I dunno wat to say, but i know there is 2 version dunno right or wrong.Originally posted by zerocool85:any comments on this ride?
cheaper alternative to a bmw/audi/merc...
100k.. relatively "cheap"..
bcoz my toyota camry's 5 year bday is coming soon in october.. and because new cars take 1-3mths to arrive.. decision have to be made in june-july, so have to narrow down my choices already..
cars within the budget
passat
golf
mazda 6
mazda 3
airtrek turbo
legacy
cefiro
camry
comparing to these cars, passat has a higher resale value. a 5 year old camry will prob worth 40-60k.. but 5 yr old passat would worth 50-70k? i heard it has the highest price for its body at the moment..
heard that vw cars are not that feasible in sg bcoz the spare parts are only available at vw and not at other mechanics? and the servicing is also expensive?
what about the FC and stuff like that.

from this list, i recommend one. Airtrek Turbo.Originally posted by zerocool85:any comments on this ride?
cheaper alternative to a bmw/audi/merc...
100k.. relatively "cheap"..
bcoz my toyota camry's 5 year bday is coming soon in october.. and because new cars take 1-3mths to arrive.. decision have to be made in june-july, so have to narrow down my choices already..
cars within the budget
passat
golf
mazda 6
mazda 3
airtrek turbo
legacy
cefiro
camry
comparing to these cars, passat has a higher resale value. a 5 year old camry will prob worth 40-60k.. but 5 yr old passat would worth 50-70k? i heard it has the highest price for its body at the moment..
heard that vw cars are not that feasible in sg bcoz the spare parts are only available at vw and not at other mechanics? and the servicing is also expensive?
what about the FC and stuff like that.
sorry i think the net was laged or something. i didnt know there was a new passat coming out. looks like i wont get the passat after all.. my car has to go by october. the new passat will only be out in november...Originally posted by Kuali Baba:The latest Passat has just been launched. Is this the want you're referring to? Do you want to be seen in it?
u must be rich...U already say 100k is quite "cheap"..can go till quite high...Originally posted by zerocool85:to me, of course performance is impt la.. haha.. im driving the vehicle 98% of the time anyway.. but the $$ part is my mother..
affordability.. can go quite high budget.. but my mum dont really wanna spend so much on a car..
oh.. so now besides going back to vw workshop.. can go to other mechanics already huh? hmm.. lavender street?
my bro used to own a bora and told me only vw can service vw cars.. bcoz other workshops don do vw..
not rich la.. well-to-do.. if i'm rich i wld have gone for another bmw.. the bmw at home got to let go in a few years time.. last time my dad paid for them ma.. now my dad not ard liaoOriginally posted by bo liao:u must be rich...U already say 100k is quite "cheap"..can go till quite high...
u wan performance..Den u might as well get Airtrak turbo liao lor..EVO,Integra
lavanda street, tat shop sell VW parts, not mechanic,mayb i gv wrong idea to you..They get from overseas den sell to shops..how come i know, cos one of my vehicle is a VW mah..
I think parts for Audis' are harder to get than VW cars?Originally posted by tiggersgd:how abt audi? image, power and all is much better. consider that too
I don't get what you all mean but parts are hard to get ?! I drive a Saab and there are alot of service shops that do carry my car's parts !Originally posted by pie:I think parts for Audis' are harder to get than VW cars?
Passat's a nice car![]()
not all european car parts can easily be found in singapore workshops. yes, the car parts can be found easily in the authorised workshops. however, they charge a hefty sum of $$ for the service and its almost 2 times as much as those outside.Originally posted by ben1406:I don't get what you all mean but parts are hard to get ?! I drive a Saab and there are alot of service shops that do carry my car's parts !
Anyway, once u start driving a european make, you won't send your car to any other service center besides your auth service center ! Who know's your car better then em ?
If you want a car that is powerful, cheap and european, i would suggest for you to go for the Alfa 156 ! Very very good car !
Most european cars owned by General Motors parts can be found easily in other workshops in Sg. I can name you close to 8 around singapore that carry Saab's parts ! And mind u, its a SAAB ! Not a very common car in Sg !Originally posted by zerocool85:not all european car parts can easily be found in singapore workshops. yes, the car parts can be found easily in the authorised workshops. however, they charge a hefty sum of $$ for the service and its almost 2 times as much as those outside.
what for pay so much more $ for such a service? services outside can be just as good as those authorised workshops.
my family's bmw went for service.. paid about $500-$1000 for it. however it would cost $200-$500 for the same service at other local workshops..
tell yr mom it's a SUV, very family orientated.Originally posted by zerocool85:not rich la.. well-to-do.. if i'm rich i wld have gone for another bmw.. the bmw at home got to let go in a few years time.. last time my dad paid for them ma.. now my dad not ard liaocancer sux..
i know.. i like the ATT alot.. but donno how to psycho my mum to by me sucha performance car.. haha.. she worry i cannot control myself.. and vrooooooooooomm.......
ah same taste in sound as me. bass heavy. lol. sadly the sound system is a bit crap. Bass not heavy enough for my liking, otherwise the car is generally lovely. Only other grouse is the transmission. But hey I'm sure u could go do up the audio system for a bass heavy sound.Originally posted by zerocool85:VW King
I do admit that conti cars are comfortable to drive. however, IMHO, i still think that jap cars are better for sg climate. ATT half suv, half sports? What bout the porsche cayanne? wldnt it be a laughing stock too? such high CG and such a powerful engine+turbo. cornering at high speed will definitely lose to a ATT.
kuala
ATT is a unique choice. Meaning it would be good buy? So I guess passat isnt really a good buy looking at the web-site.
heng
lol! family oriented.. kk.. i'll try that! btw.. how's the audio system? good or not? i like loud bass type..
##########
too bad the new golf doesnt come with turbo in singapore.. i still have 2 mths to psycho my mum.. lol..
anyway, how do we know which car has a higher resale value in the future? for example ATT and passat. both are $100-$200 difference.. i always think that the passat will have higher value because its a conti..
I say it's unique because it's a performance SUV (comes with a stiff ride too but the steering is vague, according to torque) with most of the running gear coming from the Evo VII. I just have my doubts about the reliabilty, only because of the cover-ups. If it doesn't bother you, go ahead and test it.Originally posted by zerocool85:kuala
ATT is a unique choice. Meaning it would be good buy? So I guess passat isnt really a good buy looking at the web-site.
anyway, how do we know which car has a higher resale value in the future? for example ATT and passat. both are $100-$200 difference.. i always think that the passat will have higher value because its a conti..
Dunno lea, i last time drive my uncle's Airtrek Turbo got problem..the gear teth break as said by the auth service cte...Originally posted by HENG@:reliabilty wise, we've had no problems so far.
The engine is detuned so its maximum power output is lower at 240bhp.Originally posted by bo liao:Or stock Airtrek Turbo already so fast? Can on par wid rex?Cos i read is EVO 7 engine as quote by someone in earlier post...