Hi Just want chk wat car Model ??Originally posted by zerocool85:Hello, is it adviseable to change rims after car has arrive?
Is it better to change them after tyres have worn off? Or do they do tyre+rim trade in and stuff?
On average, how much does a low profile set of tyres cost? Low profile is those thinner ones right? to fit onto bigger rims.. also the edge of the tyres are more "right angled" ?
how much value will it drop any idea? hmmm.. maybe i pay $1200-$1300 for a new set of rims and tyres and keep the stock ones at home...Originally posted by HENG@:should be able to trade in.
of course, u did consider keeping the original rims to avoid future complications in future when u want to see the car?
Does it really matter? I don't think the price is going to go up just because you sell the car with it's original rims... At most, you can get the same amount the rim shop will knock off if you trade in the rims now anyway...Originally posted by zerocool85:how much value will it drop any idea? hmmm.. maybe i pay $1200-$1300 for a new set of rims and tyres and keep the stock ones at home...
but i also don really forsee myself selling the car though.. but nontheless.. i might also..
1.2k - 1.3k fr rims & tires? good luck. unless u buying pariah china brand one lor. a good set of 15 inch rims cost around 400 bucks per piece without tires. bigger size rims even more dun need to say.Originally posted by zerocool85:how much value will it drop any idea? hmmm.. maybe i pay $1200-$1300 for a new set of rims and tyres and keep the stock ones at home...
but i also don really forsee myself selling the car though.. but nontheless.. i might also..
Originally posted by tailslide:to add on... the cars in consideration as he has listed above.. all have minimum 16" rims as standard... some even 17" if i am not mistaken...
1.2k - 1.3k fr rims [b]& tires? good luck. unless u buying pariah china brand one lor. a good set of 15 inch rims cost around 400 bucks per piece without tires. bigger size rims even more dun need to say.[/b]
wun wobble lah, as long as u get the rim balanced before using. try to smoothen out by grinding down abit rather then adding putty. how jialat is jialat? edges still nvm but if the rim bent even slightly then 4get it liao lor.Originally posted by bo liao:Sorry to OOT on ur post but also bout rims...
i today saw a 2nd hand volk racing rim(gun metal colour)but side got scretch till jia lat...if i buy & go ask them cover up or make it smooth then spray paint it, will it chipped off in te long run?Or cos now abit of rim edge jia lat, will it cause whole car to wooble if at high speed..?
yah, that sounds bout rite to get a decent set of 17 inch tires with rims. juz dun expect the rims to be forged though. with forged 17 inch, u'll be looking at 2.4k at least without tires.........Originally posted by zerocool85:i dont know anything about prices ma.. don so sarcastic right?
bcoz i see the prices from overseas web.. how was i supposed to know..
if 1 rim is 400.. tyre.. 200.. 600x4.. $2400.. don flame me again.. this is my personal estimate..
Originally posted by zerocool85:what u mean by forged rims? as in imitation?
anybody here can share their experience on changing rims? and approximately how much they take ur old set of rims for? $500 for all of them or wat?
i was intending.. maybe get an 18" from the dealer if its possible..
The best is to negotiate for bigger rims before you buy the car.Originally posted by zerocool85:not yet decided leh.. my mum is still deciding.. by june have to confirm already..
Peugeot 407
Honda Accord JDM
Airtrek Turbo
Passat
me myself wan to pay $$ and change rims myself.. but is it a waste? or can trade uh?
Originally posted by tailslide:Make in taiwan one are cheap.....
1.2k - 1.3k fr rims [b]& tires? good luck. unless u buying pariah china brand one lor. a good set of 15 inch rims cost around 400 bucks per piece without tires. bigger size rims even more dun need to say.[/b]
Hey post it as a new thrend instead....Originally posted by Pooh March:
forged rim are usually lighter then casted one as wellOriginally posted by tailslide:my fren, u really take things literally. "forging" in rim manufacturing terms refers to the process of creating the rim by"pressing" it into shape without melting the metal. the cost of this process is higher compared to casting (no, it's not assigning roles for ppl to act
) but it yields rims with greater strength which are also less brittle.
i traded the rims on my old car for a set of 16" TE37's. paid 2k for them with tires. regretted alot coz got no spare rim to lub when i decided to sell the car so the new owner "tun deo"![]()