I guess you are still schooling? The very hard disk that you are using now would only have been tested for a few mintues. So how they garantee its usage for 1-3 years? Only a sample size is selected for life test and this samples are never release into the market. (I don't know about back doors lah). Anyway, running in is for engine to smooth out its parts. Special grooves are designed for that purpose.Originally posted by Joshua1975:i dun know why ppl like to say new car or new bike need to run-in.
if the manufacturer did not do a QC and QA and let the machine into the market, is it safe? (i am just talking about the engine since we are on the topic run-in)
think about it, after assembly, did not test the engine and sell it in the market, who can make sure that it will sure perform? i am sure they will run the engine for a numbers of hours maybe days to be sure it not leaking, can withstand the heat etc. the coy repution is on the line here.
to me, run-in only when you have overhaul you engine where the pistons are new and had never run at all.
if this sound odd... pls do your run-in for 10000km, speed not over 50km/h, do not ram over 2800rpm.![]()
reply like these still make some sane. to make it optimum, no 100% check etc.Originally posted by Praetorian111:All machinies inclusive of motorcars will need a period of run in for it to work to it's optimum. Quality control is no longer 100 percent, in most industries, therefore it is best to do what that is recommended on the instruction manual.
Cheers
Originally posted by wbucket:I guess you are still schooling? The very hard disk that you are using now would only have been tested for a few mintues. So how they garantee its usage for 1-3 years? Only a sample size is selected for life test and this samples are never release into the market. (I don't know about back doors lah). Anyway, running in is for engine to smooth out its parts. Special grooves are designed for that purpose.
May I know on what basis did you arrive at the conclusion that run-in isn't necessary? Anyway the recommended speed is 80km/h.
That hard disk analogy is to show that in Manufacturing line, all products are tested to be operating in its pre-determine specification and within safety limits. But most tests allowed on each finished good is only kept to the minimum to push the goods out to the market as soon as possible. (This part is to raise aware-ness in you so call QA & QC, they can only do so much.)Originally posted by Joshua1975:you are using hard disk which you will be using it on the table top or best on your lap using a lap top to a machine that run on the road? the most the hard disk burn out. level of safety at where now?
hey who still schooling now?
btw, anyone know how your new car get to you after it was ship into Singapore? 2 ways b4 you get your hand on it.
1. most ppl would have seem it that it's a trailer load up to a number of cars say 7 to 9 and maybe 10 on it and send to the dealer b4 you get it from them.
2. temp drivers are employ to drive the the car from the port (PSA Jurong/Tuas) back to the dealer. how you think the driver will drive on these new car? they ram it. those who use AYE often will get to see them once a while.
Sorry to use your thread for a little tougue-fighting.Originally posted by kentheman:okie...
i know run-in is to smoothen out the slightly rough edges of the engine and to remove the grease that the manufacturer coated on when they manufacture the vehicle. well, so for van, how long shld be the run in be?
the van hasn't arrive yet..coming this week. they are sent for painting 1st. tink have to ask my supervisor if i can have the manual anot lo...if not, stick to the traditional method: dun go over 3000rpm n 80km/h for the 1st 5000kmOriginally posted by wbucket:Sorry to use your thread for a little tougue-fighting.
Anyway, the manual that come with the van should have some recommendation. Did your company keep all the manuals away?
as in french kiss? EWWWW.Originally posted by wbucket:Sorry to use your thread for a little tougue-fighting.
Some said you have to rev hard in order for the run-in to be completed. For me I did the normal run-in for the 1st 1000km. Limit 80km/h, and 3000rpm. Then I would push a little higher to 4000rpm. 5000rpm once a while. Read the link given above, he states the down-side of an easy break-in. But it is also possible that he is talking about performance car.Originally posted by tailslide:as in french kiss? EWWWW.
dunno bout the rest, but 4 me, i lurve my car too much to have the heart to "ram" it on our first date. car to me like my girlfriend. muz get to know her temper, her likes and dislikes, make her feel comfortable, before u try more daring stuff......of course, after dat muz be responsible and maintain her lah
on one side say safety limits, on the other say push the goods out to the market as soon as possible. this work for your hard disk but not for car or bike. do you know how serious it can be if half way on the road and the piston jam. from the run-in speed you give at 80km/h. car or worst a motor bike, piston jam. good luck to the rider. you are talking about safety without knowing what is saftey all about?Originally posted by wbucket:That hard disk analogy is to show that in Manufacturing line, all products are tested to be operating in its pre-determine specification and within safety limits. But most tests allowed on each finished good is only kept to the minimum to push the goods out to the market as soon as possible. (This part is to raise aware-ness in you so call QA & QC, they can only do so much.)
So you read up on "Break-in Secrets" given above. If not, I will hyperlink for you. http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm
Read up on this acticle and you will know the real reason for running in the engine. Run-in is more toward making your car season so that it would produce a smoother ride in the future.
Once again, may I know on what basis did you arrive at the conclusion that run-in isn't necessary?
I asked that schooling part because during schooling time, that is when all those myth of quality control are told to us and we just believe them. After working in the production, your understanding about quality changes. After you work in a restaurant as a cook, the food will never taste the same.
Below was taken from the link given which i did not go and read till just now and above from the last few reply i did, i mention the most important thing is your 1st servicing ~ oil change...Originally posted by Joshua1975:on one side say safety limits, on the other say push the goods out to the market as soon as possible. this work for your hard disk but not for car or bike. do you know how serious it can be if half way on the road and the piston jam. from the run-in speed you give at 80km/h. car or worst a motor bike, piston jam. good luck to the rider. you are talking about safety without knowing what is saftey all about?
who can define what and how is smoother ride?
oni the driver who drive the car can. run-in do not have a set rules of how fast and how many ram you need. it is to let the engine get used to your driving habit.
the most important thing is your 1st servicing ~ oil change. one more to add, in Singapore, we are not going to drive the car till we die and pass it on to our son.
if anyone feel the need of run-in in order for a smoother ride can carry on. i did not stop anyone here. do the run-in, dun go above 50km/h, dun ram above 2800rpm. and make sure you run-in 10000km.
I have never done any run-in for my new bike/s and new car/s at all. The oni one time i had done run-in is after i overhaul my bike and it was run-in in the workshop.![]()
just to make clear, your van running in petrol or diesel engine?Originally posted by kentheman:does new vans have run-in?
company getting new vans n i'm one of the lucky ones getting the van so dunno if can whack anot leh...
my point is simple, if it not safe, you will not see the car on the road at all. as for run in or break in, i had mention above and again herei agree with you when you say that cars that aren't safe wouldn't have been allowed on the roads in the first place.
thank you zulu4 on the points in blue, more so for the brakes and tires, anyone saw F1 race b4 will notice that all the dirver will sway the car left and right during warm up round, reason one is to heat up the tires and two is to wear off any/all coating that is on the NEW tires.Originally posted by zulu4:i agree with you when you say that cars that aren't safe wouldn't have been allowed on the roads in the first place.
however, the primary purpose of running in/breaking in your engine is to help prolong your engine life and improve its fuel economy; it is not an issue of safety.
as for your contention that cars are not kept for enough years to warrant such caution, i would disagree. While an engine that has not been properly broken in may not suffer catastrophic failure within say, 5 years of its purchase, it will, in general, not run as smoothly or as economically as an engine that has been properly managed as per the manufacturer's recommendations.
also, run-in/break-in periods pertain to more than your vehicle's engine. Other important components that need to be broken in are your brakes, tires as well as your clutch. more often than not, the optimum wear patterns need to be formed before these components can operate properly. case in point, brake pads need to be bedded in before they can provide you with optimum stopping power and tires need to be seasoned before they provide optimum grip.
that is not to say that the car is not road-worthy before it has been broken in, it is; but it certainly won't perform as advertised by the manufacturer until broken in.
i am glad that till this day, you are none the worse for not having run-in your vehicle, but my personal advice to the thread starter is to err on the side of caution and run-in the vehicle.
i totally agreed to your point on run-in/break-in periods pertain to more than your vehicle's engine... but as to it is not an issue of safety?Originally posted by Joshua1975:... ...
if the manufacturer did not do a QC and QA and let the machine into the market, is it safe? (i am just talking about the engine since we are on the topic run-in)
... ...
to me, run-in only when you have overhaul you engine where the pistons are new and had never run at all.
last on the engine that has not been properly broken in may not suffer catastrophic failure within say, 5 years of its purchase, it will, in general, not run as smoothly or as economically as an engine that has been properly managed as per the manufacturer's recommendations.Originally posted by Joshua1975:... ... do you know how serious it can be if half way on the road and the piston jam. from the run-in speed you give at 80km/h. car or worst a motor bike, piston jam. good luck to the rider... ...
the most important thing is your 1st servicing ~ oil change. one more to add, in Singapore, we are not going to drive the car till we die and pass it on to our son.
... because cars in Singapore will not be on the road for a long time and even it does, you will have done at least 1 overhauleh, not to belabour the point, but have you considered the fact that a vehicle that has been run-in may not require an overhaul within its lifespan?
Originally posted by zulu4:eh, not to belabour the point, but have you considered the fact that a vehicle that has been run-in may not require an overhaul within its lifespan?