I dun drive one nor sit inside b4.. but i only say wat i see on road, its almost as fast as a Honda Integra Type R,but still abit behind. The Honda got mod or not i dunno lah..but i can magnet the RX8...Originally posted by Snowdon:wish to know more abt this car. can anyone tell me pls ?
RX8 got 2 specs. stock type-R should be ablt 2 make mincemeat outta the spec E (210 hps) but the spec S (250 or 260 hps) should be faster than a stock type-R. think if ur rex modded or if its an sti should have no probs taking a stock spec SOriginally posted by bo liao:I dun drive one nor sit inside b4.. but i only say wat i see on road, its almost as fast as a Honda Integra Type R,but still abit behind. The Honda got mod or not i dunno lah..but i can magnet the RX8...
Not bad looking....
I can only say its not a camel. Its thirsty...& drinks...yes...it lik to drink petrol cos of the rotary engine, but again, for the power...still ok lar..somehow.
Got 2 spec ? Hmm....now then i know why sometime lik tear Rx8 jia lat easlier..sometime lik wa...my car sick or wat,almost side by side..Originally posted by tailslide:RX8 got 2 specs. stock type-R should be ablt 2 make mincemeat outta the spec E (210 hps) but the spec S (250 or 260 hps) should be faster than a stock type-R. think if ur rex modded or if its an sti should have no probs taking a stock spec S![]()
and RX8 is paying less for road tax....Originally posted by bo liao:Got 2 spec ? Hmm....now then i know why sometime lik tear Rx8 jia lat easlier..sometime lik wa...my car sick or wat,almost side by side..![]()
Wa..then the Spec S should be damm fast..
The other time I was at the Mazda showroom, the guy told me they only bring in the 6 speed manual spec S... guess maybe the PIs are bringing in the spec E?Originally posted by tailslide:RX8 got 2 specs. stock type-R should be ablt 2 make mincemeat outta the spec E (210 hps) but the spec S (250 or 260 hps) should be faster than a stock type-R. think if ur rex modded or if its an sti should have no probs taking a stock spec S![]()
ya, integra best! especially DC5 type-ROriginally posted by Altis84:1.3 but rotary engine... spare parts very expensive... engine spoil... u will be dead...
drink petrol like water.
for pple who can really afford lah.
I rather get a integra better hee hee...
yah i also jus noe...Originally posted by bo liao:Got 2 spec ? Hmm....now then i know why sometime lik tear Rx8 jia lat easlier..sometime lik wa...my car sick or wat,almost side by side..![]()
Wa..then the Spec S should be damm fast..
thanks dude.Originally posted by nocturnal113:Shinka is the special edtion. Spec S refers to the 6 speed manual. Mazda motors brings in the euro spec which comes with the sunroof, 18 inch rims, and 231 PS. The JDM spec is about 245 PS. Interior for the type S is generally black as standard.
Fuel consumption is about same as the WRX/STI. But cheaper insurance and road tax. Handling is great. Not as fast as WRX but definitely fun to drive and eye catching too. If your budget is limited and you want speed, buy a WRX. If you're feeling generous and like the RX8 looks, then buy it lor. You can also consider the Intergra Type R....which is a little faster than the RX8. Cool VTec engine but 2 doors and high insurance.
If you really want a fast car, forget the RX8. Go for the STI instead. Good bang for bucks. Or Evo9 if you got more cash.
How about a Nissan Silvia? Think there's also a silver skyline for sale at sgcarmarts now... about $100k...Originally posted by Snowdon:thanks dude.
Is evo 9 faster then sti ?
wrx cheaper then rx8 ? i don't think so ya.. rx8 is selling at 133+k and sti is going at 150+k.
don't really wish to get a sti as i don't really like the design and furthermore there seems to be so many subaru impreza, wrx, sti ( same design ) on the road.
hmm.. is there any recommendation for any 2 doors car beside integra ?
theoretically, the new evo9 shd be faster. previous evos have always had comparable performance with the sti's but they respond better to mods than the rex's boxer engine and they tend to edge out the rex in this sense. with the new engine, evo9's torque will be more pronounced by incorporating mivec into the cam phasing.Originally posted by Snowdon:thanks dude.
Is evo 9 faster then sti ?
wrx cheaper then rx8 ? i don't think so ya.. rx8 is selling at 133+k and sti is going at 150+k.
don't really wish to get a sti as i don't really like the design and furthermore there seems to be so many subaru impreza, wrx, sti ( same design ) on the road.
hmm.. is there any recommendation for any 2 doors car beside integra ?
how can u compare that wannabe car with a DC5?!!!Originally posted by LH83:Not many choices for 2 door cars... only ones around the same group as the Integra should be the Celica and Tuscani I think...
u buy evo? mai keh siao la. last i spoke to someone, he eyeing M3 leh...Originally posted by tailslide:theoretically, the new evo9 shd be faster. previous evos have always had comparable performance with the sti's but they respond better to mods than the rex's boxer engine and they tend to edge out the rex in this sense. with the new engine, evo9's torque will be more pronounced by incorporating mivec into the cam phasing.
sti where got going for so much? a base rex only going for around $100k brand new. think more like around the same price as the RX8 to be more precise. evo's pricing too high in comparison, but that also comes with certain exclusiveness about getting one......
i kinda agree that in terms of dollar for performance, rex gets my vote. but can't say that i like the design though. and i forsee probs selling ur rex eventually for a good price coz so many rex owners will be upgrading their's around the same time........ i'd still buy the evo given a deeper pocket![]()
yah, DC5's insurance really killer. i calculated, 2/3 of my insurance can pay for one whole year of the insurance for getting an evo liao.Originally posted by perseus76:Actually. the RX8 had much lower insurance and road tax compared to DC5, and STi. Apart from the FC, I dont think DC5 or STi is very much better.........as far as I know, the WRX FC is comparable to RX8, while DC5 probably only edge out by a little.......but its a honda, so if crash.....probably total lose liao...![]()
Originally posted by tailslide:yah, DC5's insurance really killer. i calculated, 2/3 of my insurance can pay for one whole year of the insurance for getting an evo liao.
have to agree that in terms of toughness, DC5 will be "softer". but if DC5, RX8 and rex all crash in the same manner at the same speed, the DC5 driver will probably have a higher chance of surviving compared to the rest.
in all the cases of DC5 total loss i've come across so far, the owners all survived without even staying in hospital. think honda engineered excellent crumple zones into the car, sacrificing the body to cushion the driver against injuries. i've heard worst for rex total losses though. so what would u rather have? the car crushed to save the driver or the car not much damage but driver concuss?![]()

Hehe... he was asking about 2 door cars mah... ehee...Originally posted by tailslide:how can u compare that wannabe car with a DC5?!!!unless u toking bout integra GSR lah......
Whats M3 ??Originally posted by HENG@:u buy evo? mai keh siao la. last i spoke to someone, he eyeing M3 leh...![]()
BMW M3... sports version of the BMW coupe if I'm not wrong... kinda like the Evos compared to the Lancer...Originally posted by Snowdon:Whats M3 ??
"eyeing" is the key word. we "eye" lots of cars in our daily livesOriginally posted by HENG@:u buy evo? mai keh siao la. last i spoke to someone, he eyeing M3 leh...![]()