Matchbox car.Originally posted by Rockhound:with a bring home pay of lets say 2000 bucks...
what kinda car could a person comfortably afford?
this bad???Originally posted by Bloop...:Matchbox car.Seriously... every analyst already agreed. Based on inflation and if you plan to retire at 60. Don't even think of a car unless you make min 6K a month. THEN you talk about basic cars like Vios, City, etc...
That is what I bring back too. But I save enough in 2 years to down a decent first payment. Driving a Kelisa here, 5 year loan at 500/month. I did 500km/week = S$44. Add in the mis, I just about have enough.Originally posted by Rockhound:with a bring home pay of lets say 2000 bucks...
I think "bring home" means after CPF deduction. Meaning actually pay might be 2.5k. But the rest of the figures seems reasonable. So maybe you can be like me, save up for 2-3 years. Down using half of the savings, half for rainy days and whatever you have not claculate for your car.Originally posted by IsIsTRD:Let's say after deducting your pay for CPF you will have $ 1600 per month.
If you get a car that cost $60K with $6K downpayment, your monthly instalment for a 7 and 10 years loan at the current revised interest rate will be approx
$755 and $573 respectively. Not forgetting petrol and season parking that will add up to about $300 per month. Total cost to maintain a car per mth will be ranging from $1055 to $873. The half yearly road tax and yearly insurance have not yet included.
After subtracting your monthly expenses for your car, you just have enough for makan, phone bills, shopping and other entertainment . Probably no savings for raining days.
Just my 2 cents worth of comments.![]()
Originally posted by Rockhound:with a bring home pay of lets say 2000 bucks...
I believe you can do simple maths.Originally posted by Rockhound:okok...looking at 2nd hand cars now...........hmmmmmmmm.......50k car reasonable?if i take 100% loan....maybe spread over 5-7 years?
I don't know you and you do't know me... But as a matter of public service I'm going to state this.Originally posted by Rockhound:okok...looking at 2nd hand cars now...........hmmmmmmmm.......50k car reasonable?if i take 100% loan....maybe spread over 5-7 years?
Originally posted by endless373:Worry too much will get u nowhere...
Do your own sum and you shld noe how much u can afford to fork out each mth.
your pay of monthly $2500 should be sufficient to own a small car.
Years ago, I got my first car also with pay of abt $2500. I have no other commitment, stay with parent, no wife, no kid... No, i dun need to eat bread etc... Life is as per normal... and Yes i have little saving at that time but as years passes by, your pay increases and that when your saving starts to build up.
Life is already so stressful in sg... dun need to worry so much... do your own sum and if you feel that u can afford, just go get it...
u can own the Sti if u earn $2k/mth....Originally posted by Rockhound:cars in mind are....
kia rio sedan
Suzuki Ignis Sport
Hyundai 2.7l coupe
honda civic..
maybe a wrx sti.....
peugeot 206...the 1.6l version(i think there is one rite?)
yrv turbo
dont care much abt the performance arh...just wanna noe how it would impact a person financially....keeping in mind that he got a budget of lets say 2000 bucks...
People choose the way they want to live their life.Originally posted by Bloop...:See? This is what seperates the financially independant, from those living paycheck to paycheck. One paycheck fails to come for any reason, and their whole life crashes around them.