Plus it is also illegal, unless your car can be found imported with a turbo too. Like YRV turbo. Still, special premission needs to be granted. Might want to read up at LTA website.Originally posted by devmeister:not to mention the voided warrenty. i would only do after AFTER my warrenty is up.
just my 2 cents.
the gearbox may not be adapted to the immense power increase... the clutch maybe be screwed or smth like tt may happen...Originally posted by wbucket:Plus it is also illegal, unless your car can be found imported with a turbo too. Like YRV turbo. Still, special premission needs to be granted. Might want to read up at LTA website.
Anyway, from my understanding, Turbo is basically adding a fan at the air intake and another one at the exhast. So it shouldn't matter if the gearbox is auto or not.
Correct me if I am wrong.
so if u dun get the rite parts, u will blow ur engine and transmission lor..... tsk tsk, lpplOriginally posted by ed2004:No it will not blow your engine or trans. The difficult part is getting the right part for your engine. Balancing with turbo, BOV, Fuel Pump, cooling etc
if done correctly, the engine is capable of a 50% power hike. auto trans are normally "comfort" tuned and not capable of transmitting that huge amount of power through its standard torque convertor. in this case, something's gotta give and the weakest link is often the tranmission.Originally posted by wbucket:Plus it is also illegal, unless your car can be found imported with a turbo too. Like YRV turbo. Still, special premission needs to be granted. Might want to read up at LTA website.
Anyway, from my understanding, Turbo is basically adding a fan at the air intake and another one at the exhast. So it shouldn't matter if the gearbox is auto or not.
Correct me if I am wrong.
what type of cars are u toking abt?? ... and the size of the turbo?? or maybe the bar boost??Originally posted by edi_77777:has any1 reali done tt b4??![]()
I see. Meaning the gearbox have to be changed too, to one that is designed for engine of that house-power. So it is easier for manual, am I right?Originally posted by tailslide:if done correctly, the engine is capable of a 50% power hike. auto trans are normally "comfort" tuned and not capable of transmitting that huge amount of power through its standard torque convertor. in this case, something's gotta give and the weakest link is often the tranmission.
manual gear cogs are generally more sturdy and can handle a reasonable increase in hps. but there is a threshold for everything. if i m not wrong, even skyline GTR gearboxes can only "tahan" up to 500 hps. beyond that (and we all know that 26rbdett is capable of producing 1000 plus hps) the whole gearbox gotta upgrade.Originally posted by wbucket:I see. Meaning the gearbox have to be changed too, to one that is designed for engine of that house-power. So it is easier for manual, am I right?
Originally posted by tailslide:manual gear cogs are generally more sturdy and can handle a reasonable increase in hps. but there is a threshold for everything. if i m not wrong, even skyline GTR gearboxes can only "tahan" up to 500 hps. beyond that (and we all know that 26rbdett is capable of producing 1000 plus hps) the whole gearbox gotta upgrade.
in any case, when u upgrade the power significantly, u shouldn't overlook alot of other factors like braking, handling, traction....... otherwise, the car will crash faster than u can speed up![]()
light pressure turbo?? hw u go abt it??Originally posted by D16Z6:shd be able to do a light pressure turbo boost....
like volvo,Saab...etc....![]()
ATR. auto also.Originally posted by edi_77777:wow dunno add turbo got som many things n factors... mind as well get a car wif turbo in it oredi....![]()
install one with low boost. usually means its a small one.Originally posted by edi_77777:light pressure turbo?? hw u go abt it??
might as well don't install in the first pl..... after the installation the FC will increase quite a bit.....Originally posted by HENG@:install one with low boost. usually means its a small one.
some ppl juz wan a turbocharged car wad...Originally posted by Praetorian111:might as well don't install in the first pl..... after the installation the FC will increase quite a bit.....
Dream is always that far from realityOriginally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:some ppl juz wan a turbocharged car wad...
yah lah. year end always mad rushOriginally posted by HENG@:
hey u finally can come online orh? busy recently ah?![]()
subjective to factors like size of turbo, its correlatory impact on the engine, the fuel delivery...... yada yada yada. if u install a small turbo, likelihood is that u wun gain much power, but ur low end improves as the smaller turbo produces less lag. install a big one, and the converse might be true. in any case, the tranny should still be able to handle a small increase of say 10% - 20%. but wats the point den? kena caught still the same thing. worse, ur engine blow up or kena "burn" by NA cars, become luffing stockOriginally posted by KLZW:wont really go up so much lar.. cos low end torque improves.. reducing the work tht the engine needs to do in lugging the car ard..