Of course. But why would you want to do that?Originally posted by mad.obsessionz:I know that turbos can be Programed to kick in at diff rpms... but is it actually possible to turn it on and off with a switch/button????
Becos he accidentally bought a turbo-charged car... big boo-boo...Originally posted by crufty:Of course. But why would you want to do that?
You drive a turbo car and your knowledge is at best pathetic.Originally posted by HENG@:dun think so? MAYBE u can do that for a supercharger. doubt so for a turbo.
yes it's belt driven, but u're not thinking deep enough. it runs off the engine. If u could fit a a sort of clutch system between the supercharger itself and the engine so that a break can be created, instead of linking them directly via a single belt, then it IS possible. dun anyhow call others pathetic when you dun wanna think deeper.Originally posted by spec:You drive a turbo car and your knowledge is at best pathetic.
No you cannot do it for supercharger as it is belt driven.
wah lau u...Originally posted by sidestep1984:FIGHT
FIGHT
FIGHT
FIGHT!
hehe..dont mind me....
dun care abt him la...u know it yrself tt u are studying engineering.....Originally posted by HENG@:yes it's belt driven, but u're not thinking deep enough. it runs off the engine. If u could fit a a sort of clutch system between the supercharger itself and the engine so that a break can be created, instead of linking them directly via a single belt, then it IS possible. dun anyhow call others pathetic when you dun wanna think deeper.![]()
NOT in camp again? so good one ah NS nowadays.Originally posted by AE86tofu:dun care abt him la...u know it yrself tt u are studying engineering.....
anyways u dunno about him, he might be an engineer also, it's just that he thought from a point of view about an existing mechanism instead of viewing from a design point of view.Originally posted by AE86tofu:dun care abt him la...u know it yrself tt u are studying engineering.....
LLLLLOriginally posted by spec:You drive a turbo car and your knowledge is at best pathetic.
No you cannot do it for supercharger as it is belt driven.
hi prince. yes what u wanna say? "LLLLL" conveys no proper meaning. anything u want, your humble servant will do his utmost to meet your demands.Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:LLLLL![]()
You always have to defend your mistakes. Who has ever run this sort of clutch system you mentioned? You might as well say, put in a bigger belt with an additional switchable gear pulley to lower the boost by pressing of a switch.Originally posted by HENG@:yes it's belt driven, but u're not thinking deep enough. it runs off the engine. If u could fit a a sort of clutch system between the supercharger itself and the engine so that a break can be created, instead of linking them directly via a single belt, then it IS possible. dun anyhow call others pathetic when you dun wanna think deeper.![]()
Studying engineering does not make one's word the GOSPEL truth.Originally posted by AE86tofu:dun care abt him la...u know it yrself tt u are studying engineering.....
i helping u rite... ungrateful sia...Originally posted by HENG@:hi prince. yes what u wanna say? "LLLLL" conveys no proper meaning. anything u want, your humble servant will do his utmost to meet your demands.
Actually on the neutral side of view here. Heng here is correct. The Toyota 4A-GZE engine is running a magnetic clutch supercharger unit (roots type) and the magnet of the clutch would engage when there is a change in the TPS position. If you were to hold the your throttle constant, the magnet will gradually dis-engage itself (free-spining). This is for fuel consumption reason as well as preventing an increased wear and tear by running the supercharger unit full-time.Originally posted by spec:You always have to defend your mistakes. Who has ever run this sort of clutch system you mentioned? You might as well say, put in a bigger belt with an additional switchable gear pulley to lower the boost by pressing of a switch.
Think deeper? I think your 1st answer clearly shows you don't think hard enough or you simply just lack knowledge or BOTH. This is the truth whether you accept it a not. The 8000rpm thread is another clear example.
Do what you do best, joke and create limericks.![]()
i guess u gotta go read more. read above post.Originally posted by spec:You always have to defend your mistakes. Who has ever run this sort of clutch system you mentioned? You might as well say, put in a bigger belt with an additional switchable gear pulley to lower the boost by pressing of a switch.
Think deeper? I think your 1st answer clearly shows you don't think hard enough or you simply just lack knowledge or BOTH. This is the truth whether you accept it a not. The 8000rpm thread is another clear example.
Do what you do best, joke and create limericks.![]()
hmmm i agree, no reasons to switch it off really, because, if u have a forced induction engine, u will have a lower compression ratio, and that's gonna cause a pretty horrid lethargic feeling in the engine.Originally posted by JDM_Junkyard:Actually on the neutral side of view here. Heng here is correct. The Toyota 4A-GZE engine is running a magnetic clutch supercharger unit (roots type) and the magnet of the clutch would engage when there is a change in the TPS position. If you were to hold the your throttle constant, the magnet will gradually dis-engage itself (free-spining). This is for fuel consumption reason as well as preventing an increased wear and tear by running the supercharger unit full-time.
So it possible to actually do up a switch to engage magnetic clutch full-time or off it at your pleasure though I can't think of any good reason why would one want to do a switch to off it.
How I know? I used to drive one with the transplanted 4A-GZE.
Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:i helping u rite... ungrateful sia...![]()
the NA man.Originally posted by tailslide:hehe, heng@it again
think supercharger need that sort of free play (on/off) coz the means of propulsion is permanently associated with the engine via a pulley. lots of wear and tear if it was "on" all the time.
i tot turbo can use the waste gate to constantly alter the amount of boost? ie, even to the point of no boost if the waste gate fully open? slap me if i'm wrong on this. i'm an idiot when it comes to turbos