I think a Wira should be quite safe bet.. since it has been around for 10 ++ years compared to GEn 2 , waja ...most of the problem should have been sorted out... even there is problem rectification works will not cost much across the causeway...Originally posted by Praetorian111:Like I always say in most cases it depends on how a driver use the car... if it is maintain well, it really do not differ much...
If the brand is so bad it will not even enter the market in the first place
My cousin in Malaysia drives a Wira and says the undercarriage always bumps against the road surface whenever she negotiates a hump. I have also experienced it myself while travelling in her car.Originally posted by seancannot:I think a Wira should be quite safe bet.. since it has been around for 10 ++ years compared to GEn 2 , waja ...most of the problem should have been sorted out... even there is problem rectification works will not cost much across the causeway...
so the car is build too low then?Originally posted by iveco:My cousin in Malaysia drives a Wira and says the undercarriage always bumps against the road surface whenever she negotiates a hump. I have also experienced it myself while travelling in her car.
yeah when i was in M'sia i saw some Wira with a fake mitsubishi star and having a scoop.....Originally posted by stylistic:I've worked on numberous protons, and in fact protons cars are actually copying what other manufactureres are producing. Wira like the Evo3, Waja like Mit Galant, and Gen2 like Mazda 3. Though I dun really respect them as they like to 'copy', their products can last rather long, but it depends mostly on the drivers.
The suspensions are not soft, and in fact they are independent Macperson Struts. If you like a hard one you might want to try mod a Esi Suspension into it, but its not a perfect fit anyway. Or, you might go for Racing springs, eg sparco.
Also, the undercarriage is just like any other cars. Wiras in Malaysia may encounter more problem, for the roads in Malaysia are not as 'well made' as in Sg.
Yes, but they have a long way to go.Originally posted by tailslide:short of insulting the car, lets juz say that they have improved over the past 10 years.![]()
how long did they tell you? 5 years? or recently 1 to 2 years?Originally posted by stellazio:well most of my frens who drives has this to say to me."i would rather take the public transport den drive a proton".erm actually to me a car is a car la for convenience purposes,but if u are those type of ppl that are actually quite face saving,i suggest u betta not get a proton.
i seh! first time i see vwk sing praises of another car besides his own! *clap clap*Originally posted by VW King:eh....at least Malaysians have a car made in their country to boost off, Singaporeans leh...knn.....nothing sia.....still want to make so much noise...
Proton is like Hyundai when it first started, in times to come, they will be on par with the Koreans and Japanese, competing on more even grounds.
Honda and Toyota setting up plants in the region are good news for Proton and for any other countries wanting to go into the Automotive industry. There will be a lot of Asians with the expertise of car manufacturing in the future, so companies like Proton can "head-hunt" these experts and tap their expertise.
Singapore, go and gamble la.....bloody easy way out......
Older generation ones, I think. Proton has since harnessed much engineering technology from Birtish subsidiary Lotus for its subsequent models.Originally posted by silv3rgal:Correct me if i'm wrong...Proton uses the same engine as mitsubishi lancer i heard? Both are under cycle and carriage..?
singapore have wat...got one article saying that a woman spotted a yound poly or so man driving a sg-made car....then some one said it look like Suzuki CappucinoOriginally posted by VW King:eh....at least Malaysians have a car made in their country to boost off, Singaporeans leh...knn.....nothing sia.....still want to make so much noise...
Proton is like Hyundai when it first started, in times to come, they will be on par with the Koreans and Japanese, competing on more even grounds.
Honda and Toyota setting up plants in the region are good news for Proton and for any other countries wanting to go into the Automotive industry. There will be a lot of Asians with the expertise of car manufacturing in the future, so companies like Proton can "head-hunt" these experts and tap their expertise.
Singapore, go and gamble la.....bloody easy way out......
i guess he is already looking at the models off the proton showroom...wat abt an coe proton saga wif nos? haha..Originally posted by tailslide:i seh! first time i see vwk sing praises of another car besides his own! *clap clap*
yes u are right, but for the older ones.... it has been using other engine from other car manufacturers after that....Originally posted by silv3rgal:Correct me if i'm wrong...Proton uses the same engine as mitsubishi lancer i heard? Both are under cycle and carriage..?
u wait long long ah! the vwk i know will never be caught dead in a japan car showroom buying car. malaysia made car dun even need to say.Originally posted by so_nice:i guess he is already looking at the models off the proton showroom...wat abt an coe proton saga wif nos? haha..![]()