thanks alot for your recommendations.....50 k ah...hmm....but how to i calculate how much i have to fork out?? not just simply the price i buy minus away 50k right?? not must take the full amount with ten year interest then minus off 50k?? not very clear with this partOriginally posted by wbucket:According to parf value, your car is only about 35k now. According to the second-hand industry, it is about 50k. If you trade in your car, most likely the value will be closer to the Parf value. So better try you luck with the secondhand side.
As for new car, I would suggest Jazz. Since you want altis, you should be able to afford Jazz too. And if you drive properly, Jazz's FC can be kept at around 18-20km/L. Or if you want to try parallel imported car, there are a few Toyota Hatch that have quite a good ratings for FC. But most are at 1.3L range, but the engine power shouldn't lose out to Matrix.
jazz has such good petrol consumption ah?? i m surprised...but i think hatch back the boot space quite small leh....put abit of things full already....hmmm...Originally posted by wbucket:According to parf value, your car is only about 35k now. According to the second-hand industry, it is about 50k. If you trade in your car, most likely the value will be closer to the Parf value. So better try you luck with the secondhand side.
As for new car, I would suggest Jazz. Since you want altis, you should be able to afford Jazz too. And if you drive properly, Jazz's FC can be kept at around 18-20km/L. Or if you want to try parallel imported car, there are a few Toyota Hatch that have quite a good ratings for FC. But most are at 1.3L range, but the engine power shouldn't lose out to Matrix.
For Jazz, you can fold the back seats for a unbeatable boot space. Easily 2 mountain bikes without the need to take out the front wheel. Anyway, you are driving a hatch now, so it should be about the same. Or if you don't mind, you can try City, the boots space is definitely the biggest of all the cars I see so far, unless you are talking about lorry. Bottom line for me is, if you have the budget, go for Honda, Honda's engine have had the best ratings in term of fuel comsumption.Originally posted by enginboi:jazz has such good petrol consumption ah?? i m surprised...but i think hatch back the boot space quite small leh....put abit of things full already....hmmm...
Actually Getz have recieved quite a good review. I would have consider it if it comes in 4dr manual. Since most people already know that Matrix isn't worth it, Hyundai's 2004 remarkable sales value should be Getz's doing. Hyundai is actually second to Toyota in term of sale for last year.Originally posted by heluim:i knew hyundai cant make it.. haha.. i tink all koreans product aint tt gd..
their main selling point is the price..
ya i think it will be more than 10 k too....but the petrol consumption really sucks big time man.....drink petrol like water like that....and the pick up power is really very weak even thou it is a 1.6..so dissappointing....i understand that have to pay la....but even if i hang on to the car and a few years down the road i want to change...i stil have to pay right?? unless i drive all the way for ten years la...is it possible to break even or lose less than 5 k down the years??Originally posted by Ah Wei:Hi enginboi,
I did not do a full calculation as I did not have all the figure you got. But then, judging from your amount paid, you down pay very little only, and what's worst, your loan is too high and too long.
You might end up paying the finance company if you sell your car now, and i believe the amount to be easily more than 10k.
My advise is to hold the car still.
ya lo...saw alot of gets nowadays....matrix also quite alot leh...cos very cheap and big....but dunno the getz petrol consumption as bad as matrix...quite a nice car la i guess...but abit small...Originally posted by wbucket:Actually Getz have recieved quite a good review. I would have consider it if it comes in 4dr manual. Since most people already know that Matrix isn't worth it, Hyundai's 2004 remarkable sales value should be Getz's doing. Hyundai is actually second to Toyota in term of sale for last year.
if your loan is ten years.. your break even period should be around the 5th year.. considering that you took out a full loan..maybe if you want to improve your matrix.. can ask your fellow matrixians how they improve it...Originally posted by enginboi:ya i think it will be more than 10 k too....but the petrol consumption really sucks big time man.....drink petrol like water like that....and the pick up power is really very weak even thou it is a 1.6..so dissappointing....i understand that have to pay la....but even if i hang on to the car and a few years down the road i want to change...i stil have to pay right?? unless i drive all the way for ten years la...is it possible to break even or lose less than 5 k down the years??
thanks for the advise...so how much does adding fuel catalyst roughly cost?? where can i get it done?......i know driving habits does affect....but even the service guy at komoko also frankly tell me that matrix is about 10 km/ per litre...about there one la.....if heavy footer perhaps can get only 8 or 9...worse...sigh...really regret buying this car...but first time buying new car so dun know wat to look out for....now i know....petrol consumption definitely must ask.....and recently i just discovered during a tyre burst that the spare tyre that they give me is not the same as the actual 4 wheels...it smaller and thinner kind, looks like just enough to last you to change tyre, and stil have a yellow tag that says dun drive more than 80km/hr with it...wat the heck...feel like so cheated...i tot spare tyre should be the same as the main wheel...at least that is the case for my previous carOriginally posted by cplee888:hi,
Just very concern about your decision, easily u could lose 25k.
Your present car... 1) drink heavily 2) no power
Cannot compare this way, u must justify your habit of driving, car always idling, type of petrol used....
no power... compare with Altis? my guess.
Recommend to put fuel catalyst like magnet or bouquet. Can help about 5~8%, and increase horse power. Try 1 at a time, magnet is cheaper. Let me know if trying. I drove a 4.5yr Auto Megane, consumption about 8L/100km using 98 octane petrol. Hope it work for your car.
Now we know why there are so many bad rumors about Hyundai. Guess this serve as a lesson that cheap isn't everything. And don't rush into buying of cars, that is what this forum is for.Originally posted by enginboi:......recently i just discovered during a tyre burst that the spare tyre that they give me is not the same as the actual 4 wheels...it smaller and thinner kind, looks like just enough to last you to change tyre, and stil have a yellow tag that says dun drive more than 80km/hr with it...wat the heck...feel like so cheated......
I fitted EPS magnet, getting about 4-5% saving, i fix it during motorshow at 89.90. try this no 93980848. on the tyre, I presume almost every singapore register car would have this problem as the tyre is factory fitted. when u bought your new car it has gone thru the cosmetic, change to sport rim and wider tyre. my advice is the next time u encounter tyre puncture, almost maintain the front tyre of the same size, if need to go long distance. It is safer.Originally posted by enginboi:thanks for the advise...so how much does adding fuel catalyst roughly cost?? where can i get it done?......i know driving habits does affect....but even the service guy at komoko also frankly tell me that matrix is about 10 km/ per litre...about there one la.....if heavy footer perhaps can get only 8 or 9...worse...sigh...really regret buying this car...but first time buying new car so dun know wat to look out for....now i know....petrol consumption definitely must ask.....and recently i just discovered during a tyre burst that the spare tyre that they give me is not the same as the actual 4 wheels...it smaller and thinner kind, looks like just enough to last you to change tyre, and stil have a yellow tag that says dun drive more than 80km/hr with it...wat the heck...feel like so cheated...i tot spare tyre should be the same as the main wheel...at least that is the case for my previous car
There are actually quite a few who support them. Of course those are the lucky ones who gotten the better cars from their lots. If you are into productions and stuff, you would know 99% yield isn't something you can be proud of.Originally posted by heluim:i thought the whole world knows tt korean product really cant make it???
haha
ya lo...that is very true...must be your homework before buying....then slowly consider....slowly test drive the cars....ask all questions...check the contract throughouly, before you sign the contract....then when u receive the car...really take your time to check all the things......cos once u collect, it is hard to complain liao.....now i learn my lesson...hope those buying new cars now, esp since the price so low...must take note too!!Originally posted by wbucket:Now we know why there are so many bad rumors about Hyundai. Guess this serve as a lesson that cheap isn't everything. And don't rush into buying of cars, that is what this forum is for.
Do your homework before buying!!!
haha...thanks for the advise pal....thou i wont consider driving it for 9 years....since i m already so frustrated with it now....prob will drive a few years til the loss is lesser...like perhaps 5k...i know sure will lose money one la....i m quite prepared to do that....just have to wait til the loss is smaller la...Originally posted by simplecheapcar:keep the matrix my fren, drive for 9 years then u can start to plan to change. u will lose big time now.... the amt of cash u must fork out is tremendous....... u will be paiseh if u know it..... more than u can ever imagine.... now brand new matrix 53k guess wat ? with 2 k discount somemore.... and wat ? low ineterst rate somemore.... and with sooooo mannnnyyyy hyundai dealers nationwide........................ many are giving freebies...............
conclusion : drive ur car till its 9 yrs old...... feed with cheaper petrol..... u know the sort that can makes ur money grow double in value....... sing $ change to ______ money..... then u will feel less burdened