Thanks jljl. I'm a new driver hence I didn't felt that it was underpowered. However, the SE did mentioned that there's a 2 months waiting time for the A170 & the A150 is available.Originally posted by jljl:heard that only less than a handful of mechanics at the agent can repair/service the car... might want to take that into consideration.
good car for small family, but may be a lil' underpowered.
retrospectively, it's probably even more expensive that the A160 when it was launched, esp now cat A COE has come down so much.
also don't be surprise if your spare parts (for wear/tear) for $$ than even S- class.
Would u prefered a 2nd Hand A160L?Originally posted by 1969:Thanks jljl. I'm a new driver hence I didn't felt that it was underpowered. However, the SE did mentioned that there's a 2 months waiting time for the A170 & the A150 is available.Good thing that you brought up the spare parts $$. I hadn't thought about that.
c'est la vie.
i hear it drives well, better than it's predecessor. judged on it's own,it's a good car. but there are other alternatives which offer probably more value.Originally posted by 1969:Hi. I just test drove the A150. It seems like a pretty solid mini-MPV.
Just wanted to hear from others your opinion on this vehicle; the positives as well as the negatives.
c'est la vie.
Hi kc318. As I'm a newbie hereOriginally posted by kc318:Would u prefered a 2nd Hand A160L?
Hi dryver. Thank you for your sharing. I have only tested the Jazz. I felt that the A150 was more stable at higher speed than the Jazz.Originally posted by dryver:i hear it drives well, better than it's predecessor. judged on it's own,it's a good car. but there are other alternatives which offer probably more value.
check out the VW Golf. Subaru Forester. Honda Jazz. Toyota IST. or even the new BMW 3. test drive the other germans. you'd be surprised to find that MB is trailing in cabin build quality.
Hi babybenz. I'm very glad for your sharing. I too am surprised with you experience with the A-class at race tracks at Sepang and PG.Originally posted by babybenz:1969,
I used to be an owner of the A190L which I traded in for the new Evo 8 MR.
I used to use the A-Class on race tracks at Sepang and PG and even some carpark rally courses. Contrary to popular belief, the A-Class handles very well at corners.
In terms of fuel consumption, it was awesome. The record was 680kms on one full tank of, I think, 52 or 54 litres!
That was when my whole family of 5 with our luggage bags drove to KL then to Genting Highlands and back to Sin! Even the service engineer at C&C could not believe my claim.
My family and I still miss the A190L!
I saw the new A170. In terms of cabin space, it is shorter than the previous model becos the trunk has become bigger. Too bad.
Are you hungry for power? If yes, why not wait for the A200 Turbo which will be launched at the end of this year? 193hp, 6-speeder!
wait! if you get seduced by the m3 , wait!!! becos the new m3 will be here quite soon!!! or wait for the soon to be launched 335i bmw. and if you are looking at the m3 price bracket, why not ask about the Merc c55 AMG?Originally posted by 1969:Hi dryver. Thank you for your sharing. I have only tested the Jazz. I felt that the A150 was more stable at higher speed than the Jazz.However, I think for cornering, the Jazz performs better.
It could be due to the higher suspansion on the A150. I hear from the SE that the A170 suspansion is lower.
Perhaps I will try out the VW Golf and the M3 this weekend.Thx.
c'est la vie.
can you tell me why you'd need an A class? if you need space,there are bigger mpvs. the jazz is cheaper. the renault scenic? or you need seating flexibility? many cheaper cars have flexible seating too. obviously i am not an A class fan,heehee. but seriously. how about the C class wagon? or the bmw 3 wagon? or how about a land rover? the new discovery? check that outOriginally posted by 1969:Hi babybenz. I'm very glad for your sharing. I too am surprised with you experience with the A-class at race tracks at Sepang and PG.I guess your skills in car handling also contributes to how well the car performs.
Fortunately, I'm not hungry for power so the A150 (maybe w/ lower suspansion) or a 2nd hand A160 would suffice my needs.. if my CFO approves.
c'est la vie.
he said that he might check out the m3.Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:dryver dun tok kok la... ppl looking at small hatch u suggest M3 or C55... wtf sia..
its obvious the thread starter does not know much about cars lor.. u give him ideas.. wait he go perf motors.. ask for it... then scold u in his mind... then he lost there... wth man -.-
to thread starter : bring a fren who knows.. not someone who thinks he knows.. but actually knows his stuff about cars.. along when u go test drive.. he/she might be able to give u more accurate pointers
cheers.
cheers normalboiOriginally posted by dryver:he said that he might check out the m3.
anyway, y not you go withn him, since you know about cars.unlike me,you see, i'm the kind who thinks i know about cars,but actually i know crap.
firstly.. im not a fren.. secondly if u read what u posted earlier.. u said bmw 3 series.. he oredi can somehow shorten to m3.. does that tell u anything?Originally posted by dryver:he said that he might check out the m3.
anyway, y not you go withn him, since you know about cars.unlike me,you see, i'm the kind who thinks i know about cars,but actually i know crap.
geez, i really dunno leh. can you tell me what it means ha?Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:firstly.. im not a fren.. secondly if u read what u posted earlier.. u said bmw 3 series.. he oredi can somehow shorten to m3.. does that tell u anything?
Hi nOrmalbOi. Thank you for your suggestion. You're rite.Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:dryver dun tok kok la... ppl looking at small hatch u suggest M3 or C55... wtf sia..
its obvious the thread starter does not know much about cars lor.. u give him ideas.. wait he go perf motors.. ask for it... then scold u in his mind... then he lost there... wth man -.-
to thread starter : bring a fren who knows.. not someone who thinks he knows.. but actually knows his stuff about cars.. along when u go test drive.. he/she might be able to give u more accurate pointers
cheers.
Hi dryver. I've not made my mind whether to get a sedan or miniMPV. There's positive and not so positive attributes to either choice. It's kinda frustratingly-fun to think thru all of this.. I have tested a couple of cars, including the Jazz. I kinda felt that the steering for the Jazz is sorta "flimsy" (it could be just meOriginally posted by dryver:can you tell me why you'd need an A class? if you need space,there are bigger mpvs. the jazz is cheaper. the renault scenic? or you need seating flexibility? many cheaper cars have flexible seating too. obviously i am not an A class fan,heehee. but seriously. how about the C class wagon? or the bmw 3 wagon? or how about a land rover? the new discovery? check that out
for your budget, i strongly recommend you try a subaru- forester and the legacy.Originally posted by 1969:Hi dryver. I've not made my mind whether to get a sedan or miniMPV. There's positive and not so positive attributes to either choice. It's kinda frustratingly-fun to think thru all of this.. I have tested a couple of cars, including the Jazz. I kinda felt that the steering for the Jazz is sorta "flimsy" (it could be just me). Immediately after driving the Jazz, I drove the City and the impression was very distinctive.
c'est la vie.
oh yes, and the mitsubishi air trek turboOriginally posted by dryver:for your budget, i strongly recommend you try a subaru- forester and the legacy.
Why don't u roughly give us an idea of ur budget? Coz the above cars have a wide range of price tags..Originally posted by 1969:Hi nOrmalbOi. Thank you for your suggestion. You're rite.I'm a newbie
and really wants to learn from all. Unfortunately, don't have friends who knows much about cars.
So far, my CFO always join me for the test-drive & give me her inputs. However, she knows less about cars than I do.
c'est la vie.
Hi nOrmalbOi. Thank you for your sharing. Had a long talk with my CFO.. she has set my budget to below 70k... Sigh.Originally posted by nOrmalbOi:Why don't u roughly give us an idea of ur budget? Coz the above cars have a wide range of price tags..
Merc A class would be around 100k
Honda City/Jazz would be around 63k
Mazda 3 would be around 70k
VW Golf would be around 80k
Subaru Forestor would be around 86k
Toyota IST would be around 75k ( i think )
and then there were..
BMW 3 series - 150k and up
BMW M3 - 350k and up
Merc C estate - 180k and up and if im not mistaken on indent basis only
Merc C55 - 328k
Land Rover Disco - 200k or so (not sure)
Now tell me if i am correct to say that u would have a budget of around say... 70 - 100k or so?
70k or so ah... hmmm not a big fan of 2nd hand cars.. coz u do not know what the previous owner has or has not done to the car.. not matter what the salesman says..Originally posted by 1969:Hi nOrmalbOi. Thank you for your sharing. Had a long talk with my CFO.. she has set my budget to below 70k... Sigh.I think someone had suggested a 2nd hand A160. Maybe that would be ok.
c'est la vie.