Originally posted by bo liao:
Hmm....so warp is cause by overheating?
lik this jia lat liao,rotor slotted & drilled still will wrap ah...though overheat is most the pads fade and cannot stop...
thats the most common cause. other causes can be bad bedding in of new brake pads and poor installation of brake rotors.
drilled and slotted rotors do help to dissipate heat, but at the same time, they are usually poorer heat sinks compared to stock rotors (imagine 2 rotors of the same size, one with holes and one without, which one got more metal?) and would therefore warp more easily. there is always this constant debate on rate of heat dissipation of drilled/slotted disks versus heat sink of stock rotors. my take on the matter is dat unless u upgrade to a larger disk, its not advisable to have drilled disks of the original size installed.
brake fade is another issue dats linked somewhat to the heat retention capabilities of ur rotors. braking translates kinetic energy to thermal energy. this energy is shared by the brakes and the rotors. depending on the heat range of ur pads, and as long as the combination of heat transfer between the 2 elements dun exceed this range, theoretically u should not experience brake fade.