wat is tat n care 2 shed some light how it looks like(pic?) and how it works ?? thnks.....Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:i get sick of explaining.
it's a blow-off valve.

thnks...Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:
when u release the throttle of a car, the throttle valve closes. preventing more air and fuel to enter the engine's cylinders.
however, the turbo would still be running, pushing air into the closed throttle valve. hence, there will be lots of pressure built up between the turbo and the engine. to release the pressure, a blow off valve is used to direct the pressurised air to escape to the atmosphere through another path.
copyright. twinturbo_supra![]()
Originally posted by boi86:wat is tat n care 2 shed some light how it looks like(pic?) and how it works ?? thnks.....

wtf...great minds think alike huh...Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:
when u release the throttle of a car, the throttle valve closes. preventing more air and fuel to enter the engine's cylinders.
however, the turbo would still be running, pushing air into the closed throttle valve. hence, there will be lots of pressure built up between the turbo and the engine. to release the pressure, a blow off valve is used to direct the pressurised air to escape to the atmosphere through another path.
too bad. i got more points then u... *sticks tongue out*Originally posted by Lance_han:wtf...great minds think alike huh...![]()
_|_<-no offence, but tis is wad u get for sticking your tongue outOriginally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:too bad. i got more points then u... *sticks tongue out*![]()
ask the master ah heng mark our answers.Originally posted by Lance_han:_|_<-no offence, but tis is wad u get for sticking your tongue out
btw..i tink i post wrong thing liao...how come so diff???![]()
i realli love to...but he's not up here le..Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:ask the master ah heng mark our answers.![]()
ARE YOU SURE?!?!?!?!Originally posted by houndy:anyway a BOV can be fitted on any car...![]()
As an analogy:Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:
Hmm....then how wud one explain a Diverter valve ? It doesnt vent excess boost into the atmosphere..will it cause premature damage to TC engines? ThanksOriginally posted by jeje008:As an analogy:
Imagine you blow into a straw (that is like when the turbo continue to pump air into you engine)
Then you press your finger on the other opening of the straw (that is like when the throttle valve closes), whilst continue blowing into the straw.
Find it hard to blow into the straw right? Poke a hole in the staw to release the pressure? Well, that is the blow-off valve.![]()
Originally posted by boi86:Hi to all,
today i went to motorImage show room wif my uncle. We tested out the WRX STi. IT was an awesome car. B4 we even got inside the car, the car was roaring , the engine was like a hungry n fierce lion waiting to be unleashed.
VROOOOMMMMMMMMMM, my uncle step the accelerator hard. god, the adrenaline rush was unbearable. I was so excited. He go slow at first. Vroooommmmmmmmmm, he ram the car engine at 5000rpm- 7000rpm. god damn it was so fun. I wished i was able to drive tat car. but i too young....so ..... aniwae,
I was anticipating the whislting of the turbocharged engine, u know ? the "pish pish" sound from the turbo. I asked the salesman y got no sound coming from the boxer engine.. He replied that to have the whistling of the turbo, i mus fix a blow valve(pardon me if i spell wrongly, cuz i dunno whether i heard it correctly)....
he said , however, he do not recommend the blow valve, as this is an aftermarket product tat doesn't improve the performance of the car. On the contrary, the salesman said tat the blow valva actually make ur car spoilt if not tune properly after fixing the blow valve. (A blow valve is a car"thing", that after fixing the blow valve, u car got the pish pish sound... haha)
So any1 drive a wrx or evo , has fixed a blow valve care 2 shed some light ???
Thanks, n best regards....
Originally posted by houndy:anyway a BOV can be fitted on any car...![]()
drill 4 holes on the roof, and bolt it down on the roof. he only say fit, never say must work.Originally posted by LCL:That's something new dude. Can u explian how to fit one on an NA car?
maybe he is assuming those NA type of turbo simulator...Originally posted by LCL:That's something new dude. Can u explian how to fit one on an NA car?
Dun be lah.Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:i get sick of explaining.
it's a blow-off valve.