Originally posted by bo liao:Dun think so....intercooler is soppose to get cool air/moist air,the damper the better...cos to cool down .....
Unless is going into air-filter![]()
then jia lat liao......
Originally posted by Troy437:I was driving in the super heavy rain just now.
With some cars next to me, we speed past a flooded area along the road at Ang Mo Kio
The water from the wheels of the cars beside me gushed into the bonnet air in-take for my Turbo Intercooler.
Within a few moments, my car engine trembled, like something clutch plate slipping, when I step hard on the accelarator and could not go fast!
It went at slow speed and I parked it under a shelter carpark.
Opened the bonnet and saw the engine parts next to the intercooler all wet, including engine oil cover area and some electronic connection stuff.
I let the engine rest and went for lunch.
Came back half and hour later and drove again....everything is back to normal.
Anyone knows why this happen? How did the water, which splashed into the turbo intercooler at the bonnet opening, caused this stange slipping effect?
Originally posted by GwenSilvz:water IS suppose to get on the intercooler. can check out the STi at motor image's showroom. Inside the air scope wall got a nozzle that sprays water onto the intercooler
I not guru lah...Originally posted by LCL:Water is sprayed on my Intercooler leh. How???? Will my car shuddle???
It doesnt dampen the air leh.. how??? Can u explain Mr Guru?
Originally posted by bo liao:I not guru lah...
Car will not shrudder mah....
Dun worry...think mayb is other thing...like u pass flood the water block the exhaust ,therefor cos the air cannot come out then will shrudder abit..jus either rev/floor accerator then ok liao...
cos my is front mount, if rainy day i must use plastic to cover it up liao...
& water how to go into intercooler from outside?? unless u pump it in through the air-duct or the intercooler piping got holes...i think even if the intercooler is dip into water wid engine running also should be safe as the piping is alominum pipe jus got bend into "s" shape....
Wat will be worring is the water go in from the air-filter/open-pod....
Thanks for the explaination! I think that must be it.Originally posted by tailslide:if water kena intercooler, nothing will happen. in fact, might even notice a slightly better response from the engine from the additional heat sink.....
dun think its water getting into the engine from the air intake either. for the engine to shudder due to hydrolock would require the whole air filter to be submerged inside water (even for a CAI equipped car). in any case, ur engine gone case liao. since restarted without probs, then probably not that reason either.
most likely, the water messed with some of ur pulleys connecting ur air con/ power steering/ timing belt and sapped a little power from the additional stress. that explains why the engine ran like normal after the water was given some time to evaporate.
welcome! its a shot in the dark i muz say. anyway, juz be glad that ur car's ok at the end of the dayOriginally posted by Troy437:Thanks for the explaination! I think that must be it.![]()
i mean> if u say water kann intercooler car wil shrudder, them my fmic on rainy day hv to use plastic bag to cover liao...Originally posted by LCL:Wah very 'impressive'. I also running FMIC and I have nozzles that sprays water on my IC when I hit .5 Bar.
U mentioned u used plastic to cover. Pray tell, how do u do that?
A car should not shudder if little water gets into the XOS but it will unless it is COMPLETELY submerged.
Dont repeat what I mentioned earlier about water getting to the open pod.
I am curious what car u drive though. Wanna share?
I KNOW WHAT HAPPEN LIAO!!Originally posted by Troy437:Anyone knows why this happen? How did the water, which splashed into the turbo intercooler at the bonnet opening, caused this stange slipping effect?
Sorry mine is not an Airtrek Turbo.Originally posted by ceecookie:hey troy u driving airtrek turbo ah?can bring me for spin?![]()