From what I know and what I saw happened to other speed demons the camera will only flashed after u passed it which kinda makes more sense and kinda fairer to the potential victim also. Most probably the flash u saw is when it catches a joker speeding in the opposite direction... Cameras monitor traffic both ways. But then again you really si bei heng, at that "si gan" at that "soh zai" u kana a flash from it... Probability of "kana-ing" such kind of scenario is quite low already and yet you struck it! Did you tio tonite's bey piao also? (Jus kidding lah; Hoped to cheer up another City owner. Guess you been quite restless and uneasy thinking abt it the whole day. Relex relex. Ai zai ai zai; if u r damn sure u are travelling only at 80 then u will be alrite...)Originally posted by wuming78:theres a speed camera near bukit timah area (quite near to the only right exit along that stretch of PIE). i have always been rather careful with it, and in any case i seldom drive more than 10 kmh beyond speed limit. anyway the traffic condition in the morning usually does not allow anything more. the limit for that stretch of road is 80 kmh.
this morning (6 something), was driving along PIE. i was driving along that stretch again. and when i was approaching the camera, guess what, the camera light flashed! i was shocked and immediately looked at my speedometer - it read 80 kmh! i was like - what?! well, even if i could be driving more than 80 kmh just before approaching the camera, i cant be more than 10 kmh beyond the speed limit if my speed could be 80 immediately after i got flashed! and i didnt brake at all!
anyway, just to confirm - the speed camera takes a picture BEFORE or AFTER the speeding vehicle passes it? (so it takes the front or the rear of the speeding vehicle?)
and speed cameras are SO unforgiving?!?!
and if i really get a summon, how much fine and how many demerit points am i looking at? and how, if possible, should i appeal?
sigh...![]()
i was certainly quite vexed immediately after i got flashed. but well, life has to go on rite? but if i REALLI kanna flashed how and it is possible to appeal? you know, it's like my word against their camera.Originally posted by SeeTees:From what I know and what I saw happened to other speed demons the camera will only flashed after u passed it which kinda makes more sense and kinda fairer to the potential victim also. Most probably the flash u saw is when it catches a joker speeding in the opposite direction... Cameras monitor traffic both ways. But then again you really si bei heng, at that "si gan" at that "soh zai" u kana a flash from it... Probability of "kana-ing" such kind of scenario is quite low already and yet you struck it! Did you tio tonite's bey piao also? (Jus kidding lah; Hoped to cheer up another City owner. Guess you been quite restless and uneasy thinking abt it the whole day. Relex relex. Ai zai ai zai; if u r damn sure u are travelling only at 80 then u will be alrite...)![]()
i wont say im worrying anymore. i just want to find out how speed cameras work, and what kind of penalties i may incur, and whether i have a chance in appealing. well. if i really kanna i dont think i will just accept the penalty without a fight!Originally posted by Parka:Why worry about things you can't change?
Unlike the ruthless red light cameras these speed cameras are more magnanimous. Depending on wat speed they "filmed" you... then demerit points and fine increase proportionally to the difference between the setpoint speed and your "kana" speed. I can hardly imagine that you really went beyond 50km/hr above the limit so u shld not be penalized too harsh. Unless their cameras kong cheng and film u at 130 instead i think a lot of pple will die with you today... That seems hardly the case huh? Just cooled down a bit...Originally posted by wuming78:wats the fine and demerit points for speeding also? that is really the worst case i am preparing myself for...![]()
from what i know, usually it takes after u've passed, due to the need to detect your speed with 2 laser beams and also due to the fact that if u get flashed n blinded and have an accident, u can actually sue them.Originally posted by wuming78:theres a speed camera near bukit timah area (quite near to the only right exit along that stretch of PIE). i have always been rather careful with it, and in any case i seldom drive more than 10 kmh beyond speed limit. anyway the traffic condition in the morning usually does not allow anything more. the limit for that stretch of road is 80 kmh.
this morning (6 something), was driving along PIE. i was driving along that stretch again. and when i was approaching the camera, guess what, the camera light flashed! i was shocked and immediately looked at my speedometer - it read 80 kmh! i was like - what?! well, even if i could be driving more than 80 kmh just before approaching the camera, i cant be more than 10 kmh beyond the speed limit if my speed could be 80 immediately after i got flashed! and i didnt brake at all!
anyway, just to confirm - the speed camera takes a picture BEFORE or AFTER the speeding vehicle passes it? (so it takes the front or the rear of the speeding vehicle?)
and speed cameras are SO unforgiving?!?!
and if i really get a summon, how much fine and how many demerit points am i looking at? and how, if possible, should i appeal?
sigh...![]()
so... its you!!!!!Originally posted by Danisdead101times:eh...i think i saw the camera flashing too~ isit around 6+ to 7 in the evening?
hmm..anyway...just don't worry too much,cuz you might not be the one whom being captured by the camera...
hah...so sorry ok at that time when i saw the flash..i was still quite far away..so i think its not me lor and somemore so many cars~Originally posted by digicharat:so... its you!!!!!![]()