how do u know if there is oil in the filter? wat'll hapen if that particular filter needs oil and u did not apply any of it?Originally posted by bunny2002sg:Depends la, if it use oil then make sure you replace the oil before you put it back...
ow ok ok.Maybe i have to share this back with my neighour.That's why i was wondering,why is he washing a paper air filter,which is equilvalent to a stock filter.Hehehe...Originally posted by gentlerock:Hey, you can't wash air filters one lah, unless its the after-market K&N washable filters. Please don't try.....haha.....
Air filter so cheap....S$20 only, and needs to be changed only occasionally.
But sometimes if its not too dirty, to save money, what the workshops do is to take compressed air and reverse blow it. Same thing with the aircon filter.
Solly, I don't know. Still using my stock air-filter leh.....Originally posted by scotts07:ow ok ok.Maybe i have to share this back with my neighour.That's why i was wondering,why is he washing a paper air filter,which is equilvalent to a stock filter.Hehehe...
Among stainless mesh air filters,hurricant or simota is better??
how good is those aftermarket air filters compared to open pod filters?which one will provide a cleaner engine?Originally posted by VampireEB:K&N required oiling after wash ..not advisable to use too much oiling else causing hay wire on the map sensor that's bad..
Hurrican doesn;t required oiling thus more power but more dust and dirt sucking to the combustion thus more dirtier engine..
Another one is the carbon fiber air filter ..need to send to workshop every 5000km to clean it wif air spray...
Some prefer stock filter and while others love the aftermath filter..afterall i still preferred after math filters. Pls dun open pod ..the engine would goes roaring in great tune but lacking of power plus more dust,dirt and water would get into the engine combustion causing great damage.Originally posted by scotts07:how good is those aftermarket air filters compared to open pod filters?which one will provide a cleaner engine?
Hurricane Air filters and Simota,which is better?
open pod is good for high end..Originally posted by VampireEB:Some prefer stock filter and while others love the aftermath filter..afterall i still preferred after math filters. Pls dun open pod ..the engine would goes roaring in great tune but lacking of power plus more dust,dirt and water would get into the engine combustion causing great damage.
Still u wan clearner engine use the simota.
Dun you installed CAI Pipe sticking downward to draw more air to the combustion instead?AS for open pod good in high end but suffer greatly in low end..Originally posted by galEVO:open pod is good for high end..
my car used to open pod so i think i'll will be "suffocate" if use to draw air from the usual box.
thanks.So u mean to obtain cleaner engine,i shld use aftermarket filters,those stainless mesh ones??Understand there will b increase in power when u use simota stainless mesh air filters?Originally posted by VampireEB:Some prefer stock filter and while others love the aftermath filter..afterall i still preferred after math filters. Pls dun open pod ..the engine would goes roaring in great tune but lacking of power plus more dust,dirt and water would get into the engine combustion causing great damage.
Still u wan cleaner engine use the simota.
LEts briefly explain to you ..Originally posted by scotts07:thanks.So u mean to obtain cleaner engine,i shld use aftermarket filters,those stainless mesh ones??Understand there will b increase in power when u use simota stainless mesh air filters?
Hmm..Just wonder,how does it increase more power when u just change an air filter?![]()
ow ok. Somehw there're too many products from simota,which i just only saw the brochure,didn't went to many shops to roughly check wat each product does for the car.Originally posted by VampireEB:LEts briefly explain to you ..
Stock filter the paper type is more cleaner and preventing the dust from getting to into the engine mean restriction most of the air getting into the combustion thus lesser torque feel..lacking of power coz of too much of filteration etc..
Aftermath filter has bigger holes..allows more air getting into the combustion ...making the engine breathing more by feeding more air mean increasing of torque ..and simota is similar to adm carbon filter ..which is currently i'm using it...i just gotta clean it every 5000km..
i know K&N can be washed, but i dun think stock ones r meant to be washed.Originally posted by scotts07:can they be washed? My neighbour washed it every month then left it to dry in the sun.Is it advisable?
stock filters r paper, they can't b washed.Originally posted by scotts07:can they be washed? My neighbour washed it every month then left it to dry in the sun.Is it advisable?
Yeah there'r many filters that claimed to be the best ..like the newer one r hurricane and simota ..so far from others hurricane has the power but really not sure abt simota as it new in the market ..Originally posted by scotts07:ow ok. Somehw there're too many products from simota,which i just only saw the brochure,didn't went to many shops to roughly check wat each product does for the car.
I know of the aeroform?cold air intake?Power chamber?all from simota,if someone can roughly explain,wat each does,i will be really great!...thanks all anyway!![]()
thanks to all bros out there for helping me out!..Originally posted by VampireEB:Yeah there'r many filters that claimed to be the best ..like the newer one r hurricane and simota ..so far from others hurricane has the power but really not sure abt simota as it new in the market ..
check out any car clubs abt simota..surely u could source for one..