Advise is don't get this car because this is the only one you can support. Must have a bit of cash at hand just in case something come up. Picanto is a decent car, if you are not power-hungry. Nice FC for the budget minded (manual 15-17km/L). But of course, all those talks about korean car being lousy is because of their quality issue. You have to be really unlucky to get those lousy ones. Generally all should run fine and serve its purpose. But don't get the auto one, very weak. Consider Getz if you plan to get budget auto car. Or if you don't mind the small-ness of kelisa, why not? Kelisa is known to be strong with its manual and auto version.Originally posted by ariesci:Hey Guys!!
New in this forum... seems cools... had all info regads to different type of car models..
Anyway, thinking of getting a car myself... wat you guys think about KIA Picanto?? Some said okie, some said korean cars not good... Any views??
Cheers!!![]()
HiOriginally posted by ariesci:Hey Guys!!
New in this forum... seems cools... had all info regads to different type of car models..
Anyway, thinking of getting a car myself... wat you guys think about KIA Picanto?? Some said okie, some said korean cars not good... Any views??
Cheers!!![]()
I used to like Picanto once for its lowest price in town and its cuteness.Originally posted by ariesci:Hey Guys!!
Cheers!!![]()
Hi,Originally posted by kingfisher:Hi
I am driving a picanto. If you are not those chong chong type, it will suit you. Fuel consumption is around 13.5km/l to 19.5km/l depending on load, road type and way of driving. For my case is most of the time full load, 70% city road,aircon also on,once in awhile ram the car, so my consumption is 13.5km/l to 16.2km/l.
If you have further insterest visit our website at: http://www.sgkiaclub.com. enjoy.
I'm driving a picanto and I do agree that the car no Air Bag, no ABS and no Boot cover is a real down for a car like this, but about no sound insulation, I think it's not a real problem cos I personally feel the cabin is rather quiet. Of cos cannot conpare to those big cars but noise intrusion is low. The car do feel rather laggy during run in period but after that the car's pickup and acceleration increased. You have to really drive the car top know the feeling. Picanto is made for the young so it's made to look cute, so not having a classy look like swift or even sporty like Vios. But come to think of it's the best in picanto is the FC, so for those who place FC as top priority would consider picanto a good buy.Originally posted by vroomvroom:I used to like Picanto once for its lowest price in town and its cuteness.
But after much consideration, I decided it is cheap no doubt but i would rather go for something which is more value for money.
In Picanto, u basically have close to nothing (features) but a tool to get u from Pt A to Pt B.
No Power.
No Air Bag
No ABS
No Sound Insulation.
No Boot cover (OMFG)
No Classy feel. (depends on individual)
Now you know why it is the cheapest car in town.
If Pica is fitted with air bag, ABS and had better power, u bet I will be the first in the queue. (But good things dont come cheap)
Personal thought only.
Pica owner pls dont be offended for opinions differ.
No air bag, change steering wheel.Originally posted by Geminik:I'm driving a picanto and I do agree that the car no Air Bag, no ABS and no Boot cover is a real down for a car like this, but about no sound insulation, I think it's not a real problem cos I personally feel the cabin is rather quiet. Of cos cannot conpare to those big cars but noise intrusion is low. The car do feel rather laggy during run in period but after that the car's pickup and acceleration increased. You have to really drive the car top know the feeling. Picanto is made for the young so it's made to look cute, so not having a classy look like swift or even sporty like Vios. But come to think of it's the best in picanto is the FC, so for those who place FC as top priority would consider picanto a good buy.
Those are juz my personal views.![]()
Saw an Aveo an a Kalos on the road today, seems the only different is the tail lamp, or did I see wrong? Anyway your kelisa can clock how much mileage for full tank? Cos heard that Kelisa is also very good in FC.Originally posted by wbucket:No air bag, change steering wheel.
No ABS, Takahashi Ryosuki:" ......Human ABS......".
No boot cover,......can't help you on that one cause I don't have that problem. Kelisa here.
Compared to Kelisa, I think Picanto is much better packaged, and also more Classier. Last time someone mentioned, if Picanto have airbag, ABS, and a larger cabin, he would consider it. Then Chervolet Aveo zoom across my mind. However 1 thing to take note, (I also advise Kelisa wanabe the same) these small cars might be significantly cheaper out front, but the cost of maintaining them isn't going to be very much cheaper than cars like Vios, City. Better calculate properly. Ask the golden question, how much have you spend on your car after 1 year of ownership?
Now only 2500km. FC ranges from 15.2(latest) to 17.2 (first).Originally posted by Geminik:......Anyway your kelisa can clock how much mileage for full tank? Cos heard that Kelisa is also very good in FC.
Hi,Originally posted by phangster1975:Hi,
Me juz ordered a pica(manual).
How long u been driving?
SO far any complaint?
Guess another case of the Heng suay example. For more particular person, he will condamn the car because of these things, for others they believe these are still forgive-able as things still get solved eventually.Originally posted by kingfisher:Hi,
I been driving it for 6 months. A bit of rattle sound on one of my door And a case of aircon belt snapped which is due to the person install the aircon compressor didn't install it properly. I believe these two cases happened to me only. So far in sgkia club no one have the same problem. other than that I think is quite good.
Thanks for the info.Originally posted by kingfisher:Hi,
I been driving it for 6 months. A bit of rattle sound on one of my door And a case of aircon belt snapped which is due to the person install the aircon compressor didn't install it properly. I believe these two cases happened to me only. So far in sgkia club no one have the same problem. other than that I think is quite good.
Hi,Originally posted by wbucket:Guess another case of the Heng suay example. For more particular person, he will condamn the car because of these things, for others they believe these are still forgive-able as things still get solved eventually.
So how's the door?
HiOriginally posted by phangster1975:Thanks for the info.
Being reading in sgkia threads and didn't noe the car is so basic.
Anyway, its juz a "ka-ta" for me from pt 1 to pt 2.
BTW, if i got a free alarm package, does it come with central locking system?
Thanks
thanz for the info.Originally posted by kingfisher:Hi
Sorry for the late reply. Have chat with a few of the Pica owners. If you want to have free central locking and alarm, go to C&C Lengkee. C&C Ubi very firm, not willing to give.
I bought a car after 4 years of no-driving. Guess you are 1 more up. So getting second car for the family? Manual confirm more power, and is more fuel conscious. ABS......never drive for so long, got or not also cannot feel, just don't drive too fast to avoid the need to e-brake can already. No airbag, same thing, don't drive too fast lah. Slow collision doesn't requires a airbag to save your life, fast one, I think air bag also doesn't help.Originally posted by poiu68:Hi,
I'm new here, haven't been driving for the past 5 yrs. Now thot of buying either picanto or kelisa (OPC). I haven't test drive but my hubby did. He said manual has more power, I don't know. Also read that it has no ABS, no airbag etc...aiyoh...everything dun hv. But there again, so cheap can't ask for much. Also heard from frens that kia is not so good, after 3 yrs will breakdown often (sorry, no offends to those kia owners). Any comments please? Thank you....
Kelisa driver here. New here, only 3000km old. My kelisa is blue, but in the future plans to spray it orange. Picanto comes with a lot of colours, have fun choosing. Do get the manual version though, cause picanto auto very weak.Originally posted by poiu68:Yours is picanto too?
Good for you! Now you should frequent around Sgkiaclub more to get to know your ride and those drivers. Could learn a lot of things like accessories to budget for, suitable engine oil to use etc.Originally posted by poiu68:wbucket,
Thank you! I booked a cobalt blue picanto - manual last evening liao! Shipment arriving in Apr.
Thanks for your advice.