If you have just gotten license (p-plate?), then they will not rent to you. Min 2 years of driving experience (or at least 1). Also take note min age is 23 (for some 21)Originally posted by geniez:i juz wanna take the car for 2 days as i juz got my license. keke.
what is e difference between car rental member and daily car rental? pai seh coz is my 1st time renting a car so duno anything much abt car rental.
Both really ex? How come CityLimo got offers car sharing for a few dollars per hr? mi confused.
yeah agree with you. i juz signed up for cityspeed few months ago and found it to be quite expensive actually.. car rental is definately much cheaper.Originally posted by free4ever:If you have just gotten license (p-plate?), then they will not rent to you. Min 2 years of driving experience (or at least 1). Also take note min age is 23 (for some 21)
Am also not sure about the car rental member you are talking about. The citylimo car sharing you are talking about is most probably Cityspeed car sharing which cost average $10-$12 per hour but you need to pay a joining fee and membership fee annually. You do not need to pay for petrol but you need to pay for mileage. I shall not eloborate, there are a couple of previous threads on this.
Daily rental is that you take a car for 24 hrs, at the price + pay for your own petrol usage, return and that's it.
Having tried both, I find rental cheaper than sharing, but sharing offers more flexibility.
If you need a car, to drive around, you might want to pm Alex (nick: tankaloy), think currently he got a vios or corolla for rental. No point going to those big big car rental company as there have a high overhead to cover and naturally, the rental rates are much more expensive.
ALEX, Looking for you ah....
CityLimo big wha... Belongs to Singapore's Largest Land Tpt operator ComfortDelGro mahOriginally posted by geniez:hi
i am a newbie here. thinking of renting a car for a spree. hehe.. nw considering citylimo (quite famous one) and autofleet. anyone try them b4? what is ur experience? recommendations?
Car Sharing is for really rare usage of cars....Originally posted by jeramy:yeah agree with you. i juz signed up for cityspeed few months ago and found it to be quite expensive actually.. car rental is definately much cheaper.
Cityspeed allows P platers to join... most other companies don't... anyway, it depends on how you use the car and their time packages... I've been using Cityspeed for a year... normally drive at night, so I take the overnighter package... $30 from 7pm to next day 8am... not bad...Originally posted by geniez:wow really so x?? muz scold my fren.. he stil intro mi..
or izzit tat citylimo or cityspeed provides gd service so tats explain for the high prices?
anyway since i am a new driver, so where i can rent a car since companies wun allow mi...![]()
Ok lah, if you dun really drive much, then car sharing quite ok, for me i joined car sharing to try out the different cars.Originally posted by geniez:wow really so x?? muz scold my fren.. he stil intro mi..
or izzit tat citylimo or cityspeed provides gd service so tats explain for the high prices?
anyway since i am a new driver, so where i can rent a car since companies wun allow mi...![]()
I agree with you. the night rental is rather cheap if you dun drive long distance...somemore share cost with frens so quite ok. I see the night package as one that allows you to hold the car longest for the cheapest price...Originally posted by LH83:Cityspeed allows P platers to join... most other companies don't... anyway, it depends on how you use the car and their time packages... I've been using Cityspeed for a year... normally drive at night, so I take the overnighter package... $30 from 7pm to next day 8am... not bad...
That time I shared cost with my frens... we took weekend package... Friday 7pm to Mon 8am... Just don't overshoot the mileage...
Really? So I thought just their NEL trains are well maintained...Originally posted by free4ever:Actually, last time i rented once before from citydrive. Cityspeed is the sharing company while citydrive and citylimo are the rental arm. They are all under Comfort Delgro.
That, incidentally, was my first time with rental as previously before that, all along was with the car sharing....
I got one bad experience, but maybe it is my fault. I got charged (for damage)for a light scratch at the door of their car, and paid $100. Best thing was that I dont know when i got the scratch. Later, as i went to other rental, I began recalling this incident, most of the car rental cars exterior are rather run down, scratches and patches here and there are common, but this citydrive car are perfect, really like personal car like that...That means that they will charge customers for any damage and fix the damage...Ok lah, lesson learnt, they perform VERY stingent checks on their cars, which make me feel uncomfortable (personal opinion). I thought rented car does not need to maintain it so well.
As for Cityspeed, the staff are more friendly and courteous. I am quite satisfied and impressed by their level of service.
Hope this helps in your project...
It is just one of their selling point, clean and well maintain cars...compared to most which offers slightly more "run-down" carsOriginally posted by sbst275:Really? So I thought just their NEL trains are well maintained...
Their SBS bus is maintained quite OK lah I can say esp for older buses (More than 12 years of age)
HiOriginally posted by geniez:hi
i am a newbie here. thinking of renting a car for a spree. hehe.. nw considering citylimo (quite famous one) and autofleet. anyone try them b4? what is ur experience? recommendations?
Yah...Originally posted by free4ever:It is just one of their selling point, clean and well maintain cars...compared to most which offers slightly more "run-down" cars
As for SBS, at least they take the effort to change the seats and aircons, but some of the older buses engine really isn't going to make it for long...those leyland aircon double deckers...breaks down quite frequently...you can also feel the engine rev-ving but got no power compared to Volvo one.
If you take car sharing by cityspeed/carcoop, then there are easily accessible cars at cck for u.Originally posted by bmwf1kin:Is there any car rental company in the west area cos i living in choa chu kang. Most of the car rental company is in SIN MING and KALLANG too far away.![]()
Excess is the amount you have to pay before the insurance starts to cover.Originally posted by geniez:i always come across the word "excess" when checking e rates for car rental... wat izzit actually? do u pay in advance?