Agree.Originally posted by seancannot:Maybe i just not used to Germany Luxury car ... IMO
of course... German cars like the merc are a whole class (if not 2) above the smaller Japanese models in terms of price too.Originally posted by social87:lol.how can ya compare this 2 different cars together?it's a little weird that u prefer the altis to a merc.i have driven the c class,the altis and the civic b4.i still feel that german technology is a class above its peers.![]()
E240 is supper stable and quiet and the only comparable brand under toyota will be Lexus. The acceleration only kicks in after 60-70 and from there you will feel the difference.Originally posted by seancannot:Had chance to test drive my fren 2003 E240 2600 CC V6 .. Must say i am not so impressed .. quite surprised a car costing this much almost 200 K is not as nice to drive as an ALTIS.. yes the interior exudes class and top notch quality but . I find Altis is easier to drive and more responsive.. E240 just feel super heavy.. everything the steering to the accelerator
Maybe i just not used to Germany Luxury car ... IMO
So I assume that you either own or have driven an E-Class for a sustained (ie more than just a day) period of time as to judge it as such? The braking performance of the W211 E-Class is actually top notch, namely considering its a brake-by-wire system (known as the SBC in Mercedes terms) and I would say that the braking is far from "having problems" stopping a vehicle weighing 1560kg (less in the case of the E200K).Originally posted by seancannot:ALTIS switches .gear level , mirror etc etc very intutive to use .. For mercz when u shift the gear level must look at a small display at dash board then u know which gear u in.. the parking brake also is a hassle.. all these need to get used to.. E240 if you driven it .. you will know is very nose heavy.. you step and the engine will roar yes it can accelerate quickly but the brake feels it has problem stopping such a heavy veh... the steering also damn heavy.. maybe me too weak can only try feather light jap cars.. IMO
Of course ALtis looks a bit cheapo next to Merc .. the material used etc etc and riding in the mercz is also a treat.. the serene,smooth and quiet ride etc etc... just find it a bit difficult to drive from the view of a driver.
agree.Originally posted by seancannot:Maybe i just not used to Germany Luxury car ... IMO
very stable. corner at 150+km/h on highway, very little body roll. very quiet also. so quiet that u dun look at speedo u always estimate your speed to be about 20 to 30km/h slower than the actual speed.Originally posted by Praetorian111:E240 is supper stable and quiet and the only comparable brand under toyota will be Lexus. The acceleration only kicks in after 60-70 and from there you will feel the difference.
agree. regularly braked from 160km/h down to mid 2-digit speeds, and yet the brakes always felt strong. I will never for get the time i threw one around a u-turn at 80km/h.Originally posted by Ali_Khl:So I assume that you either own or have driven an E-Class for a sustained (ie more than just a day) period of time as to judge it as such? The braking performance of the W211 E-Class is actually top notch, namely considering its a brake-by-wire system (known as the SBC in Mercedes terms) and I would say that the braking is far from "having problems" stopping a vehicle weighing 1560kg (less in the case of the E200K).
Just for comparision a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 8 weighs 1480kg, and considering just the amount of finishing and features that goes into producing an E, it is not "damn heavy" either. The steering feels like it needs more effort to use as it has more feedback and hence it is not artificially light as with many Japanese compacts, which are 'easier' to manouver in traffic and such but infact severly lacking from needed feedback and proper 'feel' around the bends.
ultimately when Altis bang Merc...Originally posted by seancannot:ALTIS switches .gear level , mirror etc etc very intutive to use .. For mercz when u shift the gear level must look at a small display at dash board then u know which gear u in.. the parking brake also is a hassle.. all these need to get used to.. E240 if you driven it .. you will know is very nose heavy.. you step and the engine will roar yes it can accelerate quickly but the brake feels it has problem stopping such a heavy veh... the steering also damn heavy.. maybe me too weak can only try feather light jap cars.. IMO
Of course ALtis looks a bit cheapo next to Merc .. the material used etc etc and riding in the mercz is also a treat.. the serene,smooth and quiet ride etc etc... just find it a bit difficult to drive from the view of a driver.
U first time driving a merc of coz like that say la....when ever i change a gear..i dun even need to look at the dash board to see what gear i'm in...drive a few time get use liao...i believe when u first driven a altis..u also turn your head down and look what gear u are in? A merc E240 is using a V6 compare to a altis S4...i dun think it will roar as loudly as the S4 engine unless that E240 is supercharged....i have driven E200 and S280 before and a few time t00...both time i find that the brake of this 2 car...is better and more responsive than the other car my family own...or those i have driven before...Originally posted by seancannot:ALTIS switches .gear level , mirror etc etc very intutive to use .. For mercz when u shift the gear level must look at a small display at dash board then u know which gear u in.. the parking brake also is a hassle.. all these need to get used to.. E240 if you driven it .. you will know is very nose heavy.. you step and the engine will roar yes it can accelerate quickly but the brake feels it has problem stopping such a heavy veh... the steering also damn heavy.. maybe me too weak can only try feather light jap cars.. IMO
i wonder why he even needs to change gear. i don't even see a need to. just leave it in the autoshift mode and it works itself.Originally posted by zheshi:U first time driving a merc of coz like that say la....when ever i change a gear..i dun even need to look at the dash board to see what gear i'm in...drive a few time get use liao...i believe when u first driven a altis..u also turn your head down and look what gear u are in? A merc E240 is using a V6 compare to a altis S4...i dun think it will roar as loudly as the S4 engine unless that E240 is supercharged....i have driven E200 and S280 before and a few time t00...both time i find that the brake of this 2 car...is better and more responsive than the other car my family own...or those i have driven before...
bad point of merc is i feel...the fuel pedal is too heavy...really need to use your leg strength to step on it..or esle your rpm sure stay below 2,000...
he talking when maybe he need to shift from P TO D...i just believe he dun get use to it cuase altis is all straight shift down..while merc u need to shift to left than right..than left than it will proceed to D...it just a matter of getting used to it...what i'm trying to say is that...when he first driven the altis..he talking about...dun tell me..he also never even look down on his gear box..to see if he really shifted to D...?Originally posted by HENG@:i wonder why he even needs to change gear. i don't even see a need to. just leave it in the autoshift mode and it works itself.
Do not bully Altis okie.... wait until you see the grandmother Carina.... then you will know wat is hard.Originally posted by HENG@:ultimately when Altis bang Merc...![]()
even then also not very ley chey mah. u just pull down and a sideways a bit it slips nicely into gear.Originally posted by zheshi:he talking when maybe he need to shift from P TO D...i just believe he dun get use to it cuase altis is all straight shift down..while merc u need to shift to left than right..than left than it will proceed to D...it just a matter of getting used to it...what i'm trying to say is that...when he first driven the altis..he talking about...dun tell me..he also never even look down on his gear box..to see if he really shifted to D...?
Heng ask u hurz..what does the S and W mean ? the one beside the auto gear shift one...when do i switch to S and when do i switch to W?
orh. nobody can beat Land Rover tho.Originally posted by Praetorian111:Do not bully Altis okie.... wait until you see the grandmother Carina.... then you will know wat is hard.![]()
is there still Carina in singapore? never saw before ...got picture?the name is very pleasure to the earsOriginally posted by Praetorian111:Do not bully Altis okie.... wait until you see the grandmother Carina.... then you will know wat is hard.![]()
Even the uncle of chicken rice store can drive.... If you willing to why not??Originally posted by seancannot:Me drove E240 for less than 15 mins only.. of cos dun dare to ram the car or jam brake ... cos its my fren car just drive gentlely.. accident cannot afford to pay also...just cant get used to it.. difficul to use the mirror .. difficult to park.. maybe my skill sucks also ..
One thing abt COntinental car is the more you drive the more you love it , it grows on you ... and it takes time to get used to it.. that wat my fren told me .. but for some one like me.. will never buy a Mercz.. anyway I cant even afford a ALTis my' dream car'
Originally posted by seancannot:Had chance to test drive my fren 2003 E240 2600 CC V6 .. Must say i am not so impressed .. quite surprised a car costing this much almost 200 K is not as nice to drive as an ALTIS.. yes the interior exudes class and top notch quality but . I find Altis is easier to drive and more responsive.. E240 just feel super heavy.. everything the steering to the accelerator
Maybe i just not used to Germany Luxury car ... IMO
Dun 'suan' me lah... cos I work for borneo motor mah! (just kidding)Originally posted by LCL:Torque magazine should consider hiring u....
GREAT car review mate!
in future u get rich, then u should hire a chauffer.Originally posted by seancannot:Dun 'suan' me lah... cos I work for borneo motor mah! (just kidding)
Just that everyone has a right to their opinion mah...
know I am comparing apple to orange ..
Call me stubborn or ignorant ...But my feeling is still.... E240 is more difficult to drive than a Altis