no idea personally i always put signal only to show that i am going in meaning i dun ask pple to give way one. i actually feel thats the way to drive unless no other wayOriginally posted by littlestream:Just an unofficial poll..............
.........do you get drivers who give way or do they step up on the accelerator?![]()
i also encounter b4.Originally posted by littlestream:Me too......I almost 100% give way. But yesterday while driving home, I encountered this driver who stepped on her accelerator on me. I noticed that the lane that I was travelling on had an accident ahead so I signalled to change lane. She didn't budge ley.And then "ah nia" got stuck for a while because too close already.
I think like you, my success rate is also 7 out of 10.![]()
Shouldn't you signal first to see if the driver behind will speed up? Cos if you don't signal, she doesn't know you want to change lane?Originally posted by digicharat:i also encounter b4.
that time at aye, i want to change lane then i got notice this jaguar lady driver on the lane i want to switch to is behind me.
i purposely wait a while to see if she want to overtake or not. as infront of her got alot of space.
after a while, i see her dont have the intention to overtake me, so i signal left, want to go change into her lane infront of her.
the moment i signal, and start moving in a little, she sped up to overtake me... knn...![]()
like i said mah... i waited for a while to check if she want to speed up and overtake me or not.Originally posted by ^spidee^:Shouldn't you signal first to see if the driver behind will speed up? Cos if you don't signal, she doesn't know you want to change lane?
We are kiasu mah.Originally posted by digicharat:like i said mah... i waited for a while to check if she want to speed up and overtake me or not.
and since she remain same speed and not overtake, so i change lane lor.
but when i signal liao, prepare to move in she speed up on me.
my point is that singapore driver almost all like this. people dun wan to move into your lane, u stay same speed.
people want to cut into your lane, u speed up. dun wan people to cut infront of you. machiam like one car cut infront of you will cause you to be late.![]()
Wow, that's quite a hefty fine eh?Originally posted by kopiosatu:I usually wait till the lane is really really clear before I change lanes, I'm not a rider/driver who changes lane when I can obviously see that I will not match the speed of the oncoming car.
But I still use the signal light so that I won't get in trouble with the TP.
Got in trouble once... $70 man, not worth it.
Originally posted by eve2811:Why i did i do that ?becoz when i signalled my intention 9/10 would suddenly accelerate and not giving way ..![]()
most people would not give way to cars who is trying to merge into the expressway. especially those heavy vehicles and vans.Originally posted by ShutterBug:Apart from not signalling, there is another problem I notice: A lot of motorists don't know how to merge went entering an expressway from a slip road.
I always see vehicles (private cars mostly) coming onto an expressway from a slip road, and as they approach the expressway's left lane (lane 3), they slow down until almost stop. WHen I slow down to give way for them to merge, they also slow down. Are they stupid or something?
Some idiots because of the hesitation of the idiot in front not daring to merge, will cut out from behind and merge dangerously.
Classic case of idiots, creating more idiots.
Thk Q .. btw most of them r CabbiesOriginally posted by littlestream:![]()
I understand your sentiments..........
lets say if i am driving an MID veh....giving way 10% step accel 90%...can be very frustrating esp when yr veh is electronically limited to 55km/h but if its a 7tonner with no swd or limiter....i step on th gas and shove them out of the way.....Originally posted by littlestream:Just an unofficial poll..............
.........do you get drivers who give way or do they step up on the accelerator?![]()
Thats being very selfish....try driving a big sized truck who is trying 2 change lanes adn everyone is like u with this kinda mentality.....and if u put yrself in the truck drivers shoesOriginally posted by hyuuga neji:i usually give way...
make exceptions for buses and heavy vehicles...
coz i dun wan to be stuck behind them...
Huhhh?? Cabbies ah? I thought they like slowly slowly drive, so meter can keep jumping mah.Originally posted by eve2811:Thk Q .. btw most of them r Cabbies![]()
so u already...*ahem* old liao...Originally posted by littlestream:Huhhh?? Cabbies ah? I thought they like slowly slowly drive, so meter can keep jumping mah.
About cabbies, I still remember when it was the flat rate type. And even like going to JB from Bukit Timah....got that shared cab. Each of us only pay 50 cents. Oops...... alamak..... give away my age/generation 'tim (exclamation in Cantonese)" . Tsk, tsk, tsk......