
Australian-spec '86s came with a cheap 4AC engine and is known as the Corolla Sprinter. There's the minute bodywork differences especially in the tail lights that define it from Japanese '86s. In any case, they are fairly cheap in pure financial terms, coming in at $1-2000 for stock ones, but relatively expensive for their vintage. They're pretty common for engine swap jobs, there is a huge front cut business here, and Jap-spec 4AGs are always being thrown into the engine bay. Well restored examples in pristine condition can fetch above $15k, especially if its chock-full of good JDM parts.
But the nuttiest swap I've seen so far is a Nissan SR20DET living in the engine bay of a drift '86 Levin here. Probably a little too power for the chassis and driver, though. But a beautifully done conversion and almost looks stock.