Pygrometer is Exhaust Gas Temp Meter ah...Originally posted by tailslide:Defi BF. Best
IMO, ur car is turbo charged, should get exhaust temp meter.
oh..... hehe, me only know exhaust temp not pygrometer......Originally posted by bo liao:Pygrometer is Exhaust Gas Temp Meter ah...
As i last time only concern"Boost meter to see whether my MAF got spoil or not, to see if i'm boosting at correct PSI or not."
& pygrometer as i dun want to melt my turbo fins as my engine is abit over fueled...
Now want oil temp cos fix other sh!t & trying to keep tempreture down..Got bigger FMIC & oil pan but lik not enough...
If for oil temp only, how much it cost now?
Oh...overfuelled means burn cooler..hehe..tat's good...Originally posted by tailslide:oh..... hehe, me only know exhaust temp not pygrometer......
if ur engine over fueled den shouldn't worry wat. rich mixtures burn cooler then lean mixtures. anyway, u need to fix an oil cooler if u find that ur engine oil always overheating. IMO, an FMIC doesn't really help to lower operating temps significantly. it should be the amount of boost u are running and ur a/f ratio that affects the heat generated. how many bar u boosting now? did u check to c if u are running too lean?
okok...me go find one tat can put pic here, den u all see my A piller no space so need to get one small oil temp..or mayb another a/fuel meter..Originally posted by HENG@:for posting, u need a webhost which allows hotlinking. cheers.![]()
wah, 1.5 bar quite high lehz. have u upgraded ur injectors? turbo cut maybe due to number of reasons. most probably coz ur ecu sense a dangerous reading or cannot get a reading from one of ur sensors so it cuts boost to go into "safe" mode. getting a fully programmeable ecu should solve the prob.Originally posted by bo liao:Oh...overfuelled means burn cooler..hehe..tat's good...
er..bascially, i dunno if my oil temp is overheating or not..i also dunno how to tel whether is it boiling or not..jia lat..so thinking to put 1 jus in case.
now i spike at 22psi (bout 1.5 bar) den ststained at 18 psi(1.28bar) ...problem is when i floor at the way at 5th gear,when reach bout 190km/h, the turbo jus auto cut(meaning no boost) or some called it "limp mode"dunno wat charge pressure not enough or wat happen in the ECU..
I dun hv the a/f ratio meter...is it neccessary to get one?i only know i change to big nozzles to deliver fuel to feed engine..my knowledge also half-fu(k..only know to improve on torque,get more"stick to the seat" feeling when acceralating...
I really appricietely if can someone can help me to keep temp down...i already cut holes in bonnet to let heat excape, mushroom air filter,cold-air intake,& did the water spray liao...
Originally posted by tailslide:wah, 1.5 bar quite high lehz. have u upgraded ur injectors? turbo cut maybe due to number of reasons. most probably coz ur ecu sense a dangerous reading or cannot get a reading from one of ur sensors so it cuts boost to go into "safe" mode. getting a fully programmeable ecu should solve the prob.
Ya lor, i spike at 1.5 bar,fix a Dwane device to limit boost also lik no use.Injector i never change cos tat is the term use for the thing tat hold the nozzles, i only buy the nozzle(oil mouth
actually, ur pygrometer is sort of like an a/f meter. the hotter u run means the leaner ur mixture. for FI cars, a/f should be around 12.5 - 12.7 under full load. not beli sure wat the exhaust temp should be under this condition
Issit? this i dunno liao..but i only see my max temp on my EGT guage is pointing at 14 which have to times 1000 to get the wat ferenhight temp.then dunno how to count in degree clesis.
as for keeping temps down, as long as u dun sustain full boost for too long (maybe 3 mins) then should not be a prob. the only situation i think ur engine will overheat is if u track ur car. rex engine known to overheat even boosting at 0.8 bar after 2 laps at sepang. in local context, seldom have to sustain for so long. installing oil cooler, getting a bigger radiator also helps.
Defi gauges nice ... but not worth the premium paid la ...Originally posted by tailslide:Defi BF. Best
IMO, ur car is turbo charged, should get exhaust temp meter.
Yeah... I mean would you really want to to look at all those gauges when you're driving on the road? It's only going to distract you... you're supposed to keep your eyes on the road... not the guages... I even know of ppl who put those guages just cos they look nice... their engine not even tweaked at all... I've got trouble just looking at the speedometer... heh...Originally posted by Aulf:Defi gauges nice ... but not worth the premium paid la ...
unless u go to track often or enter car rallys ...
think more and more people are installing such gauges without knowing their true function, even cluttering up the dashbd ...
true, but brudda bo liao's ride is modded and he apparently knows which meter he needs. therefore suggested to him the defi metersOriginally posted by Aulf:Defi gauges nice ... but not worth the premium paid la ...
unless u go to track often or enter car rallys ...
think more and more people are installing such gauges without knowing their true function, even cluttering up the dashbd ...
hehe.. i register at photobuket, but they never sent me the comfermation e-mail..so..how to sent to you, i dun have ur e-mail...or u pm me ur e-mail?Originally posted by nick34:To post pics ... try www.photobucket.com ...
Register an account then upload the pic from YOUR COMPUTER to THE WEBSITE. Then find out the pic website address.
Another way is you send me the pics then I upload for you![]()
AgreedOriginally posted by tailslide:true, but brudda bo liao's ride is modded and he apparently knows which meter he needs. therefore suggested to him the defi meters
i disagree that such meters should only be installed unless u track or enter car park rallys. how many of us got the commitment and money to spend to constantly participate in such events? as long as u know what the meters are for and u like it, then y not fix for the heck of it? meters tells u how various parameters of ur car is holding up under various conditions and is a good way to learn and understand how ur engine performs under different circumstances.
anyways, my car in need of meters to tell whether my engine oil and water temp "goon" already anot on track days but haven't install any at all![]()
What you say is true but i know what i should need, i think max 3 guage is enough liao...Boost,EGT,Oil temp guages.Cos i feel tis 3 for me is most essential to see & prevent anything from happening...touch wood..hope so..Originally posted by Aulf:think more and more people are installing such gauges without knowing their true function, even cluttering up the dashbd ...

hehe, think even with NA can hook up the boost sensor to the vacuum reading in the intake manifold to measure the so called "boost". kinda tricky though and i salute those NA engine owners who go through this to make their car "boosted"Originally posted by bo liao:As sometime i see y some cars hv so many meters.. i ever seen a normal car(never say wat model as i dun want flams)
Inside the car hv 1 rpm meter wid shift light,1 boost meter,1 a/f meter, 1 Oil temp, 1 water temp, 1volt meter...i was lik WTF???so many for wat? i see the car also cannot be faster then 8 secs,its not a vtec,nor a gti,...lolx..6 meters..worst thing is got Boost meter when its a NA, but mayb he go lup turbo i dunno lah..
i heard b4 can but hv not seen it yet...only know tat "they" say it will move & poin till 0.5 there..Originally posted by tailslide:hehe, think even with NA can hook up the boost sensor to the vacuum reading in the intake manifold to measure the so called "boost". kinda tricky though and i salute those NA engine owners who go through this to make their car "boosted"another case of rice.......